We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend at this historic »Palazzo«”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Zadar, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful weekend at this historic »Palazzo«”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Just as their website promises, it's a true town palace and you can feel the historical spirit throughout the property. Very decent ascetic interior decoration, almost Scandinavian minimalistic approach, in any case not as some places, that are over killed with decoration and this makes them like luxurious. Luxury can be found here in the spacious apartments, we’ve stayed in a 100 sq.meter one bedroom apartment at an unbeatable price of just 250 €, and I was told this is just an average size for the Antiq Palace and not their biggest one. As said, the decor is minimalistic, yet all you need is there, not to mention an excellent high speed free wi-fi connection. big lcd tv's, and the furniture seems to be of high quality baroque styled (not kitschy) massive oak. Bathroom was small, but given this is a historic property, protected as a monument, it's understandable they have their architectural limitations.
Excellent breakfast at European prices, but sellection is really great.
Common areas are beautiful as well, a beautifull courtyard, downstairs salon is a bit medieval, nice saunas and Jacuzzi and I've had one of the best massages I ever had. Service in general is excellent; I've never experienced staff being sooo kind to me and helpful. They came to open the gate for me, when we drove in from Croatia with my wife and daughter, so I could park in front of the property which is otherwise situated in a traffic-restricted area in the heart of the old town, so car access and parking is really not a problem, just give the concierge a call when you are at the gate at the square of the French Revolution.
Surounded by the palace of the University and National University library, for me it's one of the most beautiful locations. The location is unbeatable for discovering the old town and sightseeing and there's plenty of places to eat around there in the neighbourhood. One block down is the embankment of the Ljubljanica river with numerous cafés and bars. The concierge arranged a nice boat trip along the river for our family and virtually anything can be arranged through their concierge service.
I've been to some other SLH properties and Antiq Palace can easily qualify as one. All in all it was a perfect experience and I agree with the good reviews posted before me, the bad ones I can understand, as I saw some aspects of those as well, but they did not seem that critical to me, given the place is a protected monument. I do not understand how some people can complain, if they are given a free stay and even have the nerve to post a review. In any case, I can recommend the Antiq palace and I will definitely come back, if I go to Ljubljana next time.

Room Tip: Ask for Suite IV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    131
    40
    28
    14
See reviews for
80
192
26
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This place was suggested to me by a friend and I was a little worried about the price however, we got a deal and even the original price was cheaper than places I stayed at in Italy.
The location is perfect. It is close to everything and walking distance to almost any place in Ljubljana but, if you want to experience an old town feeling then this is the place to stay.
The staff were amazing. I used to work in the hotel industry here in Canada for a large hotel chain and granted this is a small hotel one but, the personal service and consideration given to each of us was nothing short of spectacular!
The rooms are unbelievably large for the price and clean. The furniture was way beyond my expectations and would complete against any Fairmont property.
If you are looking for a place to stay and want romance and privacy then this is the place to stay. Ideal for weddings and also for groups (as we were a group and took 3 rooms).
The service was so much better than other hotels I have stayed at, including the hotel in Florence Italy which was also in a good location, quaint and romantic. But the service from staff, the furniture, the clean rooms/bathroom, and location made would make it unfair to compare this 5+ hotel with other hotels. A wonderful mix of modern but mostly antique made this place the most memorable of all the 7 hotels I stayed in on this trip.
Did I mention the price? For what you get in other countries this place was simply in another class...like 7th heaven :) that is, one just can't compare; truly the best hotel experience I ever had.

Room Tip: Every room I saw, we had 3 rooms in our group, are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JStaric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I expected a hotel that would be first -rate in all respects but was disappointed. The location is splendid, the service was very good and the rooms were clean and well-appointed. But the following problems exist:

We occupied a two bedroom suite on the third floor. It was difficult to access and, because there is no elevator to this floor, it would be difficult for the elderly or handicapped to occupy.

There is no restaurant on the premises, which surprised us. As a result, the so-called "European breakfast" was totally insufficient and quite different than what you expect at a hotel at this price.

The hotel staff was asked to arrange car service to the airport which it screwed up. To the hotel's credit, it promptly apologized and made the necessary financial adjustment to our bill.

On the third floor the roof is at a angle which in one of the two bedrooms made it difficult for a tall person. Perhaps the rooms at lower levels were more comfortable.

In the two bedroom suite there was only one bathroom. I had expected two and since we were two couples traveling together we had to coordinate our use of the one bathroom.

If I return to Ljubljana, which is a stunning city, I will choose to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. Your opinion is of great value to us and all of the constructive remarks will be used to further better our level of services. We would like to thank you for your kind appraisal of the friendliness of our staff, the ambiance and spacious interiors of the Antiq Palace, which dates to early 16th century and enjoys a convenient and premium location in the heart of the Old Town centre of Ljubljana.

Please be kindly advised that in light of the unique structural features of the Antiq Palace the suites and duplex apartments situated on the top floor of the building have only staircase access ie from the 2nd floor one must take one flight of stairs to reach their suites. Our helpful staff is available around the clock to assist the guests with the luggage whenever needed. It as times difficult for us to recognise if the guests will prefer to stay on the lower or the upper floors of the Antiq Palace, since we do not have any information regarding the client profile. Unfortunately, on the day of your arrival the two-bedroom suites on the ground levels were already occupied and hence we could not make an alternative suggestion at the time for what we apologise profusely.

It is of utmost importance for us to ensure that our clients are acquainted with the services and facilities available at the Antiq Palace and hence our homepage contains all the necessary information regarding the type of the breakfast available (Continental /European Breakfast), the number of bathrooms per suite (which is one for all the suites in the Antiq Palace) as well as the fact that Antiq Palace does not feature an on-site restaurant and yet offers 24/7 room service as well as is situated less than 100m away from most of the Ljubljana restaurants. This information is also available to all travel agents making the travel arrangements on behalf of their clients.

The unfortunate incident with the transfer service on your departure from the Antiq Palace was very much a mutually unpleasant experience since this is an undoubtedly a rare occurrence and we have made several improvements to our procedure to ensure that the service is always delivered in the timely manner.

In spite of the circumstances depicted we sincerely hope that we will get an opportunity to turn your stay experience of the Antiq Palace around on your next visit to Ljubljana. Should such opportunity become available to us we kindly ask you to contact us at a time convenient for you to discuss the ways in which we can make your next stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Your sincerely,
Antiq Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudney
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

As all the others have said location is perfect and the service was great. We got a really great tip for dinner and receptio could not have been more helpful. Rooms are quite nice and certainly very spacious. We had a 2 room suite. Breakfast was a bit limited for what this hotel is claiming to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This was a wonderful apartment at the top of the antiq palace that has been recently modernised. Downstairs there are 2 bedrooms, bathroom and entry. Upstairs is a kitchen, dining and lounge area. The apartment was so comfortable and spacious, clean and inviting.
The hotel itself was beautifully decorated for comfort and style, hidden away through a large door at the edge of the old town. The outside courtyard was lovely in the evenings for quiet listening to the tasteful music that played throughout the ground floor. Next door was what we assumed to be a music school where classical music drifted through the breakfast room each morning.
The breakfast itself was quite luxurious. Staff were very helpful and polite.
We could not have been more comfortable or better positioned.
There were spa facilities there but we spent so much time in the old town we did not have an opportunity to make the most of these even though they were included in our package. Next time.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viv f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The location of this boutique hotel can't be beat. Excellent and everything is within walking distance. But the hype is greater than the reality. The rooms are large enough and it is interesting to stay in an old fashioned townhome, but the room renovation has really not been done well. It seems as though the management tried to save money and what should have -- and could be a glorious old boutique hotel -- has been amateurishly refinished.
The beds are comfortable enough, and there is plenty of bathroom space. It helps to have the shower in one room and the toilet in the other. Good idea.
The cleanliness is, although not dirty, less than what one might expect of a property like this. The ammenities were not commensurate with what I expected either.
The staff is friendly. The breakfast is necessarily cold because there is not a restaurant on the premises, and it was the same each morning. Got boring. There was never enough water at breakfast. One person would fill up their glass and half of the one communal carafe was gone. Two people and it was gone and we had to wait for another to be brought out. Why not have 4 carafes out there and save clients the irritation of waiting and work for yourselves. Also there was only one person making coffee for a full contingent of people (8) in the dining room. One could finish breakfast waiting for water and coffee. Also, breakfast was late on Sunday and no one told us, so we were down there as usual and had to wait 30 minutes to eat.
The place needs a facelift, and competent management that pays attention to detail.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wandaMPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We value your opinion greatly and will use your constructive remarks to further improve the level of our services. We would like to thank you for your kind appraisal of the friendliness of our staff as well as the unique ambience of the Antiq Palace, which dates to early 16th century and enjoys a convenient and premium location in the heart of the Old Town centre of Ljubljana.

We sincerely regret that our team was not able to recognise your dissatisfaction with the occupied suite at the time of your stay, what could have possibly given us the opportunity to turn your experience around. Antiq Palace features over 10 spacious histories suites, each of unique layout and design, which have been renovated in the style that would depict and highlight its original purpose and that is the aristocratic residence from 16th century.

We have taken all of your remarks regarding the technical aspects of the suites into consideration and have made several improvements to the quality of finishing, tiling as well as the storage in the bathroom areas. Furthermore several improvements were made on the matter of regular maintenance checks as well as staff’s efficiency and prompt reaction to resolving any possible inconvenience caused due to a temporary maintenance malfunction.

We sincerely regret to hear that the breakfast service and variety did not meet your expectations and the longer waiting times caused an inconvenience. Please be kindly advised that we have made several improvements to our Breakfast service such constant availability of refreshments as well as additional coffee machine which operates on a self-service basis and ensures that a waiting time is cut to a minimum. For our guest who prefer their hot beverages freshly made we continue to prepare fresh coffee with a genuine coffee machine and using carefully selected and finest blends of coffee beans.

We regret sincerely for not being able to recognise your dissatisfaction with certain aspects and details at the time of your stay at the Antiq Palace, which could have possibly given us an opportunity to turn your experience around. Should such opportunity become available to us we kindly ask you to contact us at a time convenient for you to discuss the ways in which we can make your next stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We only stayed one night, but were so comfortable and well treated that I would have enjoyed staying longer. Great location a block off the river in the historic center, all restaurants, bars and shopping easily within an easy and delightful walk. Our suite of rooms was very large, two bedrooms, a very large living room with fireplace, large bathroom and a kitchen for coffee or to keep a bottle of wine or fruit. The layout of the room and the hotel was quirky but fun. The front desk staff was helpful but stretched thin while we were there. A fine place to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago60604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#24 of 31 in Ljubljana
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing