We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room, luxury breakfast and perfect location!”
Review of Lesar Hotel Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lesar Hotel Angel
Ranked #1 of 56 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, luxury breakfast and perfect location!”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed two nights in October 2012 and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is ideally situated in the old town and is very atmospheric, being in a converted townhouse. The colours are dark, sensuous and very elegant, with a selection of beautiful decorations in the rooms and in the hallways. We had a room on the top floor, which overlooked the rooftops and also the castle. The bathroom was amazing....underfloor tiled heating, large bath and beautiful views from the window. The beds were comfortable and felt really luxurious. It was quiet too, so we slept very well. One of the most amazing things was the beautiful breakfasts, great choice including smoked salmon, freshly baked apple cake and great local cheeses. definitely the best breakfast I have ever experienced in a hotel anywhere. We will definitely be back there in the next few months. Love it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    99
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
197
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
1,443 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 661 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Just in the middle of the old city, a nicely refurbished old house, redone with a lot of taste. Usual drawbacks (no elevator, a lot of stairs) but the location is very nice, so the charm of the place compensates for that; in a nutshell, very 'boutique' hotel. However, same experience as the previous time - in the evening, looks like there is only one person taking care of the hotel - not an issue per se, but expect little service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My first time in Ljubljana and as there is no IHG hotel there (?) I decided to try the boutique hotel Lesar Hotel Angel. The room was brilliant, I booked it through Opodo and got the Penthouse suite for 195 Euros. My only issue is that there is no room service and only one member of staff in the hotel so it can be difficult to get anything. The location of the hotel is great and Ljubljana is beautiful.

Room Tip: Use Opodo as it was a lot cheaper than the hotels rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flak88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a fantastically renovated building in the heart of the charming pedestrian zone of Ljubljana. The decor is detailed, very tastefull and elegant. Our room was a huge loft on the top floor which was so pleasant and light we didn't want to leave to explore the town! The bathroom was sumptuous with a huge bath and lots of toiletries. It was all spotlessly clean.

The hotel has a lovely dining area with all day free fruit, biscuits, tea and coffee. In the afternoon there is an open fire in winter. It was very pleasant to sit in ther, drinking tea and playing cards. The breakfast buffet, also in this room is extensive, although the coffee is self serve and not the usual quality one finds in Europe. It would benefit from offering freshly made espresso etc.

The only negative to this hotel was the lack of warm friendliness one usually finds in small boutique hotels. There is in fact no reception desk: just an office. When you arrive you ring a bell and somebody comes out. If you need something you need to ring the bell which feels a bit intimidating. The staff members were all polite and helpful, but not actually cheery and warm. My suggestion to this hotel would be to have a front desk staffed by friendly extroverts.

I would happily stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I stayed here for four nights in early December, arriving just hours ahead of a big snowstorm that turned Ljubljana into a winter wonderland. I had booked the Penthouse, three flights of stairs up but worth it once you get there. A big, quiet room with a fireplace that I definitely wanted to use.

The bathroom was large and there was plenty of space for a bathtub, so why didn't they install one when the place was renovated? The water for the shower was hot enough for the most part, I appreciated the heated towel bars. I did have to ask for more than one towel of each size and they didn't have any washcloth sized options, odd. The floor was heated, also nice.

None of the lights in the bedroom or bath were on dimmers, I like low lighting.

I did have to keep asking for wood for the stove, and starters and kindling or newspaper, etc...Why was this not stocked properly? Housekeeping should lay a fire ready for use if you just throw a lit match at it.

The entry to the room needs refreshing. The carpet is very worn and there are black marks all over the painted walls.

The room had no desk of any kind. I ended up putting my laptop on the bedside table and hunching over it from a very uncomfortable wicker chair. Likewise, though there was enough hanging space, there wasn't a bureau, drawers, cubbies, nothing for all the other stuff. Say what?? I ended up putting things on the couch, hardly ideal. A four star hotel isn't thinking about where the guests will put their things, are you kidding?

The staff were all helpful. I had rented a car and it was parked in the spot they've got. Someone from the hotel went out and cleared it of snow, without my asking. It's true the office space is hidden away. How about a sign? You come in, you've been traveling all day, make this easy. And there's a step just there so if you are looking for the office, you are not looking down and you can easily trip, as I did. Also, the reception desk should be welcoming and this space is not. It looks like a back office, with computer gear and a crappy desk and no good place for the guest to sit. I'd put a desk out in the entry way, get rid of one of the couches, maybe both. It's a tight space, narrow, but if the desk angled a bit, I think it would work fine.

Oh, one more thing. If you don't like scented candles, don't stay here. Candles are lit at night in the entrance area and the smell wafts. I wish they would just use unscented candles since the effect is pleasing, just not the smell. Cloying, awful.

There were some vases of fresh flowers around the hotel and I kept noticing the water hadn't been changed in forever. I mentioned it to someone, still never changed the water.

I do like the hotel, lots of charm and mostly good tasteful choices for furniture and design, but there needs to be more attention paid to the details. I also did miss a room service option.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cadillac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I cannot describe how delighted I was to have accidentally stumbled into this boutique hotel. The staff were fantastic, very friendly and accommodating. Each room is different and beautiful, extremely clean and comfortable. The pictures available on the site are not deceitful. It is located in the heart of Ljubljana, location could not be more perfect. I will be staying here on my next trip to Ljubljana

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I cannot but join previous reviewers in their praise for this little boutique hotel in the heart of Ljubliana; it is one of the most romantic places I have seen and definitely in my top 3 of "would love to go back"; tasteful and cozy, sweet and charming, peaceful and quiet and so chic it can make you fall in love with it; the staff is most accommodating, the breakfast generous and the fireplace, just another touch of romance; my boyfriend and I enjoyed a room at the top floor, with a lovely view over the red roofs of the buildings around and a spot of the castle; the bathroom has a cute window just above the bath which overlooks the same red roofs and the castle; it gives a cute, refreshing twist to the idea of taking a shower and enjoying an amazing view at the same time; do not bring your kids with you, for the other guests' sake but also for yours; this is designed and created just for you and for your whoever makes you happy to live the fairytale you may have always dreamed of; and Ljubliana as a setting for that is definitely a great choice. warmly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandriciul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
#21 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lesar Hotel Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lesar Hotel Angel

Property: Lesar Hotel Angel
Address: Gornji trg 7, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lesar Hotel Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LESAR HOTEL ANGEL was built in the centre of Old Ljubljana and resides in a large medieval house, where tradition and a classic look join the modern trends and approaches of topmost hospitality. Good knowledge of the city's history enabled us to shape the living space in a way that allows our esteemed guests not only to experience a pleasant and serene stay, but also feel first hand the charm of the life led by the old townspeople who once inhabited this place. In this way, we wish to join the old and traditional with the contemporary and modern.The hotel prides itself on its 500 m2 private garden that ascends the slope of the Castle Hill directly underneath the castle tower, from where a marvellous view of Ljubljana and its surroundings may be enjoyed. The garden has an exit to the Cat's Path, one of the popular routes towards the Ljubljana Castle.We wish to offer our guests a luxury stay in a calm leisure or working environment, where they can enjoy gourmet cuisine and spend time in perfect privacy in the very centre of Ljubljana, be it in the premises of the hotel or in the pleasant hotel garden. Due to the location of the old town centre, the hotel is a perfect vantage point for various activities in Ljubljana and its vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lesar Hotel Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing