We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allegro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Allegro Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is located in the old town, a minute or so walk from a large number of restaurants and the river and a few minutes further from the heart of the old town.

The room I had was comfortable, if of a very odd shape (resembled an inverted L), but with quite a small bed.

Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and the staff were very flexible, allowing me to get an early breakfast on the day of an all-day trip that was starting before regular service started.

The only downside of the hotel, and not something they would have much control over given it’s an historic building, is the lack of a lift and quite steep stairs, so with heavy luggage it was a bit of a struggle to get up to a room on the 2nd floor.

Positives
Friendly staff
Great Location


Negatives
Lack of a lift

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    93
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
41
104
16
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Allegro in Ljubljana during an unusually rainy Slovenian summer. We got the airport shuttle (€9) directly to the hotel. There was one very busy member of staff on duty when we arrived but he was very welcoming & carried our luggage to our room. Word of warning, the top 2 rooms are up a spiral staircase that would be tricky for people with mobility issues. The twin room has an old fashioned feel but is clean & obviously recently decorated. Breakfast is a small buffet. The best thing about the hotel is the location, it's only a minute away from the main streets with great restaurants. It is a great base to explore ljubljana from.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank loobylooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were excited to stay here as a rather pricey treat, but found little of what seems to excite others here. The staff were lovely and gave us a free upgrade to their huge suite, which was a very nice thing to do. But the huge suite smelled like the Eastern Block of old -- a certain antiseptic cleanser smell redolent of Prague's elevators around 1987 -- and the luxurious touches all had that worn, greyish feeling I recall so well from East Berlin and Dresden before the Wall came down. A white couch--huge, massive thing--that was really what they used to call "dark white" and covered in slightly disconcerting grayish stains. The bed left one concerned about its entomological surprises (though there were none). The drapes smelled of cigarettes and mildew. But on a 90 degree day the suite was a cool refuge, if one we were glad to leave as soon as possible.

Also, if coming by car, be aware that you cannot park at the hotel, nor can you drive to it after 10 am. It's in a pedestrian zone. There are no explanations about how or where to park, so I'd call ahead and ask.

I'd give this place a dismal 2 out of five because it felt a tad gross.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chuck154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Sadly, we only spent one night at this hotel.

We arrived late, at 11pm and the young man on reception was extremely helpful. We were offered a fresh juice whilst he processed our booking and then assisted us with our luggage to our room.

The next morning the staf at reception were equally helpful providing us with short tour ideas before we checked out at 11am.

The hotel is best described as a "boutique" hotel. It is simple gorgeous. Old, charming with beautiful furnishings. And quiet. It is centrally located on the edge of the old town. Perfect location.

If we had know what this small gem of a hotel was like, we would have made this our first choice of accommodation for our full five nights in the beautiful city of Ljubljana.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, warm welcome from staff, comfortable room, good breakfast helpful front desk an good cafe's at the doorstep. Pickup point for tours and airport shuttle just around the corner. Easy walk to all the city sights. 10€ to airport by shuttle, 15 min walk with bags from the station. Lovely 2 days, but not enough time...

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Out_0f_Oz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Situated on the edge of the pedestrianised sector of the old town, Allegro Hotel is in a quiet position, all be it for the odd bell chime from local churches. All places of interest are within 20 minutes walk and there is a plethora of cafes, bars and restaurants within five minutes walk in either direction. Restaurants to the left (as you exit the hotel) are in the main tourist area and are reasonably priced, but there are cheaper (and just as good) restaurants if you turn right and go up the hill and further down the street. Rooms in Allegro are comfortable, although others have complained the air conditioning is a bit noisy - I did not notice it. The place is spotlessly clean and the towels are changed daily (and are a little bit like sandpaper). Breakfast is basic but well presented and more than adequate. I would certainly have no hesitation in choosing to stay again.

Room Tip: There is no lift or there are ground floor rooms. The less mobile may need to seek alternative acco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

A nice small hotel with plenty of character in a great location (I spent the best part of 6 weeks in the city, and for me this is one of the best areas to stay).

The hotel was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly Breakfast was decent though not spectacular.

My only gripe is that the ironing facilities consisted of a travel iron and a tiny ironing board - I was there for business and getting my shirts ready for the week was a bit painful, but I suspect this will not be an issue for most people.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonCoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#23 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Hotel

Property: Allegro Hotel
Address: Gornji trg 6, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and luxurious hotel in the center of old Ljubljana opens its doors. It does not matter why guests come to us, but to satisfy them in all their expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Allegro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing