We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done property.....solid location......”
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cubo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My wife stayed here for 1 night in May 2013 in room 106. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to others - as our stay was pleasant - and the friendliness of the staff was superb. As usual - the good, the ok, and the bad.

The Good
1. Room - reading some prior reviews, I specifically requested a "quiet room". We received room 106 which was on the back-side of the hotel. And fortunately it was quiet overall. The room itself was nice. The king bed was comfortable and well fitted with a king-size duvet. Nice large closet with safe, small working desk and windows both in room and shower and toilet rooms.

2. Hotel style. This hotel was well thought-out and offers a bit of design "funk." For example - in our room the shower was encased in glass and completely visible from the room. In our case it was great, but if you're with someone you don't want to see naked - this room may not be for you. ;) The building was renovated with a good eye....

3. Service. Top-notch all around from the check-in to the breakfast staff. Well trained and very much appreciated. At check-in the front desk gave us an envelope with insights and hints to Ljubljana. Very good idea - because at many properties these are only found in the hotel "info book" in the room. In this case, we could take the info with us. Thanks Hotel Cubo! The service at breakfast was also very nice. The room was quite busy and the staff handled it well - and looked after us with a smile.

4. Breakfast. Excellent all around. Nice mixture of cereals, fruits, breads, cold cuts, cheeses, etc. But also prepared-to-order food (I.e, eggs, meats, toast, etc.) I ate both and was absolutely satisfied. Drinks included everything to water, juices, coffees, etc.

5. Location. Solid in terms of about a 3-5 minute walk to the old town area and river.


There really isn't anything in The OK or The Bad. This was a solid property - but at a cost. Total price was 175 Euro's which is on the high end in my opinion. I would highly recommend a courtyard facing room as the hotel does sit on a busy street which would likely reverberate noise into the road-facing rooms (I'm not 100% certain).

Overall - excellent service, nice room, nice style, solid breakfast.

Thanks Hotel Cubo. Hope to see you again soon.

Jeremy

Room Tip: I requested "quiet" room and received one facing the small (non-descript) courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

692 - 698 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Fantastic trendy hotel with excellent staff. Well spoken english and very friendly. It is a beautiful hotel with nice rooms. Very clean, good beds and good shower. Breakfast is very good as well. Free minibar and free pay-tv. The locations of this hotel is very good, because it is close to the main street. Also very quit during the evenings. I haven't tried the restaurant, but locals told me this was the best in town. One of my favourite hotels in Europe!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kvelderen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Fantastic location, great service, nice and clean rooms with great design. A few steps from the hotel there are shopping streets, churches and historic buildings and on the other side of the river, the castle. Everything at your fingertips! I recommand you this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Very pleasant boutique hotel, excellent modern rooms, perfect sleep quality, and a perfect/friendly staff, all this at a reasonable price, what can you wish more..
The hotel is located at a rather dull corner of a street with some traffic, but if you cross this street (and walk 100 m to the left) you’re in the old town.
A very extensive breakfast with sense of detail is served at 1floor
One amazing feature: no charge at all for using the minibar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This hotel is a little on the pricy side but we only stayed over the weekend so wanted sth elegant and close to city center. Only 26 rooms at this hotel; not a lot of confusion. From our room we could see the castle on hill top. Room was spacious with a big bathroom, toilet detached. Toiletries were a nice touch: l'Occitane; great smell! Everything was very clean and the bed absolutely comfortable. Free WLAN in the room and free minibar!
Bathrobe and slippers are provided but no pool or sauna, which I think is a minus for a hotel of that caliber.
Good selection at breakfast with everything you could want. Eggs and bacon etc are cooked on demand. Nice selection of breads!
Staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Lobby and bar area are quite small and don't invite you to stay and have a drink.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We chose this hotel, based on the comments of others. It is wonderful. Staff are all friendly and helpful, particularly Liza K in reception. The rooms are superb and spacious with every modern feature. The restaurant food is great and very reasonably priced. Cubo surpasses every five star hotel we have stayed in: it really is a magical experience. We stayed three days and would like it to have been thirty days. There are only 26 rooms, so it is probably a good idea to book well in advance

Room Tip: All rooms are fine, though you may notice traffic noise from the main road, Slovenske Cesta, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisKenyon136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

If three star - this is the best I have ever been to!

Don't let the small and minimalistic lobby to bother, all the rest is good:
+ big rooms, nice decor
+ great bathroom
+ free minibar
+ great location
+ excellent breakfast
+ helpful staff, they know the city
+ fantastic service with car and luggage upon arrival and leaving

- not too much common areas or services, but it didnt bother at all

+++ Fantastic restaurant, had a tasting menu there with wine pairs. Price for 4 courses: 39€ + 13€ for wines -> absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mokoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,852 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
295 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort - a Member of Design Hotels
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Ljubljana
InterContinental Ljubljana
#18 of 31 in Ljubljana
80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Address: Slovenska cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range: £93 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cubo is located in the centre of Slovenian capital Ljubljana, right opposite to the traffic free historical centre, within walking distance from the most important sightseeing sites and the shopping streets with lots of restaurants. It offers 26 modern rooms (2 Junior suites, 14 double rooms with one king bed, 7 twin rooms, 3 single rooms). All rooms are luminous and decorated with particularly good taste in a warm contemporary style using only the highest quality materials and amnesties, such as prestigious bed linen by Rivola Carmignani and The White Company bathroom amenities. All rooms have double glazing, carpet, telephone (10 minutes free calls within EU) TV, air conditioning, heating, free safe, WiFi , minibar. Bathrooms have showers or bath tubs, hairdryers, bathrobes and slippers. In addition, it also offer conference facilities - 3 meeting rooms. After thorough renovation the refurbished building opened its doors again in 2011 as a design hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing