We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, with even nicer staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Centrally located, if a bit difficult to get to given the pedestrianizing of downtown Ljuljiana. Right near the river with easy access to the nicest part of town. Pretty hotel in the common rooms, with excellent breakfast and nice exercise facility and spa tub. Hotel looks a bit Spartan, with a "Eastern European" lack of modern appointments in the room. Rooms were clean and well maintained, but not up to the 4-star standard advertised. Actually the hotel was quite expensive for what you got in the rooms. The staff couldn't have been any nicer, or more accomodating, even offering to DHL to the Unied States a bag we left behind. They were sweet to the kids and very accomodating. Knowlegable about the neighborhood and restaurants locally.

Room Tip: The family room easily accomodated 3 or 4 kids plus an adult.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

We were here in July with our two daughters and couldn't have been happier with the hotel, the beautiful and very large rooms and the extraordinary people who run the hotel. (Thank you, Gaj).
Located in the heart of the beautiful old town, the Anitq Palace is a serene, luxury spa/hotel. We shared a two bedroom suite with our daughters and were very pleased to find that we also had a large living room, kitchen, eating area and bathroom with a washing machine. Heaven. We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ann f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is a lovely place and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Some minor comments stops me giving it an Excellent rating but they are nothing serious. This list is in no particular order:

* The family apartment we had was very hot especially the master bedroom on the mezzanine. We had to have the airco and fan full blast all night to stay cool. I guess it is in the roof and I suspect the other suites are not so hot.
* The sheets on the master bed only just come to the edge of the bed so for someone like me who moves a lot you end up sleeping on the mattress.
* Breakfast is pretty minimal but having said that, there are only 12 rooms here so I guess they don't want to have to throw a lot away (which is also fine by me because I wouldn't want them to waste a lot of food on my behalf. My footprint is big enough as it is).
* The spa is as most spas are in small hotels: small. there is a small jacuzzi, some good quality exercise equipment and saunas. Admittedly, I don't use this stuff much but I would prefer they didn't have it rather than do it as a kind of add on. It often feels like these things are just stuck somewhere because it is obligatory to have them (still the kids had fun in the jacuzzi).

For the rest, this is a very nice hotel, very friendly and helpful staff and an excellent location. We had a very large family suite with bunk beds for the kids (there is another family suite but the kids beds were at each end of the suite).

One note of warning about getting to the hotel. In the last month, a pedestrian district has been created around it and you can't drive to the hotel without first getting an electronic badge from the hotel to get through the barriers. The GPS was not updated yet so we went round in circles for awhile. Ring the hotel for advice before arriving.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is a delightful hotel. The building, common areas are really charming, a lot of thought has gone into the refurbishment of this building and the decor was really fitting for a modern take on a very old building. It definitely had an air of grandeur.
The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, especially with restaurant choices, which were spot on for our needs - see my reviews on them.
However, we did find the rooms (and we had several attached to our bedroom) to be in extraordinary large, massive is probably an understatement. The furnishings were quite grand and in a traditional style, it was spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable with good quality bedlinen and the bathrobes were a good size and quality, we had 2 separate toilets.
We enjoyed breakfast, the surroundings were perfect and the selection of food was god quality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Awaywegoagain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We were staying in another hotel and once we entered the Antiq Palace (friends were staying there), we immediately checked out of our first hotel and moved into the Antiq. The staff offered a reduced rate because a suite was free and we couldn't have been happier. Our suite was more than spacious and extremely comfortable. The location is convenient as well.
We loved it and recommend it highly!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patriciaweinmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Clearly quite charming building with inner courtyard close to music school (so nice music).
Huge suite allocated to me (with piano in the kicthen) with strange mix of designer and cheap items. Finishing details in the room were not up to scratch (fairly surprising for new hotel). Big bathroom but strange layout (not helped by presence of washing machine). Service was good at reception but indifferent for breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gascondomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We value your opinion greatly and will use your constructive remarks to further improve the level of our services. We would like to thank you for your kind appraisal of the friendliness of our staff as well as the unique design and ambience of the Antiq Palace, which dates to early 16th century and enjoys a convenient and premium location in the heart of the Old Town centre of Ljubljana.

One of the unique aspects of the premium and central location of the Antiq Palace is its proximity to the neighbouring Music Academy, which not only gives the building a feeling of warmth but also is considered as an “attraction” by number of our guests, who enjoy the notes of the classical music echoing on the internal courtyards and the corridors of the Antiq Palace.

We sincerely regret that our team was not able to recognise your concern with the occupied suite at the time of your stay, what could have possibly given us the opportunity to turn your experience around. Please be kindly advised that Antiq Palace features over 13 spacious suites of more modern décor (as the one you were staying in ) and historic suites, each of unique layout and design, which have been renovated in the style that would depict and highlight its original purpose and that is the aristocratic residence from 16th century.

We have taken all of your remarks regarding the technical aspects of the suites into consideration and have made several improvements to the quality of finishing, tiling as well as the water heating in the bathroom areas. Furthermore several improvements were made on the matter of regular maintenance checks as well as staff’s efficiency and prompt reaction to resolving any possible inconvenience caused due to a temporary maintenance malfunction.

We regret sincerely for not being able to recognise your dissatisfaction with certain aspects and details at the time of your stay at the Antiq Palace, which could have possibly given us an opportunity to turn your experience around. Should such opportunity become available to us we kindly ask you to contact us at a time convenient for you to discuss the ways in which we can make your next stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed for 5 nights with my husband (couple in 60s). It is a genuine 16th Century palace with wide staircases, big rooms, high ceilings etc. Our Residential Suite was huge. 3 separate rooms, old parquetry flooring, high celings. Separate bedroom, separate living room with TV, sofas etc., separate middle room with dining table and newly equipped kitchen. The windows opened on one side into a lovely courtyard with a Moorish feel to it and on the other down to the cobbled street, pedestriansed. The hotel was only 1 block from the river and old town and within easy walking distance of almost everywhere. The included breakfast was sensational - cold cuts, caviar, different breads, cheeses, all sorts of diary, juices and if you wished cakes etc. This was downstairs in the "cloisters" around the courtayr. The staff were friendly, helpful and delightful. They also served drinks thoughout the day if you wished in the lovely, cool courtyard. Nothing was too much trouble - they were happy to print out some documents I needed and there was no charge. We had some laundry done which was efficient and not at all expensive. I would love to come back again to this unbelievatle city and would definitley stay h ere again. Only slight quibble - not enough cooking pans in the kitchen. But with such good and inexpensive restaurants in the city cooking wasn't high on the list. However there is a fantastic daily produce market in the town square, about 5 minutes walk from the hotel so self catering is easy to organise. Loved this place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuppy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#25 of 31 in Ljubljana
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Urban Hotel
Urban Hotel
#17 of 31 in Ljubljana
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mrak
Hotel Mrak
#18 of 31 in Ljubljana
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: £87 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing