We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five stars with some remarks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Allegro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Allegro Hotel
Ranked #7 of 55 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Five stars with some remarks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a great small hotel! Absolutely worth of five stars - for people having no difficulties in stairs. Namely, you cannot avoid them here. Not in going into your room, nor in going to the breakfast. There is no lift.

We were staying here for six days in April 2014, and felt that nothing could be better than it was. The hotel has a great location on the pedestrian area, no noise of traffic at all. (Well, next to the hotel is a church, they may ring the bells :) Coming in you first step into an impressive lobby, and you are warmly welcomed by the excellent staff speaking fluent English. All the staff is kind and helpful, do not hesitate to bother them whatever you may need. They will help you. Downwards from the lobby is the breakfast-room, a really nice one, and the breakfast served there is of top quality.

There are 17 rooms in the hotel, in two separate buildings sharing a common courtyard. Ours was a double, number 1 on the ground floor, some 6 or 8 steps above the courtyard and having a kind of own balcony-terrace with two chairs and a table there. As a smoker I appreciated that. The room was large and nice in every sense, we did like it.

There are lots of nice restaurants in the hotel neighbourhood. Highly recommendable are Spajza little higher on Gornji Trg, Julija and Valvas’or on Stari Trg. And then there are many, many others. You cannot avoid finding them.

When we arrived to Ljubljana, we took a taxi from the airport to the hotel. That most likely was a mistake. He charged us 55 euro and we suppose he was not driving the shortest way at all. When we left, we asked in the hotel them call a shuttle bus for us. That worked – and we paid 9 euro per each. In both cases the situation is that the taxi or bus does not arrive to the front door of the hotel, situated on the pedestrian area, but you have to drag your luggage some 100 m. Fortunately the sidewalks are even and in good shape.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JukkaTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    95
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
42
105
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The Hotel Allegro is slightly away from where it is all happening in Ljubljana but is ideally situated for those who want a quiet place within easy reach of the city centre and plenty of bars ,cafes and restaurants nearby ,mostly empty the evening we arrived !. We had the warmest of welcomes and the complimentary schnapps was even more warming . We were very impressed with the list of useful phrases in Slovenian which we were given on arrival ! The staff , both on the front desk and in the dining room were exceptionally pleasant and friendly . The hotel is small and the decor eclectic : the owner obviously has a talent for interior decoration . The building was once an inn rather less luxurious than the present hotel and good use has been made of the cellar ,which is now the breakfast room . Breakfast was excellent , especially the fresh orange juice , which you can make yourself . Bedrooms were attractive with a facility unusual in continental hotels , a kettle for making coffee , tea or hot chocolate . The bed was very comfortable ; everything was immaculate . The bathroom was well appointed ( but they need to fix the glass shelf ! ) . Choose Room 6 if you can get it !

Room Tip: Number 6 , which overlooks the street and in spite of that is very quiet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALISON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
159 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

4 star hotel. Really friendly staff. Great welcoming drink. Rooms are very comfortable. Extremely handy to restaurants and centre of city. Breakfast was excellent and wi fi great. Yes, I would definitely stay at the hotel again. Small and comfortable

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray Goldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

What a find! Large rooms, well furnished with amazingly comfy beds and even heated bathroom floors. Free Wi-Fi. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, All speak excellent English and they understand English humour too. Situated on a quiet and very pretty street in the old town and only a minute or two walk to the riverside and all the restaurants and bars you could wish for.
If you're planning a trip to Ljubljana for business or pleasure this is the place to stay.
Or you could try one of the tedious and uninspiring chains. Your choice, but I know where I'll be going again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staggered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prata di Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
207 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was our third overnight trip to Ljubljana, and this hotel was by far the best in the city center. We arrived and were immediately offered a delicious local grappa. The receptionist also offered some good sightseeing choices, and help us with our Slovenian. Our room was the best we've ever had in Ljubljana. The bathroom floor was heated, lovely rustic feel in the bedroom. Bed was large and comfortable. We had a nice balcony overlooking a well kept courtyard. breakfast in the morning was the best I've ever had at a hotel. The bread was fresh, the eggs were cooked to order. We will be staying here again!

Room Tip: Superior double rooms are only slightly more expensive than standard double, but come with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is tiny but lovely. The staff was helpful and kind. They welcomed us, our children and our dog with open arms. The beds were comfortable and the furnishings more than adequate. The hotel has some chairs and tables outside on the sidewalk and it was really pleasant to sit there during cocktail hour and enjoy some wine. I would stay there again without question.

Room Tip: We stayed in a large room on the bottom floor with a patio just outside our door. It could not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Recently stayed here for two nights, warm, comfy room, large bathroom, ample breakfast, and a very helpful front desk, they even arranged an earlier breakfast as we were taking a train to Zagreb, even scheduling a cab to pick us up. The complimentary taste of the local aperitifs was also a treat, would love to go back, they were terrific, room overlooked the pedestrian only street, loved waking up to a child singing on way to school

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clif4nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#23 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#21 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Hotel

Property: Allegro Hotel
Address: Gornji trg 6, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and luxurious hotel in the center of old Ljubljana opens its doors. It does not matter why guests come to us, but to satisfy them in all their expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Allegro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing