We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel-Good location”
Review of Hotel Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Center
Ranked #12 of 60 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Advantages:
1.Its location is quite central and quite close to main train station as well,if you don't have a very heavy luggage,you could walk from there to the hotel (about 7-8 min,when you exit from the train station turn right on the main street and then the second turn left and there you are) As well it's quite close to main square of the old city-Prešeren Square (about 7-8 min walking).
2.The staff was very kind and Helpful.
3. very clean and a nice room design.
Disadvantages:
1.No air conditioning (there is fan though but it's quite noisy)
2.There was a bit noise (bearable if windows are closed) during morning time caused by construction works that are currently taking place near the hotel.
3.The hotel is a bit pricey for such a kind of hotel.(In General,the hotels in Ljubljana are very expensive,in my view without any reasonable reason,so you may find center hotel cheaper in comparison to others,but in an absolute terms i think it should be cheaper for what it's offering)
4.The hotel doesn't accept credit cards as a payment method .they accept only cash even if you make your reservation via websites like booking.com etc.they never charge it and your credit card details are only used as a guarantee,you will be requested to pay in Cash upon Check-In.
5.There's no Elevator in the hotel.
6.Breakfast is not served in the hotel but in a restaurant near it.
7.No mini bar,coffee making facilities,safe in the rooms.
Overall,it's a matter of budget. if you can spend more I believe you could find better hotels.if your budget is limited then this hotel could be a quite good option (above all because its location).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingManIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is a nicely located hotel, especially handy for the train and bus station. The guy at reception, Marko, was very helpful, enthuastic and knows his city very well. He certainly made up for the miserable, unhelpful guy at the train station info centre! Marko made recommendations for places to eat and explained how to get to Lake Bled easily.

The hotel is very nice inside; it was being fitted out with some new wood paneling and was very clean and tidy. We didn't get a chance to drink in the hotel bar, but it looked like a fun - they have a rather large collection of Nespresso pods... if that's your thing. Perfect for a stay in Ljubljana. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We were booked into this hotel for 2 nights July 2013. Our room was at the front of the building. It was extremely noisy with the street traffic and folks out late at night. There was no airconditioning. We opened the window and got no air only noise 24 hours. The room was small and dark. There was no place to set things. We payed for the 2 nights upfront. We asked to check out after one night and they did refund our money for the second night. I would only stay there again if we were desperate for a place to stay. All hotels in Ljubljana seem to be over priced. It is a great city but expensive

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funtogo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was not looking for a fancy hotel but a well located one with a private bath which was clean. This hotel is very near to the train and bus stations and an easy walk to downtown. There are plenty of busy restaurants and snack shops in the direct vicinity as this is located directly on a busy street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meandros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

A very honest hotel. The staff are very friendly and genuinely care about giving you suggestions on what to see and where to eat, and that alone warrants a good review. The rooms are very clean and cosy. The hotel is not too far from the city centre, the distance is a pleasant short walk. It's not a luxury hotel with minibar and room service and all the frills, but hotels shouldn't be reviewed against such aspirations. This hotel does not pretend to be something it's not, and that's a winner. For what it is, it's excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigfatwalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Because this appears to be an upgraded hostel, my expectations were not very high. However, I was shown to a lovely en-suite room at the back of the building by a welcoming receptionist. This proved to be very comfortable, big enough for my one-night stay, and very quiet, being at the back of the hotel. Breakfast - plentiful - was available at discounted rate at a nearby restaurant. I'd definitely return, and was sorry I'd only booked in for one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The location is fine, 15 walking minutes from main train station and less than 10 minutes walking distance to Ljubljana's main square.

There are Italian restaurant, Pizza, Spaghetti, Kebap take-away bar on the ground floor of the same building, and some shops including supermarket and bakery shop on the next building. Most of them are open until 21.00 hours

The hotel is more like hostel with en-suited rooms. The small entrance (without door) on the main street leads to the small inner yard, where you can really find the hotel door and get into the hotel on the upper floor. There is no lift. This hotel is not suitable for those travelling with big luggage.

The reception girl is very nice and helpful. We got a room next to reception table on the same floor. I believe they got more rooms on the higher floor (without lift, I believe.)
The room is pretty clean, but the wall is upper-half painted in dark color. It gave me a feeling that they painted it like that to hide mould trace because the light in the room was not bright enough as well. They also provide a fan for summer. There is no good view from the room.
The room window is old wooden one without good insulation. The street-side rooms could be very noisy.

Bed is too hard. Pillow is too thin.

Bathroom was well-done and was pretty clean.

The wall is pretty much thin. I woke up during the night because of noise from the next room.
Free Wi-fi in the room was in a very good speed.

I did not have breakfast there.

Room Tip: Not street side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L-i-Y-i-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#16 of 31 in Ljubljana
946 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Park - Urban&Green
Hotel Park - Urban&Green
#19 of 31 in Ljubljana
919 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Meksiko
Hotel Meksiko
#23 of 31 in Ljubljana
287 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Center

Address: Slovenska cesta 51, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range: £39 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Center 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stars furnished rooms but two stars pricing policy - Welcome to Hotel Center Ljubljana! Brand new hotel is located in the very centre of Ljubljana. It is placed in the XIX century building which was totally renovated (outside and inside) in the year 2009. The hotel is approximately 300m away from the railway and bus station as well as from the bus stop link with the airport terminal and 400m from the Ljubljana Fair. City bus stops are also in immediate vicinity.Our place is furnished as three star hotels but priced just as two stars hotels. Each room (double or single) has unique furnishing, 4m high ceilings and, of course, entirely new equipped bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing