We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a palace ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Its a palace ...”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

... or apparently it used to be. This is a very unusual and stylish hotel in a good central part of the city. The apartments are indeed huge with high ceilings and interesting decor. The rooms are so large that they could actually do with a few more fittings, there is a feeling that nothing is totally finished yet and they definitely need a bit more art on the walls. The front desk staff are friendly and professional and could not have done more to ensure we made the most of our time in and around this beautiful city. Maid service is a bit spotty, most days they forgot to give us something or other and somebody's old bottle top remained in our hall for 3 days after we arrived. The only serious adverse comment I would make about this place is the sound proofing, none of the floors are carpeted and sound carries incredibly from one room to another, if I could hear the couple talking in the bed above mine, I'm sure they must have endured my snoring. If they are reading this - sorry, blame the hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    126
    36
    26
    14
See reviews for
77
181
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is not your regular hotel. Your hotel room may very well be bigger than your home. It is great if you are staying few days in the area and not alone. It is a 16th century mansion right at the heart of this little city. Walking distance to old city, actually it is in the old city. Staff is extremely polite, professional and helpful. Breakfast room, little garden of the building are all great. Atmosphere in general is very relaxing and elegant. I loved the classic music that can be heard in all common areas while having my coffee in the morning. Besides, music from the next door conservatoire is additional flavor. You need to experience it. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Antiq Palace Hotel and Spa November 29 and 30, 2011. From the moment we arrived we had excellent service and individual attention. Our room, rather apartment, as it was so large, was beautiful. Perhaps the best recommendation is that we would stay here again when we return to beautiful Ljubljana.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isles of Scilly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Hmmm. The experience of staying here was a little like a modern European take on Fawlty Towers meets Acorn Antiques- in a very good way, if that makes sense!

As others have said, the staff are absolutely fantastic and couldn't be more helpful. The hotel is warm and clean and the apartments are wonderfully absurd (the apartment next to ours had its own proper coffee bar half way down its hall way!). The location couldn't be better.

However, there is always a niggling feeling that the management have run away and left a small team of friendly and helpful junior staff in charge. Imagine if you will being thrown in at the deep end and being asked to manage a hotel yourself with no experience. Now imagine the sorts of mistakes and oversights you would probably make in your first week until you found your feet. Well, that's sort of the feeling you get here - lots of basic, small mistakes, always put right immediately in such a way as to endear the staff even more to you. But underneath the warm fuzzy feeling you get from the customer service, you can't help but think that if only there had been a grown-up present, the mistakes might not have needed to keep happening in the first place. But if that were the case you might not end up with the same wry, warm fuzzy feelings?

We debated long and hard the raisons d'etre for this hotel - and still can't come up with an agreed answer. Go and stay and ponder just what they are about - then post your answers on here. You, won't regret it.

Room Tip: Not so cheap if travelling from the UK at the moment - try and get one of their deals to ease the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The hotel is like a tranquil oasis hidden away behind a big door off a small side street near the river that runs through the city. I arrived on a Sunday evening with a lovely greeting and was shown up to my room - one of the suites on the top floor. Thsi has recently been redecorated and it shows - beautiful floors and very nice furnishings and lovely exposed wooden beams. There was an amazing bathroom and two very large bedrooms, kitchen/dining area and sitting room. The suite was larger than many apartments in London and very cheap. The service in the hotel really is a high point - very helpful staff - coffee top ups while waiting to go to a meeting,clothes ironed.....all without charge. I did not get a chance to use the spa but will next time I am there. My only minor gripe would be a need to soften the decor in the siutes a little, e.g,. with a painting or two on the walls or some plants. The Antiq was overall one of the best places I have stayed i a long time and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: go for one of the suites,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerone o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

As other reviewers have mentioned there is only a small plaque with the hotel name on the outside of the 2 entry doors so keep your eyes peeled when going to the hotel for the first time.

The staff were super helpful and friendly.

We had booked the 3 roomed apartment but when we arrived were told that it was not available due to an electrical outage on the whole floor and were offered 2 separate apartments and given some champagne while the rooms were made up for us.

The hotel is expensive and I'm not convinced it's the rooms that you are paying for. They are very spacious but not decorated well. Beds are very comfortable and I didn't notice a lot of noise in the evenings.

Breakfast was ok - don't go there expecting a cooked breakfast, it's bread rolls, cheese and a few slices of smoked salmon with a fruit selection. There were signs for boiled eggs but we never saw any.

Overall the hotel was lovely and Ljubljana is such a beautiful friendly city we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay,

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrustyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Had arranged with hotel to be picked up from airport. Took us straight to the hotel in the old pedestrian part of Ljubljana. Huge black doors with only a discreet sign outside. Once inside the staff and overall impression of the hotel makes you feel at home. We stayed in room VI. It's not a room but an apartment. Bedroom, kitchen/dinner, lounge. High ceilings gives you the feel of plenty of space. We felt very welcome and relaxed in this apartment. You get a continental breakfast in very beautiful surroundings. It seems one staff member is on reception and co-ordinating breakfast, maybe in busy times more staff is on call.
Free use of sauna & jacuzzi exclusively to you.
Hotel very close to many lovely restaurants and shops, but everything in Ljubljana seems close.
Few things to note, garbage trucks do collect from outside the hotel 6 in the morning this might wake you up. Some of the room furniture could do with replacing one draw I tried to open fell on my foot Ouch!
Overall this is a hotel you can really chill & relax in so we didn't mind the very few little short comings.
Go to Lubiljana stay in this hotel, take a walk in the old part, visit the lovely restaurants, bars and shops. The people are friendly.
You'll love it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshall1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#23 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
3.7 mi away
G Design Hotel
G Design Hotel
#12 of 31 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing