We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy small hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
VA Beach
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Classy small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

One of the great hotels of the world group. Located in the old town very convenient to food and attractions. Staff very accommodating. Had no car so we didn't encounter some of the parking issues mentioned . Had a room not a suite that was large, I would call decor Victorian, bath modern. Very nice breakfast buffet in an equally nice setting. Price seemed fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alphotodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    123
    36
    25
    13
See reviews for
77
177
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I have visited antiq palace with my family. The hotel was 300 years old. The service was so good. It was a nice room comfortable room. I will recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ljubljana. A star.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Loay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We so enjoyed our visit to this hotel. It is the most charming hotel that we visited in Europe. It is in an old mansion. The rooms are enormous. We booked a family suite. It was so huge. It was like staying in a large 2 bedroom apartment. It had a full kitchen, a piano, and a large living room with 2 bedrooms. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The staff was so helpful. We loved this hotel so much that we stayed there again on our return trip to Ljubljana before flying out the country.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different family suites. Both were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sindyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

First of all, there are two Antiq hotels in Ljubljana...don't get them confused! The Antiq Palace Hotel and Spa is definitely the nicer of the two.
Our family of four stayed in a two bedroom suite for a single night in August, and were blown away by the enormity of the suite. We were on the top floor, and our suite had several gleaming beams of wood, as well as skylights galore. The suite included two large and well-proportioned bedrooms (with the best bed I have EVER slept in, including my own...*sob*), a massive bathroom with walk-in shower, freestanding tub, fabulous toiletries and even a washing machine, a kitchenette, as well as a large sitting area with three leather couches and satellite TV. The free wifi was fast and stable.
The staff was friendly and helpful, both with our luggage and in providing maps and directions/suggestions for what to do with our single afternoon/evening in Ljubljana.
The hotel's location is excellent, close to all the sights, including shopping, the castle and the three bridges. There are many restaurants to choose from nearby, as well as several wine bars and cafes.
Breakfast the next morning was frankly adorable, set up buffet style in the courtyard of the hotel, everything served on silver platters. The baked goods were delicious, and the freshly squeezed orange juice a perfect way to start our day.
I understand that all of the rooms at Antiq are very different, but judging from the quality of the finishes in our suite, I am sure you cannot go wrong here. This hotel is unique, there is nothing cookie cutter, or standard about it. It is so charming!

One note of caution: Because the hotel incorporates several attached buildings, the hallways can be a bit of a challenge for anyone with mobility issues. Such guests may want to request a room on a lower floor, or near the elevator. Our particular room required some walking up stairs, as the elevator did not go all the way up to our floor. However, for us, this was actually a bit of a bonus - a touch of exercise in between all our holiday indulgences :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We ( 4 girls travelling together) stayed in a Suite of Rooms in August - we had a beautiful , very clean suite with two bedrooms a huge sitting area , kitchenette and table and chairs and huge bathroom ! All beautifully minimalist with gorgeous wooden beams and skylights to give it a bright airy feel !The Staff were very attentive and supplied anything we were missing - they even 'told us off' in a lovely way for coming down in person rather than phoning down as we were at the very top ;) it is a beautiful building with lots of character very convenient to anything you want to visit in Ljublijana ! Would highly recommend this and do think other negative reviewers are being a bit rude about it not being like a Palace ! For us it was one of the largest suite of rooms we'd stayed in and we've travelled a lot! We also had the building work right beside us but it didn't bother us and indeed we had other guests around us and were completely unaware of them ! Staff were friendly and knowledgable . If not eating in hotel ask for directions to the Maxi supermarket for huge selection of fresh bread , fresh fruit etc ! We were sorry to leave after a 2 night stay !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanyaTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great location, you can walk everywhere. The hotel staff is extremely helpful in offering to assist with restaurant recommendations, tours, bus timetables and places to see locally. I stayed in the Petit Room and just loved it--cozy and plenty of room. I will come back and stay here.

Room Tip: I personally think any room in this hotel would be great--you truly feel like you are in a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneLouiseH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel is in the old town which is closed to traffic. You have to call the hotel to send someone to open the barrier if you’re coming in by car. Took about 25 minutes for them to turn up – a slightly stressful start the visit, made worse by the temperature which was 40C when we arrived.

Check in was painless but the room was like a furnace. "No air conditioning?" "No. It is a very old building and we are not allowed". If you’re considering a Summer trip take a good look at the weather forecast.

We had suite 3. Full sized kitchen (which I wasn’t expecting), dining area and a decent sized bathroom and sitting room. Two good-sized double bedrooms. A lot of space, but the overall impression was of a rented apartment where the previous tenant had just moved out and the landlord had refurbished on the lowest possible budget. Cheap white plastic kitchen, bathroom and bedroom furniture. The sitting room had three pieces of not particularly nice repro furniture. The chandeliers looked cheap ugly. I don't know if the other rooms are different, but there is nothing remotely antique or palatial about # 3.

I suspect the "very old building” excuse is trotted out a lot here, where in reality it would be more accurate to say "the budget didn’t go that far". It's certainly a nice old apartment building but it’s not remotely luxurious and doesn’t feel like an hotel (which makes me wonder how SLH applies its yardstick). The staff (enthusiastic, polite, very young) did their best to help, but the attention to detail is poor – several bulbs had gone in the room, there was a bubble gum wrapper in the bed, no linen on the spare pillow, the towels looked old and grey, the bathroom furniture has been shoddily installed.

Not the hotel's fault, but there was construction work going on in the street which woke me at 06.15 on Sunday morning. It was the full team - jackhammer, backhoe, 6 or 7 men and a dump truck. They'd stopped work by midday, presumably because of the heat. If you see signs of work in the street when you check in, ask for a room at the back of the building.

Communal areas were finished to a higher spec than the room and contrary to other reviews I found the breakfast to be quite good.

At €440 a night it was poor value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Albula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We value your opinion greatly and will use your constructive remarks to further improve the level of our services.

In light of its premium and very central location, Antiq Palace is situated only a stone-throw away from the main tourist attractions of Ljubljana, which makes it convenient for our guests to explore the city. Unfortunately, in light of the recent changes made by the local municipality to the city centre traffic regime, the vehicle access to the Old Town centre is now strictly monitored and hence our concierge attends to each guest’s arrival in person. On the day of your arrival our Front of house team was experiencing a high volume of guest check-ins at the same time, which had delayed them in attending you at the access point to the pedestrian area. We apologies sincerely for the inconvenience caused by this delay as it is certainly not the level of standard and we are working hard on making sure that such incidents do not occur in the future.

In light of the EuroBasket tournament taking place in Ljubljana in September 2013, most of the Ljubljana Old Town areas were under construction during the busy summer months with the main aim to improve the local infrastructure for the visitors to come. Unfortunately some construction was taking place on the Novi Trg square, depicted in your review, located just a stone-throw away from the Antiq Palace and some of the street-facing suites, in spite of the soundproofing ,were subject to sporadic and yet increased noise levels from the works carried out outside. We are however pleased to inform you the maintenance faults you were highlighting were resolved promptly after and the Novi Trg square became a popular location for a number of cultural events in Ljubljana.

Due to the heat wave which hit Ljubljana this summer, we have been experiencing an unusually high temperature levels. For this matter we have ensured that at least 50% of the suites and rooms at the Antiq Palace have an in-built air-conditioning units (such as the higher floor suites) and for the historic suites as the one you were staying in, where once cannot make any “structural” changes to the original features, we have set-up fans and portable coolers. Until now the historic suites maintained pleasant and cool temperatures throughout the year in light of the authentic insulation capabilities which allow for the 0,8m walls to contain the warmth in the colder months and “breathe” and circulate cooler air in the summer months. Unfortunately, due to the rather extreme conditions were not entirely prepared for, some of our guests, who enjoy rooms where the cooler temperatures are maintained by the A/C unit, had experienced certain levels of discomfort which we have attempted to resolve in the best possible manner. We are now working on improving this technical matter in the rest of the suites to ensure that by next year all of our rooms and suites have a technical solution to maintenance of the pleasant temperatures.

We regret to hear that the increase noise level and the absence of the air-conditioning have had a negative effect on your stay and caused severe inconvenience. However, we sincerely hope that we will get an opportunity to turn your stay experience of the Antiq Palace around on your next visit to Ljubljana. Should such opportunity become available to us we kindly ask you to contact us at a time convenient for you to discuss the ways in which we can make your next stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#15 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#23 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing