We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall excellent choice at Lesar Angel”
Review of Lesar Hotel Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lesar Hotel Angel
Ranked #1 of 58 Ljubljana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Lesar Angel is in a marvellous location, one street back from the river and at the end of a cobbled street where there are several restuarants if you want to dine on the doorstep. Its on a pedestrian street so there is no traffic or associated noise.

We booked a junior suite, which was very spacious and well appointed - large bathroom (though a shower over the bath, not separate), nice size lounge (no television) with 2-person dining table, huge sofa and a lovely writing desk. The bed was wonderful with great clean linen of high quality and plenty of room to walk around. TV was in here. Good sized bedside tables and nice lamps (though the lighting, for those who like to read in bed, was one of the few things we thought could be improved). There were a few pieces of fruit in the room and water when we arrived.

The staff are courteous and helpful and were, unnecessarily, very apologetic when we couldn't have our room at 1130am! (We never expected it). Breakfast is good quality but simple continental style and the lady who runs it (who we thought looked like Felicity Kendal) was warmth and courtesy personified.

The minor downsides, just for the sake of completeness were ..
- Windows on our floor were rooflights so there was hardly any view without straining.
- We went in March and had lots of rain and sleet and snow so take umbrellas as the hotel didn't have any to lend out.
- After a long hard winter the carpets have a few stains which will, I'm sure, soon be removed

Would we stay again? Definitely.
Would we recommend it to our friends? For sure.

Neville Seabridge
March 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank ZorbatheBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Lesar Hotel Angel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

We only had a brief sojourn in Ljubljana, but this hotel made our stay memorable.

Reception staff were attentive and welcoming. the spacious room was spotless and comfortable.
Luxurious and well decorated. Slept like a dream in the really comfy bed. Breakffast in the beuatifully proportioned dining room was tasty and included a good selection.
The parking is a little distance away, but easy to find in these spacious streets.

the hotel is in walking distance of everything worth seeing in this city. Great restaurant selection just around the corner from the hotel.

the city itself is a little sedate and quiet. Not like a typical university town. No real buzz, but very beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irelandlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I have stayed in many hotels in Ljubljana but none of them have been as lovely as this one.
It may have been the fact that it was much smaller hotel and therefore more personal but I adored it. The decor is tasteful and the staff were extremely friendly. I loved the fact that you were able to help yourself to tea and coffee in the dining room whenever you wanted to. Breakfast was fabulous and I'll certainly be returning whenever I can.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philomena6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed two nights in October 2012 and had a wonderful stay. The hotel is ideally situated in the old town and is very atmospheric, being in a converted townhouse. The colours are dark, sensuous and very elegant, with a selection of beautiful decorations in the rooms and in the hallways. We had a room on the top floor, which overlooked the rooftops and also the castle. The bathroom was amazing....underfloor tiled heating, large bath and beautiful views from the window. The beds were comfortable and felt really luxurious. It was quiet too, so we slept very well. One of the most amazing things was the beautiful breakfasts, great choice including smoked salmon, freshly baked apple cake and great local cheeses. definitely the best breakfast I have ever experienced in a hotel anywhere. We will definitely be back there in the next few months. Love it!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Just in the middle of the old city, a nicely refurbished old house, redone with a lot of taste. Usual drawbacks (no elevator, a lot of stairs) but the location is very nice, so the charm of the place compensates for that; in a nutshell, very 'boutique' hotel. However, same experience as the previous time - in the evening, looks like there is only one person taking care of the hotel - not an issue per se, but expect little service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My first time in Ljubljana and as there is no IHG hotel there (?) I decided to try the boutique hotel Lesar Hotel Angel. The room was brilliant, I booked it through Opodo and got the Penthouse suite for 195 Euros. My only issue is that there is no room service and only one member of staff in the hotel so it can be difficult to get anything. The location of the hotel is great and Ljubljana is beautiful.

Room Tip: Use Opodo as it was a lot cheaper than the hotels rates
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flak88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a fantastically renovated building in the heart of the charming pedestrian zone of Ljubljana. The decor is detailed, very tastefull and elegant. Our room was a huge loft on the top floor which was so pleasant and light we didn't want to leave to explore the town! The bathroom was sumptuous with a huge bath and lots of toiletries. It was all spotlessly clean.

The hotel has a lovely dining area with all day free fruit, biscuits, tea and coffee. In the afternoon there is an open fire in winter. It was very pleasant to sit in ther, drinking tea and playing cards. The breakfast buffet, also in this room is extensive, although the coffee is self serve and not the usual quality one finds in Europe. It would benefit from offering freshly made espresso etc.

The only negative to this hotel was the lack of warm friendliness one usually finds in small boutique hotels. There is in fact no reception desk: just an office. When you arrive you ring a bell and somebody comes out. If you need something you need to ring the bell which feels a bit intimidating. The staff members were all polite and helpful, but not actually cheery and warm. My suggestion to this hotel would be to have a front desk staffed by friendly extroverts.

I would happily stay here again.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Sasha199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,681 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lesar Hotel Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lesar Hotel Angel

Address: Gornji trg 7, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Ljubljana
Price Range: £87 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lesar Hotel Angel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LESAR HOTEL ANGEL was built in the centre of Old Ljubljana and resides in a large medieval house, where tradition and a classic look join the modern trends and approaches of topmost hospitality. Good knowledge of the city's history enabled us to shape the living space in a way that allows our esteemed guests not only to experience a pleasant and serene stay, but also feel first hand the charm of the life led by the old townspeople who once inhabited this place. In this way, we wish to join the old and traditional with the contemporary and modern.The hotel prides itself on its 500 m2 private garden that ascends the slope of the Castle Hill directly underneath the castle tower, from where a marvellous view of Ljubljana and its surroundings may be enjoyed. The garden has an exit to the Cat's Path, one of the popular routes towards the Ljubljana Castle.We wish to offer our guests a luxury stay in a calm leisure or working environment, where they can enjoy gourmet cuisine and spend time in perfect privacy in the very centre of Ljubljana, be it in the premises of the hotel or in the pleasant hotel garden. Due to the location of the old town centre, the hotel is a perfect vantage point for various activities in Ljubljana and its vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lesar Hotel Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing