We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small boutique hotel worth trying” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cubo
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small boutique hotel worth trying”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Location is a short walk from old city. We had a third floor room with view of the castle. If you are looking for old world charm, this is not the place for you. But if you like NYC ultra-contemporary chic you will love this. A small luxury boutique hotel with very contemporary feel awaits ou here. Breakfast was good. Overall Service was good. We will stay here again if we visit Ljubljana again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    160
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
105
517
68
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We are a travel agency specialized in selling packages in Slovenia, Croatia and neighboring countries. ll our clients are very precious to us and our strength is focused on their maximal satisfaction. So, in April this year we received request for a 22 days tour (for a group of 27 persons) around Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, Albania, Macedonia and Bulgaria. The client wanted the best hotels and insisted on hotel CUBO in Ljubljana (because it was ranked on 1st place on TripAdvisor). We contacted hotel immediately and booked and confirmed the rooms for the group. 10 days ago we sent hotel staff the Rooming list and were terrified with their answer: "We are so sorry to inform you that the virus "ate" our reservation system and we do not have anymore the rooms for your group. We sold them. So, we are willing to transfer your group to some other hotel." ????????????????? When somebody cares for his clients, knows very well that there is no any appropriated alternative to hotel which is on the 1st place of TripAdvisor..... And, it is a shame that such staff and managers work in tourism, a hospitality industry!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have no words to express my disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Maja J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matevz, Manager at Hotel Cubo, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
We admit - it was completely our fault. It was indeed due to malfunction in reservation software, but this can be no excuse. Ufortunately, since we are a small hotel with only 26 rooms, we could not accomodate all the guests from this grup whose reservations was lost. Even when we make mistakes, we try to learn from them. In this case, we upgraded our booking software, chaged our backup procedures and intrduced processes that should ensure that something like that will not happen again.
We apologise again to the guests who were disappointed. We will strive to remain the #1 ranked hotel in Ljubljana with a hope that next time they visit Ljubljana, we will be their choice again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

Walking in our room for the first time was a WOW! Large, contemporary, King Bed AND mini-bar that is free (first time for everything). Quiet room. Service staff is wonderful, friendly and very helpful, even providing driving maps for us and suggestions....Breakfest was the best so far (been to Italy prior) and they will make your eggs anyway you want. Everyone greets you when you walk in the hotel like long lost friends. AND get this, we asked for an iron, the staff indicated 'no problem' or we can iron it for you....Everything was magnificant. We had no expectations but were so pleasantly surprised, we don't want to leave! This hotel is one year old, very close, maybe 2 blocks from the Old Town which is perfect. If driving, very easy to get to...and parking provided. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sadiedog2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

service is great. hotel is very clean and comfortable. staff is amazing. highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed at Cubo over an extended weekend earlier this summer.

The room we had was very big; it almost felt like a flat with a nice bathroom, separate toilet, enough closet space, three windows and generally speaking a lot of space.

Amenities in the bathroom were of high quality and the daily refurbishment of the minibar with water, cola, juice, chocolate bars was a nice treat!

Staff was friendly and accommodating helping us with cars/taxis, and sights.

Location is fantastic next to the old town.

Breakfast was one of the best I have had with coffee you like being served to the table and omelettes/pancakes etc made according to your wishes.

All in all one of the best hotels I have ever been to and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank synnove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Everything you'll read in the other reviews is on the mark. Cubo is well situated with only a 5min walk to the restaurant and shopping areas.

The staff are friendly and professional. The rooms are massive, fitted out with classy decor, large flatscreen, complimentary mini bar, hi tech controls (air con, ip phones etc)

Breakfast is magic with a varied spread of bread, cereals, fruit, cheese and juice. Eggs and coffee are made to order.

I wish there was a hotel Cubo in every city!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevec81Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

We booked Hotel Cubo after seeing the reviews on Trip Adviser and had high expectations. Well, these were exceeded. The staff are amazing and the hotel just outstanding. One of best we have stayed in. Our stay was only two days but when we aqrrived we were upgraded to a Suite which was huge. The round bed was like a football field!
The manager recommended what we should do and a couple of things to avoid as well. His recommendations were spot on.
Can't recommend the Hotel Cubo too highly.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GraemeH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Property: Hotel Cubo
Address: Slovenska cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cubo is located in the centre of Slovenian capital Ljubljana, right opposite to the traffic free historical centre, within walking distance from the most important sightseeing sites and the shopping streets with lots of bars, night clubs and restaurants. It offers 26 modern rooms (2 Junior suites, 14 double rooms with one king bed, 7 twin rooms, 3 single rooms. All rooms are luminous and decorated with particularly good taste in a warm contemporary style using only the highest quality materials and amnesties, such as prestigious bed linen by Rivola Carmignani and Geneva guild bathroom amenities. All rooms have double glazing, carpet, telephone (10 minutes free calls within EU) TV, air conditioning, heating, free safe, WiFi , minibar. Bathrooms have showers or bath tubs, hairdryers, bathrobes and slippers. Impressive residence of a hotel was build around 1830 for the family of attorney and rebuilt in 1930's in the for that period popular middle European cubist Art Deco style. During its history it was home to a ballet school, a publishing company, an education centre for first aid, driving school and most recently a famous milk cafe 'Miška'. After thorough renovation the refurbished building opened its doors again in 2011 as a design hotel, using only best quality materials and with a wink to the cubism of elder times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing