We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What spa?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What spa?”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Went to Ljubljana for the first time ever and our expectations were high. Unfortunately the hotel wasn't what we were hoping for.

First of all the hotel is difficult to find. You can't drive straight there (it's pedestrian area) so somebody from the reception has to come to the gates and help you through. Ok, not that big of a deal yet.
We had a suite from the street side. The suite was spacious: two large bedrooms and a living room. There was also a kitchenette but we were told nobody uses them so the cabins were empty. The athmosphere in the room was kind of cold and weird -the furniture was in no way stylish but a mixture of different big "parts".

The room itself was not cold since there is no A/C. And that caused a bit of a problem since it was really warm but you couldn't open the windows at night because of the noice from the street. And there was plenty of it: people singing loud when coming from the bars, church bells every 15 (!) minutes and a recycle bin for glasses that was in active use. No good. You could hear everything from the street even when the windows were closed but of course it only really bothers at night.

The personnel was not professional. Nice but in no way capable for handling the service of a luxury hotel. For two days we tried to get us massage from the spasection without success. It seems that the spa personnel is hired from somewhere else and somehow impossible to contact. Spa was empty and we spent the whole weekend without any treatments. That was really annoying and the staff was hopeless. Pls, if you DON'T have spa possibilities then DON'T call yourself a spa.

Two little details more: 1) the wi-fi didn't work well in all the rooms 2) the so-called breakfast was handled by one person who was running around cleaning tables/filling trays/getting coffees so I suppose there just isn't enough staff.

We can't give more than two stars and we will definitely not go back there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    133
    41
    28
    15
See reviews for
83
195
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Firstly we stayed 6 nights and really liked the hotel but I can also understand some of the negative feedback of other reviewers. However I can only go on my own experience. We had room 11 which was perfect for us very clean and comfortable and very spacious with high ceilings. The furniture is plastic but it does the job. The bed was very comfortable, shower was very good. We faced on to the street but were not disturbed at all by noise although we heard the music school students when leaving and returning and a room in a different location in the hotel may be more disturbed by this noise. We didn't have breakfast as it was 12 euros each and there are plenty of cheaper options nearby. The staff are all young but friendly, although the reception could do with being more professionally set up, it is just a desk at the entrance. Although they were very efficient and booked our airport shuttle for us and recommended a very good restaurant. The location is excellent in the heart of the old town within walking distance of everything. We found the room temperature to be fine, there is no a/c but we had a fan which was switched on each day by staff when we were out and kept the room pleasantly cool. It is not a luxury hotel but it is a very good hotel in a very good location, if you are lucky with the room choice and are not disturbed by the music school.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ethrell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A different hotel in a beautiful old building in the old part of the city. Great staff, from the help we got when we arrived in the rain, from the young gentleman and the excellent young lady who checked us in. They know how to make you feel welcome. The room was huge and beautifully decorated in antique style. The included breakfast was amazing, fresh orange juice squeezed for you, or champagne! Lovely fresh fruit, hot food and pastries. Highly recommended for a feeling of welcoming hospitality and old style luxury

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location is wonderful as was the room in fact it was a 2 bedroom apartment with a small kitchen. The staff was especially nice. The hotel is right in the middle of the action of the "Old Town" area as well as very close to the University. Since this is a car restricted area you must make accommodations to be able to enter and depart but this is easily arranged with the hotel. The only draw back was that the room we had was located right on the street and the music from the nearby/adjacent music department of the University lasted into the early morning hours. I would strongly suggest request a room at the rear of the hotel.Breakfast service was rather slow. We took the recommendations of the hotel regarding the local lunch and dinner restaurants and were pleased with their suggestions.

Room Tip: Ask and/or reserve a room located at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorF409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Please be kindly advised that none of your remarks were taken lightly and will only be used to further improve our services. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay even more pleasant and relaxing.

Yours sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

First of all you cannot drive immediately to the hotel. You get as close as you can by car, map, GPS and asking various locals for help. Then having left the car or taxi four blocks from the hotel you ask a bunch more people for help before arriving at the hotel. A staff person then walks back to help bring your car to the hotel, unloads the bags and parks it somewhere for Euros 30 per day.
The hotel is a funky restoration (barely) of an old mansion. The rooms look like they were apartments at one time. Our suite is quite large, with painted, undue orated, sheet rock walls and IKEA Formica wall units and kitchen, the furniture is a strange combination of baroque and modern a bit tattered and worn. The tub is pulling away from the walls, the shower has no surround, toilet paper sits on the toilet bowl brush. Despite the size of the living room, the bed and bathroom are tiny. There is no A/C in the hotel. The location is excellent, in the heart of the pedestrian old town center. As some other reviewers mentioned the music school can be entertaining but sometimes one wonders how students were selected. Hotel service is somewhat spotty and unprofessional.
Having said all this we are enjoying our stay and appreciate the location of the hotel which is in the center of restaurants and all the old city sights.
We booked through Small Luxury Hotels and can unreservedly say this is NOT a luxury hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile


Conveniently located in the city center, in the pedestrian area where all the bars and restaurants are.
The hotel is a old building nicely remodeled.
We had a room facing the inner garden, so we had no noise from the street and were able to sleep. Alongside runs a music academy and during the day you el listen to students to practicing with their instruments, but at night there is no noise.
We had the drawback being cold in the room, even though we asked at reception to activate the heating and we were told they were going to do it, but it was not, and the room temperature was always low.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pelde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntiqPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your time taken to review your experience of the Antiq Palace. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us and maybe will return for second adventure in Ljubljana. We are terribly sorry for some your experience with heating system and understand that one cannot change the experiences in the past, however, would be truly delighted for an opportunity to showcase you the unique historic interiors Antiq Palace offers. Should you be planning a return visit to Ljubljana please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss the ways we can make your next stay, pleasant, relaxing and so it meet your expectations of service.

Yousr sincerely,
Antiq Palace Hotel & SPA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The Antiq Palace Hotel occupies a building that contains a music school where students - some rank beginners - practice from early morning to beyond 9 PM. We are not talking about soothing melodies or Mozart sonatas here. These are students who are performing repetitive exercises - some completely off pitch - and holding notes long enough to provoke a headache!

The portable shower units are skimpy and below standard for a hotel of this price.

The breakfast was ghastly with service to match.

The air conditioning (if it exists) was off during our visit. Instead we had the constant drone of fans and the company of bugs entering from the open windows.

Not the best choice in Ljubljana.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet1142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#12 of 31 in Ljubljana
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#24 of 31 in Ljubljana
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Urban Hotel
Urban Hotel
#17 of 31 in Ljubljana
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mrak
Hotel Mrak
#18 of 31 in Ljubljana
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa

Property: Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa
Address: Gosposka ulica 10, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa, a member of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World, is one of the most recent and equally most unique additions to Ljubljana's accommodation offering. This 16th century former noble residence enjoys the premium location in the heart of Ljubljana's historic town centre and is the ideal choice for families as well as business and leisure guests looking for a unique and relaxing experience. Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa boosts 19 suites and residential apartments, 3 unique conference & banqueting suites, executive business centre, luxury day spa, leisure facilities, two bars and courtyards as well as several relaxation areas by the open fire - all in the heart of the historic town centre and just a stone-throw away from the business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Antiq Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antiq Palace Hotel And Spa
Antiq Palace Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing