We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and a rather quirky hotel...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location and a rather quirky hotel...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here..room was huge more like an apartment..everything was lovely but the bathrooms could do with some updating. Service was excellent and the hotel concierge booked and recommend a llovely nearby restaurant. Location is excellent in the heart of the old city..

Worth a visit if you are in town..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miak008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    123
    36
    25
    13
See reviews for
77
177
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

A great location. Be aware there is an Antiq Hotel, also, and is nearby. Creates some confusion with taxis and directions.

Ljubljana is a beautiful city with great restaurants and wonderful people. However, Antiq Palace Hotel is overrated. Public spaces are pretty but the two rooms I saw were nothing like the photos on website. An old building was made into a hotel by someone who was not experienced in hotel design, in my opinion.

My room was the "residential suite.". Bathroom floor was extremely slick polished tiles. Some were loose and cracked - possibly the result of a fall. Inconvenient vanity placement. Lighting was poor and some fixtures did not work. Cheap Home Depot, do it yourself type construction. Ultra modern attempt to utilize a space. Furniture appeared to be assemble it yourself IKEA type. Steep stairway required to access suite as elevator stops at floor below. Suite is also two storied requiring additional steep stairway to loft and seating area. Upstairs bedroom had no closet, cabinet, or even a hook for clothing. Kitchenette was poorly equipped but no problem as I did not use it. AC thermostat did not work and comment to desk clerk was shrugged off.

Another suite of rooms on the floor below was a hodge pudge of spaces put together with no purpose other than to make a space. Furniture was seedy.

Continental breakfast was served in a beautiful, antique filled room but just deli items brought in and put on serving plates. Flies were buzzing around food and there appeared to be no attendant taking care off the area. Cost was not included in room and was very overpriced. I went down the street for breakfast.

An amateurish attempt to run a hotel. Could have some real promise with some experienced management and some retrofit to make the rooms more guest friendly but hard to beat the location.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. We understand that the interior decorations and design of the suite you were occupying did not meet your expectations as in light of the full occupancy your reservation was in fact upgraded to the Duplex Residence apartment (XII), which is decorated in more modern and slick style than our historic suites.

We sincerely regret that our team was not able to recognise your dissatisfaction with the occupied suite at the time of your stay, what could have possibly given us the opportunity to turn your experience around. Antiq Palace features over 10 spacious histories suites, each of unique layout and design, which have been renovated in the style that would depict and highlight its original purpose and that is the aristocratic residence from 16th century.

We understand that one cannot change the experiences in the past, however, would be truly delighted for an opportunity to showcase you the unique historic interiors Antiq Palace offers. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay, pleasant, relaxing and so it meet your expectations of service.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at the antique palace for one night and were very pleased to get a last minute booking (one hour before arriving!) We were told that we would have a 30sqm room but when we arrived they had a huge 2 bedroom apartment ready for us. We were very pleased with having a furnished apartment rather than a room as we are 2 adults and one baby. The rate was extremely reasonable as we were charged for what was quoted on the phone rather than the 270Euro price which is normal for the 2 bedroom apartment.

The apartment was not entirely completed-some painting on the wall was half done and light fittings in the bathroom not finished but this was no problem for us. Breakfast was great and they were accommodating of our little one. We would definitely go back to Antique palace.

Room Tip: Go for lunch at Valvasor, it was delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Great location in the city and fantastically helpful staff in the hotel. Suite was lovely, breakfast was good and the spa facilities / treatments were great. Minor watch out - no obvious price list for the mini bar so we weren't sure if the items were chargeable - they were! And breakfast was not included in the price, it read as if it was. But a lovely relaxing experience overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mand2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Beautiful hotel with big, comfortable and very clean rooms. Excellent service. The hotel is located so close to everything. The breakfast brilliant!! Although everything in this hotel is close to perfection, the rates are so reasonable, especially if you are more than 2 person.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Nice localization. Big and confortable rooms and bath. Nice breakfest. The decoration is gorgeous.
If you have a car, It could be a little difficult, since it is in a pedestrian area.
Reallly like it, certainly we would like to come back!

Room Tip: Really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bike7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Have had a great iniation to Slovenia, our third day we arrived in Ljubljana.. Great location..but rooms beyond eclectic. Back of hotel essential. Stairs..no lift..concern...my mirror too low..light dim..love my porch..room 12... Back of house..

Room Tip: Back of house..room 11 bad. 12. Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pochlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We value your opinion greatly and will use your constructive remarks to further improve the level of our services. We would like to thank you for your kind appraisal of the unique ambience of the Antiq Palace, which dates to early 16th century and enjoys a convenient and premium location in the heart of the Old Town centre of Ljubljana.

We sincerely regret that our team was not able to recognise your concern with the occupied suite at the time of your stay, what could have possibly given us the opportunity to turn your experience around. Please be kindly advised that Antiq Palace features over 13 spacious suites of more modern décor (as the one you were staying in ) and historic suites, each of unique layout and design, which have been renovated in the style that would depict and highlight its original purpose and that is the aristocratic residence from 16th century. As we understand, the peaceful stay and no noise were essential to you for a comfortable stay and hence the suites allocated to you were situated either facing the Vegova street or were mansard suites on the top floor of the building.

Please be kindly advised that in light of the unique structural features of the Antiq Palace the suites and duplex apartments situated on the top floor of the building have only staircase access ie from the 2nd floor one must take one flight of stairs to reach their suites. Our helpful staff is available around the clock to assist the guests with the luggage whenever needed. Unfortunately, on the day of your arrival the two-bedroom suites on the ground levels were already occupied and hence we could not make an alternative suggestion at the time for what we apologise profusely.

We regret sincerely for not being able to recognise your dissatisfaction with certain aspects and details at the time of your stay at the Antiq Palace, which could have possibly given us an opportunity to turn your experience around. Should such opportunity become available to us we kindly ask you to contact us at a time convenient for you to discuss the ways in which we can make your next stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#15 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#23 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing