We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel in Ljubljana!”
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cubo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in Ljubljana!”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Absolutely one of the best hotels I've stayed at in the last 5 years. Fantastic location and attentive service. I would stay here again and definitely recommend this to anyone traveling to this beautiful city. The breakfast is great and the staff wonderful. The only negative for the trip (for me) was the gym was closed during my visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay-BKKJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    163
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
112
532
70
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2012

very nice and modern hotel. very close to city center.only rooms are facing main road so little noisy . but staff is excellent. Barbara at the restaurant was very nice and smiling and ready to help at all time. the breakfast spread was done very nicely.the room are very well decorated.there is place near Ljubljana called bled lake everyone should visit.it was amazing place. and if you have time you should do sky diving and summer slide. and also take swimming costume and swim in the lake.in Ljubljana you must eat at dok 19, you get lot of vegetarian food, cacao place for dessert, also there are other pizzeria places. Indian restauarant is there nameste. good food but very expensive and the owner is bit loud,but we had great time in solvenia.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaid97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

El Cubo is a rare find. In a city full of history it outstands as a modern, yet perfectly integrated, boutique hotel. Ljubljana is a wonderful city which can be walked around. It is great to come back, after a long day, to a modern and comfortable room. We also tried the restaurant, excellent and at an accssesible price and the breakfast (included in the room rate)

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and still very sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaby64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Well the hotel was exactly as described...the staff were there to serve! From the Manager down we were so well looked after that we felt we were the only guests there..but the hotel was fully occupied.Dined at the restaurant which was superb,daily inclusive breakfast was classic and high quality offerings.The complimentary minibar was the highlight for my husband and 24yr old daughter haha!Slovenians are indeed generous and hospital.We were chauffeured in a BMW to the airport.CUBO Hotel we will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Throughout our many years of traveling, staying at some wonderful hotels, the CUBO now heads the list for the most gracious, accommodating service. . The staff, superbly managed by Sandi Kovacevic, anticipated services for things we didn't realize we needed, i.e, taking the time to print out specific Mapquest directions for our side trip to Lake Bled, and again when we were leaving town for our next destination.The mini-bar choices were ample, free of charge and replenished daily. The decor is contemporary, comfortable elegance. The breakfast buffet is sumptuous, with additional made to order choices, served promptly and with a smile. Location is close enough to the center of town to easily access the sights without having the noise and crowds to disrupt the hip vibe of the CUBO. We wish there could be a CUBO, with Sandi and staff in every city we visit!

Room Tip: Rooms are well insulated; even with ours adjacent to the elevator we heard to no noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belmonte5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our six nights at the CUBO Hotel were not long enough. We left with great regret. The accomodations are modern and sophisticated. Location is close to the old city. The staff is superb at the desk and at the restaurant, where the food, especially breakfast, is quite good. Very friendly, the staff seemed pleased to respond to all needs whether getting a suitcase fixed or mailing a parcel. When our departing flight required our leaving the hotel at 6:00 a.m., they seemed more concerned about our missing breakfast at the restaurant that had not yet opened than we were, and prepared an excellent picnic basket for us to take. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceStave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Hotel Cubo is not exactly in the old city, but it is just a few minutes walk from the old city. It is a very nice hotel, with a very helpful staff. We found the coloration of the hotel soothing and congenial and particularly liked the design of the bathroom in our room, a cube of glass that could be closed off for privacy, if necessary, This very well-designed hotel goes out of their way with their breakfast which is very asthetically arranged. One design change we would suggest is to get rid of the heavy curtains in the rooms, as they are out of sync with the rest of the design. The bar also, which is in the lobby, is not well-situated. We enjoyed our stay here. Within ten minutes, you can walk to all the restaurants and cafes on the river, the happening part of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUSANERIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Property: Hotel Cubo
Address: Slovenska cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cubo is located in the centre of Slovenian capital Ljubljana, right opposite to the traffic free historical centre, within walking distance from the most important sightseeing sites and the shopping streets with lots of bars, night clubs and restaurants. It offers 26 modern rooms (2 Junior suites, 14 double rooms with one king bed, 7 twin rooms, 3 single rooms. All rooms are luminous and decorated with particularly good taste in a warm contemporary style using only the highest quality materials and amnesties, such as prestigious bed linen by Rivola Carmignani and The White Company bathroom amenities. All rooms have double glazing, carpet, telephone (10 minutes free calls within EU) TV, air conditioning, heating, free safe, WiFi , minibar. Bathrooms have showers or bath tubs, hairdryers, bathrobes and slippers. In addition, it also offer conference facilities - 3 meeting rooms with minimalistic design, strategically placed lighting and latest audio-visual equipment. Impressive residence of a hotel was build around 1830 for the family of attorney and rebuilt in 1930's in the for that period popular middle European cubist Art Deco style. During its history it was home to a ballet school, a publishing company, an education centre for first aid, driving school and most recently a famous milk cafe 'Miška'. After thorough renovation the refurbished building opened its doors again in 2011 as a design hotel, using only best quality materials and with a wink to the cubism of elder times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing