We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different than a hotel”
Review of MartaStudio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
MartaStudio
Lahti
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Different than a hotel”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Location is a bit outside the centre, but easy to reach by bus or 20 minutes walk. It's not a hotel, which is really something different. When checking in, make sure that you have the owner's telephone number, since there is no reception where somebody would be waiting for you.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAK123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    28
    10
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Great location, very big appartment, can fit 6 people, high spec, unfortunately bad smell in the toilet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bokishon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

first of all in case you find the apparments (last house in the street, entrance on the other side, second floor in a regular house), and find someone to let you in (outdated phone number on the door) the room, or appartment itself is brilliant. modern, newly renovated, the room we stayed in was quiet and peaceful.

it is located outside the city, and there is no need to take any bus whatsoever, in 15-20 minutes you are in the middle of Ljubljana.
there is a Mercator, the slovenian grocery shop near, a bakery, a burger shop and a milk-machine as well.

unfortunately this summer the parking habits were changed, and there are only about 4-5 parking lots you must share with the customers of the local paint-shop.

Room Tip: ask for the onew, what look into the other direction then the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VargaOrsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We booked Marta as many of the options on the old city seemed expensive. It was about 25 minutes from the rail station and 20 minutes into the old city heart on foot. We had a top floor location and it had plenty of space for two with a small cooking area. Great bathroom as well. It was an ideal location for us for our three days - although the office was nextdoor, we never really had any contact with the owners apart from checking in, so there was no real service as such. The overall administration was really efficient. The only real problem was on arrival as it was a little uncertain where the apartments were actually located in the building until we got to the top floor. A fan was included and it was necessary as it was particularly hot at this time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room like ours on the back which overlooked gardens - if you get one on the front, there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Globe, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed just one night in the apartment.

First, it's very spacious. Two very large bedrooms, a nice dining/living room, a huge bathroom and a decent kitchen. I could easily stay here a week. There's a bath and a shower, both very modern and impeccably clean.

The kitchen it smallish, yet it has everything. Washing machine included.

As for the location, it isn't the old city -- but only a 20-minute walk away.

Enjoy Ljubljana -- a wonderful little city!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Myself and my boyfriend were due to stay here for 3 nights. We booked an apartment and paid a deposit months in advance of our visit. Only when we arrived on the doorstep were we told that there had been a mistake and the apartment was double booked, so she had nowhere for us to stay. I find it extremely hard to believe that she could not have informed us of the mix-up at least 24hrs before we were due to arrive. The owner did not seem to care less. We had only arrived into the country that day and could not believe the disgraceful customer service shown to us.
The owner told us that she had tried to find us alternate apartment accommodation but there was nothing availabe at such short notice - the best she could find was a hostel. We had no choice but to take it for that night, but couldn't help feeling that we were being scammed in some way. We went to the tourist information the next day and explained our situation, and they were able to find us suitable accommodation.
I would never recommend MartaStudio to anyone. They are completely unreliable.
It is very disappointing that our first encounter in Slovenia could have tarnished our entire view of this beautiful country.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zippy_dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed in the big apartment, 100 sqm, for one night in July on our way back from holiday in Italy. Ljubljana was in our plans nothing more than a conveneient stop on our way home, but turned out to be a very nice experience. We found some of the hotels a bit expensive given that we are four persons (two grown-up children joined us). This apartment was big, very clean, very well equipped with flat screen TV, free wi-fi, all necessary kitchen utensils, nicely furnished and with good bed comfort. All in all a lot more cosy and still with more space than a normal hotel. And a lot cheaper.
As for the location I suppose you can choose to stay in a more charming area, but it takes 15 minutes to walk to the charming districts. Martastudios are a part of a normal apartment bildning on a main road going into the centre. We found the area safe enough, just a bit boring as these blocks outside the very centro storicos could be. But who cares about that when you have the nice downtown area just a walk away! I would definitely choose this place before paying too much money for less comfort in the very city centre. You can buy what you need for breakfast or any other meal at the supermarket 100 meters away, at surprisingly low prices...
We found the host friendly and caring and we got all the information and help we needed. I like this kind of accomodation a lot when travelling with family and on vacation

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlgoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Isabella Rooms
Isabella Rooms
#28 of 73 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Vrba
Hostel Vrba
#2 of 73 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Simbol Hostel
Simbol Hostel
#29 of 73 in Ljubljana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Zeppelin Hostel
Zeppelin Hostel
#6 of 73 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Veselova
Vila Veselova
#2 of 56 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila Teslova
Vila Teslova
#17 of 73 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MartaStudio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MartaStudio

Property: MartaStudio
Address: Trzhashka cesta 24, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — MartaStudio 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your MartaStudio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing