We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with parking!”
Review of Allegro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Allegro Hotel
Ranked #8 of 59 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This is a cute hotel, well located for exploring Ljubljana. The room was spacious, with a cute little balcony. There is no elevator, but the young woman who checked us in carried the luggage up for us. The towels had been forgotten the first night, and the young man at the desk seemed a little put out, but went to look for some. The body/hair shampoo bottle was dry as a bone- perhaps the reason for the handful of little soaps. (When I told this to the man checking us out, he wasn't particularly interested). The restaurant called Spajza a few doors up is well worth a visit-make reservations. Lovely city!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pdk926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night at the end of July. The hotel is in a great location in the heart of this beautiful old town and is within easy walking distance of all the main sights. The staff are friendly and helpful and check in and out are efficient. A buffet breakfast, consisting of cold meats, cheeses, pastries etc, is served in a vaulted dining room in the cellar. If you are arriving by car you will need to reserve one of the hotel's parking spaces in a nearby street. There are lots of restaurants nearby - we ate in Julia which was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anon190731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel was such a great surprise. The location is absolutely ideal for exploring the heart of this beautiful city on foot. Luka, the receptionist who greeted us, was extremely helpful and a wealth of information. He set us up with a map, gave recommendations on how to explore the city, recommended a great restaurant, and talked to us about local foods. We were offered a delicious arrival drink. Our three-bed room was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and the shower had great water pressure. Everything was very clean. Included breakfast was very good, and you can eat it in the courtyard or dining room. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone visiting this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank moreworld2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Ljubljana surely must rate as one of the most beautiful and enjoyable cities on the planet so what a bonus it is to have such a delightful hotel thrown into the mix. From the wonderful reception to the beautiful rooms this truly is a home from home. The only suggestion I'd pass on is to get rid of the nescafe coffee machine in the breakfast room - very unbecoming for such a lovely place.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is located in the old town, a minute or so walk from a large number of restaurants and the river and a few minutes further from the heart of the old town.

The room I had was comfortable, if of a very odd shape (resembled an inverted L), but with quite a small bed.

Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and the staff were very flexible, allowing me to get an early breakfast on the day of an all-day trip that was starting before regular service started.

The only downside of the hotel, and not something they would have much control over given it’s an historic building, is the lack of a lift and quite steep stairs, so with heavy luggage it was a bit of a struggle to get up to a room on the 2nd floor.

Positives
Friendly staff
Great Location


Negatives
Lack of a lift

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingTom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Allegro in Ljubljana during an unusually rainy Slovenian summer. We got the airport shuttle (€9) directly to the hotel. There was one very busy member of staff on duty when we arrived but he was very welcoming & carried our luggage to our room. Word of warning, the top 2 rooms are up a spiral staircase that would be tricky for people with mobility issues. The twin room has an old fashioned feel but is clean & obviously recently decorated. Breakfast is a small buffet. The best thing about the hotel is the location, it's only a minute away from the main streets with great restaurants. It is a great base to explore ljubljana from.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank loobylooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were excited to stay here as a rather pricey treat, but found little of what seems to excite others here. The staff were lovely and gave us a free upgrade to their huge suite, which was a very nice thing to do. But the huge suite smelled like the Eastern Block of old -- a certain antiseptic cleanser smell redolent of Prague's elevators around 1987 -- and the luxurious touches all had that worn, greyish feeling I recall so well from East Berlin and Dresden before the Wall came down. A white couch--huge, massive thing--that was really what they used to call "dark white" and covered in slightly disconcerting grayish stains. The bed left one concerned about its entomological surprises (though there were none). The drapes smelled of cigarettes and mildew. But on a 90 degree day the suite was a cool refuge, if one we were glad to leave as soon as possible.

Also, if coming by car, be aware that you cannot park at the hotel, nor can you drive to it after 10 am. It's in a pedestrian zone. There are no explanations about how or where to park, so I'd call ahead and ask.

I'd give this place a dismal 2 out of five because it felt a tad gross.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank chuck154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,755 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegro Hotel

Address: Gornji trg 6, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range: £60 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Allegro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy and luxurious hotel in the center of old Ljubljana opens its doors. It does not matter why guests come to us, but to satisfy them in all their expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Allegro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing