We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cubo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel in February 2012. The hotel is incredibly small, but the amenities and service are comparable to big five star hotels. The room is well designed with excellent bed. I got a room with a view of the castle. It is a short walk to city center where you can stroll along the river walk and head up to the castle. Minibar and VOIP phone call is included in your rate so feel free to raid the minibar and make few calls home. Aside from excellent breakfast spread, the restaurant has great chef for dinner. I was told that Cubo is well known by the local as top restaurant than as a hotel. You can't go wrong with Hotel Cubo when you are in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atan48842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    837
    165
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
117
545
70
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband and I loved the modern design of the hotel, not only the look but also the quality of the fittings, lovely bathroom, great bed and air conditioning that works! The room was also very clean.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast is delicious with lots of choice.
The location is perfect for visiting the old town and there is parking from the hotel nearby.
Will definitely stay here again when in Ljubljana!!
M. Grant

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MISG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel was incredible! The rooms were beautifully designed and so comfortable. We had a view of the castle. The staff helped us with our daily plans, printing out directions and info about our stops. They gave us two stellar restaurant recommendations, Julija and Spatiza. I'm worried that no other hotel on the rest of our trip will live up to this one!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nodeposit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in hotel Cubo and visiting Ljubljana. Slightly corporate feel to the hotel as main trade is the business market but service was outstanding. Rooms are well equipped, clean and spacious although an armchair in the room would have been nice. Definitely happy to recommend to anyone visiting this wonderful city.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bamforp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Excellent hotel. Great location, great staff, great food. I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie030024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in July 2012. We had a roadside double overlooking the castle on the 3rd floor.The hotel is AMAZING. Every member of staff we encountered was so friendly and could not do enough to help. The rooms are spacious and beautifully fitted and the bed was very comfortable. The minibar is included in the price which we felt was a great touch. We asked to borrow an iron and the staff offered to iron the clothes for us. The hotel is located around 5 minutes walk from the heart of Ljubljana. The breakfast is fantastic and we would recommend eating in the restaurant which served easily the finest food we had eaten in a fortnight's stay in Slovenia. The hotel has only been open 9 months and the previous reviews of the hotel were spot on. We would definitely return and recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ljublana.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilko20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I stayed for 4 nights in July. Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this hotel and would absolutely stay here again. My rating is based on the following:

1) VERY friendly and super helpful staff
2) Comfortable room: Great A/C and shower! VERY comfortable bed
3) Great location - walking distance to the sites - good food nearby
4) Great TV options - I know I didn't come here for TV but it rained one day and it was nice to have more options than CNN.

When I walked into the room I was impressed. This is a boutique style hotel. Very modern design - chic maybe. The room was large and the bed was extremely comfortable. I had a street side, castle view room. As a result, I did hear some street noise, but it didn't affect me at night - if you are sensitive, ask for a rear facing room.

What really impressed me was the service. The staff were extremely helpful in every way. They helped me with a last minute car rental. They parked the car and gassed the tank for me. I left at 5:30am and they made a box lunch for me since I was too early for breakfast. Oh, the minibar was free!

Breakfast was fine. Made to order eggs/omelette. The also had "pancakes" which I would desribe as crepes. Usual bread, cerals, fruit and cold cuts. Drinkable yoghurt and juices. Included in rate.

Tip: The A/C is controlled at the front desk, not your room. Call down if you need it adjusted. It worked great.

Tip: The DaBuDa (asian) and Foculus (pizza) were both great and a block away

Tip: It's a bit far to walk from the train station. Doable if you have one roller or a backpack

Booking: I booked this room at BOOKING.COM and got a good rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,525 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Property: Hotel Cubo
Address: Slovenska cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cubo is located in the centre of Slovenian capital Ljubljana, right opposite to the traffic free historical centre, within walking distance from the most important sightseeing sites and the shopping streets with lots of bars, night clubs and restaurants. It offers 26 modern rooms (2 Junior suites, 14 double rooms with one king bed, 7 twin rooms, 3 single rooms. All rooms are luminous and decorated with particularly good taste in a warm contemporary style using only the highest quality materials and amnesties, such as prestigious bed linen by Rivola Carmignani and The White Company bathroom amenities. All rooms have double glazing, carpet, telephone (10 minutes free calls within EU) TV, air conditioning, heating, free safe, WiFi , minibar. Bathrooms have showers or bath tubs, hairdryers, bathrobes and slippers. In addition, it also offer conference facilities - 3 meeting rooms with minimalistic design, strategically placed lighting and latest audio-visual equipment. Impressive residence of a hotel was build around 1830 for the family of attorney and rebuilt in 1930's in the for that period popular middle European cubist Art Deco style. During its history it was home to a ballet school, a publishing company, an education centre for first aid, driving school and most recently a famous milk cafe 'Miška'. After thorough renovation the refurbished building opened its doors again in 2011 as a design hotel, using only best quality materials and with a wink to the cubism of elder times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing