We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
New York Mills, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“... palace”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The location is unbeatable; close to everything... town is small but with an interesting spirit... Ljubljana was a surprise for us; we did not expect to find it so nice, so peaceful and friendly.

Our Hotel just added to the beautiful atmosphere of the town.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    131
    37
    27
    14
See reviews for
77
188
26
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Easy walking to the best sites in Ljubljana. White decor helped with the calming atmosphere. Our room was bigger than our first apartment! Only down side was that the central location made the neighborhood noisy, so earplugs a must if you sleep with your windows open. Great breakfast, attentive staff helped with excursion planning and reservations. A great family weekend, my spouse even enjoyed a spa treatment while I toured with the children.

Room Tip: Suites are enormous, courtyard rooms probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mvogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We had a huge suite for three nights that would have been ideal for a family. The bathroom was small, but we reserved the spa every night and enjoyed the sauna, steam room, and hot tub. The staff was charming and knowledgeable, and they offered excellent regional wines and liqueurs to their guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoney Stretton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Antiq Palace in April 2013 to celebrate my 50th birthday. We advised the hotel in advance of the reason for our visit to the city and on our arrival they upgraded us to an absolutely beautiful suite. The staff at the hotel were fantastic and provided excellent service throughout our stay. The breakfast room is amazing and the food wonderful. Ljubljana is Europe's hidden gem. It is compact, clean, safe, very friendly and has some top-class restaurants. The Antiq Palace is ideally placed and central to everything.

The best birthday I have ever had - thank you Ljubljana!

Room Tip: Ask for Suite VI - you will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve4625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here..room was huge more like an apartment..everything was lovely but the bathrooms could do with some updating. Service was excellent and the hotel concierge booked and recommend a llovely nearby restaurant. Location is excellent in the heart of the old city..

Worth a visit if you are in town..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miak008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

A great location. Be aware there is an Antiq Hotel, also, and is nearby. Creates some confusion with taxis and directions.

Ljubljana is a beautiful city with great restaurants and wonderful people. However, Antiq Palace Hotel is overrated. Public spaces are pretty but the two rooms I saw were nothing like the photos on website. An old building was made into a hotel by someone who was not experienced in hotel design, in my opinion.

My room was the "residential suite.". Bathroom floor was extremely slick polished tiles. Some were loose and cracked - possibly the result of a fall. Inconvenient vanity placement. Lighting was poor and some fixtures did not work. Cheap Home Depot, do it yourself type construction. Ultra modern attempt to utilize a space. Furniture appeared to be assemble it yourself IKEA type. Steep stairway required to access suite as elevator stops at floor below. Suite is also two storied requiring additional steep stairway to loft and seating area. Upstairs bedroom had no closet, cabinet, or even a hook for clothing. Kitchenette was poorly equipped but no problem as I did not use it. AC thermostat did not work and comment to desk clerk was shrugged off.

Another suite of rooms on the floor below was a hodge pudge of spaces put together with no purpose other than to make a space. Furniture was seedy.

Continental breakfast was served in a beautiful, antique filled room but just deli items brought in and put on serving plates. Flies were buzzing around food and there appeared to be no attendant taking care off the area. Cost was not included in room and was very overpriced. I went down the street for breakfast.

An amateurish attempt to run a hotel. Could have some real promise with some experienced management and some retrofit to make the rooms more guest friendly but hard to beat the location.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. We understand that the interior decorations and design of the suite you were occupying did not meet your expectations as in light of the full occupancy your reservation was in fact upgraded to the Duplex Residence apartment (XII), which is decorated in more modern and slick style than our historic suites.

We sincerely regret that our team was not able to recognise your dissatisfaction with the occupied suite at the time of your stay, what could have possibly given us the opportunity to turn your experience around. Antiq Palace features over 10 spacious histories suites, each of unique layout and design, which have been renovated in the style that would depict and highlight its original purpose and that is the aristocratic residence from 16th century.

We understand that one cannot change the experiences in the past, however, would be truly delighted for an opportunity to showcase you the unique historic interiors Antiq Palace offers. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay, pleasant, relaxing and so it meet your expectations of service.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at the antique palace for one night and were very pleased to get a last minute booking (one hour before arriving!) We were told that we would have a 30sqm room but when we arrived they had a huge 2 bedroom apartment ready for us. We were very pleased with having a furnished apartment rather than a room as we are 2 adults and one baby. The rate was extremely reasonable as we were charged for what was quoted on the phone rather than the 270Euro price which is normal for the 2 bedroom apartment.

The apartment was not entirely completed-some painting on the wall was half done and light fittings in the bathroom not finished but this was no problem for us. Breakfast was great and they were accommodating of our little one. We would definitely go back to Antique palace.

Room Tip: Go for lunch at Valvasor, it was delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#12 of 31 in Ljubljana
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#24 of 31 in Ljubljana
389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing