We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Antiq Palace was the last stop on a two week tour throughout Italy, Croatia and Slovenia for myself and a couple friends. It was by far the best hotel we stayed at and they were all 4-5 star boutique hotels. The suites were incredibly spacious by any standards (European or American) and the staff gave us excellent recommendations on things to do and places to go. If you are looking for overly garnished rooms with decorations in every nook, this is not the place for you. The decor was minimal but the space more than made up for it. My friend and I both had a massage at the spa which we both thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast buffet is nothing special so we opted to eat out instead. The location of this hotel cannot be beat as it is minutes away from downtown. And the bed was so comfortable it was hard to get out of in the morning. I do not often write reviews and I am not writing a review for any of the other six hotels I stayed at during this trip but I felt compelled to write a review for this hotel due to the incredibly accommodating service we received during our trip and the abundance of space in the suite. I am looking forward to my next stay at the Antiq Palace.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Antiq palace hotel and spa was a very nice place to stay in Ljubljana. The location is excellent, in the old part of town and close to the quaint streets and cafes and restaurants that we like to experience. Our room had a nice feel about it and the staff and the whole hotel contributed to our feelings about our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I can't recall being as disappointed by a hotel as I was by the Antiq Palace, and have to assume that the standard of rooms there are variable to say the least, as our room, No.11 bore no resemblence to those depicted in the hotel's photo gallery.
We booked our Deluxe suite and paid for it 8 months in advance because of the basketball championships taking place in Ljubjana at the time of our visit, and for 413 Euros a night were expecting something just a bit special; what we got was a vast soul less room devoid of any decoration, furnished with a pseudo antique sofa and two chairs, a dining table with six chairs, a piano(uh!) and rows of empty shelves that looked like Ikea rejects. The only thing on the shelving was a television which didn't work for the duration of our stay, nothing else, not a book, ornament , magazine.....nothing. There was also a kitchenette but no cooking utensils whatsoever just the minimum cutlery and crockery for two people - what were the other 4 guests at our dining table supposed to use? There were two Large windows looking out on to the street but no curtains or blinds were supplied.
In contrast to the vastness of the living area, the bedroom was a small anti-chamber big enough for a double bed and two tiny bedside cabinets, no wardrobes just more open shelving! but the bathroom was the real shocker - those in the cheapest hotel chains are bigger and better equipped than this one, it was tiny, with just enough space for a basin, toilet and a semi-sunken small bath acessed by wooden steps that inevitably get wet and very slippery. There were no handles to help get in and out of the bath, nowhere to attach the shower, nowhere to hang the toilet roll and only lit by one small lamp on a collapsible arm with exposed wiring - 5-star accomodation - unbelievable!
There was also a second bedroom on a mezzanine floor accessed by an open stair case, coming down from there to use the bathroom during the night would be a major health hazard!
I really don't know what the owners of the hotel are trying to create here, it looks like they started with a grand plan, ran out of money and just lost interest.
Now for the positives..and there were a few, the location is brilliant ,within the pedestrian area of the city with easy access to all the places of interest, the young staff were helpful, understanding and apologetic, but the problems with our room were clearly outside of their control although it was obvious we were not the first to complain. The breakfast buffet was OK and the public rooms were also pleasant, but that is about it, although they did give us free airport transfers as compensation for the problems with the room. Our travelling companions stayed in room 10 which was similarly disappointing and had a pervading smell of drains in the bathroom for the duration of the stay.
I don't usually submit negative reviews but this was so disappointing, and such poor value for money I couldn't let it pass. I am left wondering what the criteria for joining the "Small Luxury Hotels of the World" group actually are.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 10 & 11 and ask for rooms that resemble those depicted on their web-site.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel over the summer and booked it on the strength of the reviews here on TA but were disappointed with our stay. Now that we have looked again at the reviews I see a lot of them are written by people with only 1 review, so wondering how accurate they are.
Anyway we were surprised by a number of things with this place. The staff were not polite to us at all and did not offer any help. The room we had was very small which was a real surprise when you read about all the big wonderful rooms here. Our room was so small we had to both get in the same side of the bed! The restoration of the hotel is quite poor, we have stayed in many places like this throughout Europe that are much better done. The breakfast was only cold and not included in the room rate. The wifi hardly worked. I could go on and on about the things that I didn't like but in summary would just say that there are some other options in this lovely city that are much better value and we would recommend staying elsewhere!

Room Tip: I don't know why we ended up with such a small room but ask for a big one!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmalaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to express your opinion on your recent stay at the Antiq Palace. Your opinion is of great value to us and will be used as a constructive feed back to further improve our level and quality of services.

We are sincerely sorry to hear about your experience and regret that we were unable to recognise your dissatisfaction at the time, which would have given us an opportunity to attend to your concerns. Please be kindly advised that Antiq Palace features a number of suites of
100 sqm+ as well as selection of smaller rooms, which one can consider of a similar size to standard room categories for other properties in Ljubljana (18-24 sqm). Please be advised that we constantly strive to improve our level of customer service and are very pleased with our kind and attentive team, which until now has never been a subject of a guest complaint. We are respectful of the fact that you are a frequent contributor to the TripAdvisor and your reviews are valued by other fellow travellers, however, it is a difficult task to evaluate other contributors simply by the frequency and amount of the reviews posted.

We would like to thank you for your constructive remarks, which will be taken into consideration and improved upon to ensure that the level of our services meets the expectations of all of our future guests. We are sincerely sorry that during your recent stay we were unable to make your experience more relaxing and enjoyable, however, we hope sincerely that such opportunity becomes available to us in the near future. Should you be planning on returning to Ljubljana in the future please do not hesitate to contact us at a time convenient for you to discuss the ways in which we can make your next stay in Ljubljana more pleasant and satisfactory.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I visited the Antiq Palace twice within two months and as a regular traveller I do not often return as I like to experience new hotels.
The reason I returned so quickly is because the Antiq Palace is an outstanding hotel in terms of staff, comfort and design.
The suites are practical yet indulgent and it has the feel of being in a private home while still having ambience and character.
The location is perfect and the envy of others of I met during the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel is a jewel. Great location in the old town, in a beautifully renovated palace or mansion. Staff is friendly. Service orientation seems a second nature to them.
Lovely lounge and outdoor seating area. I did not even have time to enjoy the spa as I had already such a great time enjoying the hotel!
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were in Ljubljana for professionnal reasons and the Antiq Palace made great efforts to make our stay perfect. They were very flexible and dedicated to our needs and that could not have been more practical for us.
In addition to that, the rooms are amzingly wide and luxurious, which is a really good point when you stay almost 20 nights as we did.
Location is the best you can imagine in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denioche0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,071 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#25 of 31 in Ljubljana
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Urban Hotel
Urban Hotel
#17 of 31 in Ljubljana
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mrak
Hotel Mrak
#18 of 31 in Ljubljana
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: £87 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing