We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

From the moment you walk through the grand wooden doors and see the candles lighting the way up to reception, you know you are going to be staying somewhere special.
The building is beautiful, the rooms are something else, the breakfast is fantastic, and the staff are incredibly helpful.
We originally had room 14 allocated for our party of 2 adults and 2 kids, but were upgraded to suite 3, which was huge: 2 large bedrooms, dining room, very large sitting room, kitchen and bathroom (with jacuzzi bath and separate massage shower). The beds are so comfortable! I won't repeat what other reviewers have said, other than it is such a pleasurable expereince to stay here.
We also booked the spa area (which you get exclusively to yourself) with the jacuzzi and 3 saunas, although the Turkish one wasn't working at the time. Kids loved it - candle lit, water left out for you, relaxing music playing, plenty of towels.
Breakfast is also very special - laid out perfectly and delicious food. You just have to go there.
We only stayed for 1 night on our way back from a ski trip in Slovenia, but even so, we were there long enough to totally relax and enjoy the ambience. Throughout the stay, the staff could not have been more helpful, which is sometimes hard to find in hotels these days.
Location is really good for the old town (note other review comments about being hard to find. We were lucky enough to have a local with us who just took us there).

Room Tip: Suite 3 is huge and very good. However, light sleepers would struggle in this room as it is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    131
    37
    27
    14
See reviews for
77
188
26
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I came onto this site to give a fantastic review but found that Ruth T had already done it better than I could.
I am the father,half of the "my parents" referred to in her review.

It honestly is that good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We have travelled to Ljubjana many times and never seen or heard of this hotel but a chance find online has lead to an amazing find! We will never stay anywhere else again.
Despite booking just a standard 2 rooms for my parents and my partner we were shown to our rooms and were unsure we had the right allocation. We were paying little more than a travelodge cost in the UK and were shown to our suites which were unbelievable in size.
My 'room' consisted of a grangd entrance hall complete with a bar, leading to a very large bedroom which was the biggest room I have ever stayed in. We had a spa shower bathroom which was great.
My parents room had 4 rooms with dining room, sitting room and large bedroom. The breakfast was well worth the cost with champagne and cavier if you wished. Beautiful decor all round and greatn staff.
I would recommend this for any traveller but please dont tell anyone.... I think this is one of Slovenia's best kept secrets

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

It's something very special, to stay in an historic palace, with decor and furnishings to match the period. The location is excellent and the staff were very helpful. The public rooms were also very beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The hotel is a series of apartments which in a way make you feel like you’re living the life of royals. Ours had a kitchen with a dining table, a living room and a bedroom, all well-appointed with furniture of the period. What’s amazing is that even though the hotel was almost full, we never saw or heard another guest. It’s as if we had the whole place to ourselves. The hotel is right in the middle of the old town so you can walk everywhere. Oh, and if you go to the castle, make sure you take the tram up the hill. This is definitely the place to stay when visiting Ljubljana.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UNKL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We have just returned home from a short break at the Antiq Palace Hotel. We were impressed by this characterful hotel.

First, the plus points: a terrific location close to the river in the old city; atmospheric with Gothic vaulted ceilings and ornate fireplaces downstairs and lighted candles everywhere; very helpful and friendly staff; good Continental buffet breakfast; huge rooms the size of a small flat. There were a few negative points however: our room, whilst being vast in size, felt bare and lacked charm; the bathroom had not seen much recent maintenance and some of the issues an earlier Trip Advisor reviewer commented on had not been put right since; use of the Spa was subject to half an hour's wait for the sauna and steam room to heat up which, although understandable from an energy saving point of view, was nevertheless a bit inconvenient.

Often what marks out a great hotel is attention to the small detail that either impresses and makes a stay more comfortable, or disappoints. For example, in our room (Suite 2) there was no TV channel list supplied so we could not readily access the channels we wanted; nowhere to lay our clothes in the bedroom and we had to resort to using chairs in the kitchen area, or the wardrobe off the kitchen; and anyone sitting on the toilet is plainly visible to others outside the bathroom through the unfrosted glass in the door, which some might find disconcerting.

But overall, the positives certainly outweighed the negatives and we had a most enjoyable stay. We would recommend this hotel to those seeking a memorable hotel experience in a very beautiful city.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twofreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed at Antiq Palace Hotel and Spa over New Year for five nights. Having read other Tripadvisor reviews about noise from nearby pubs, I made sure I booked a residential suite on the top floor. The room was HUGE. It was like an apartment - duplex with one bedroom, lounge and kitchen on the top floor and another room and seperate bathroom and toilet on the bottom floor. The room has lovely wooden floors and is nicely decorated, however it does lack a bit of personality. The decor is a bit too neutral...
Apart from that, the room was quiet, comfortable and the bathroom had a jacuzzi bath which was a lovely surprise.

The breakfast was not really to our taste so we only had it two mornings. There is a spa which you can reserve privately for no extra cost. It has two saunas, a steam room and a jacuzzi. Unfortunately they forgot we had booked it so we had to wait about 15minutes for everything to be turned on and warmed up but the jacuzzi was tepid....

The location of the hotel is great. It is very central and is merely minutes walk to restaurants and attractions.

The staff are very helpful and friendly and were happy to recommend restaurants and make bookings. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a 4 star stay in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#12 of 31 in Ljubljana
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#24 of 31 in Ljubljana
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing