We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with super friendly staff”
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cubo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great hotel with super friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Good points: Lovely, large, well decorated room with such a comfy bed that I wanted to take it home with me! Free wi-fi, free mini bar. Large modern bathroom with back lit make-up mirror. Delicious breakfast – particularly liked all the healthy options including the fresh fruit and bio carrot juice. Hotel is close to the river and all the sights. Very friendly, efficient and helpful staff.

Other comments: Safe was complicated – even the hotel handy man could not figure out how to use it! No instructions available but handyman was friendly and did everything he could to help us – my husband did figure it out in the end. Restaurant was closed on Saturday night, which was odd – in fact we found quite a few of the city restaurants were closed that night.

I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmfcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    166
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
117
547
70
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed two nights at the Cubo recently. We booked a two room package where you get a big room with a little adjoining room. This suited us well and would be ideal with a family with two teenagers/younger children. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and gave us plenty of tips on where to eat and where to go on the other stops on our visit to Slovenia. The breakfast was one of the best that we had (we stayed at 4 hotels in total in Slovenia), it is very fresh with quick friendly service.

Downsides, the safe is possibly missing a final instruction on how to actually get it to lock. Even the man responsible for the safe was unable to figure it out and thought it was faulty- he ended up bringing 2 more safes before we realised how to work it.

The lighting in the room is slightly complicated and there is a little light that blinks on the fire alarm which flashes in the darkness. Depending on the room this is not an issue as it can be obscured but it was a problem in our room and did keep me awake.

The single beds are small singles and quiet narrow. Not a big issue but worth noting for bigger people/adults.

The restaurant is closed on Saturday night which we found quite strange but this seems normal for this part of town.

Overall a good experience, on the more expensive side but good value given the majority of room sizes, complimentary mini bar etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrosbyFieldsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at Hotel Cubo for two nights earlier this week and couldn't be happier with my choice. The hotel is intimate, the location is perfect (a short walk to the center of Ljubljana and all of the attractions), and the room was very comfortable. But, what really stood out was the service. Two experiences make the case. First, I made the rookie mistake of arriving at Ljubljana airport early on a Sunday morning without enough cash to pay for a cab. The airport has two ATMs -- one was out of service, and the other wasn't accepting my U.S. ATM card. The cab driver told me he could take a credit card, but when we got to the hotel, he couldn't get his machine to work. The front desk agent at the hotel walked out to the cab and arranged payment. Second, at departure I decided to walk to the train station. As I walked out the front door of the hotel, the concierge came out after me to give me a cold bottle of water since he noticed it was warm outside.

I enthusiastically recommend Hotel Cubo!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

As always, TA reviewers were right. Hotel CUBO is an excellent hotel with exemplary service. From checking in (concierge accommodated two rooms adjacent, gave an excellent orientation to city, attractions, restaurants, parked our car, and home made iced tea since it was 39*C) to the clean, modern rooms, fresh and well prepared breakfast, there are nothing to complain about. All the staff are extremely helpful and genuinely want to assist in any way. This has been one of the best hotel experiences that we've had in any country. The restaurant in CUBO is also very good. Little extras like complimentary mini bar, and 10min free phone calls to any EU country is also helpful. If you can, stay here when you are in Ljiubljana.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask for the parking lot facing room, though you won't have any views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toronegro63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Recommended by a local friend, we were blown away by this hotel. The décor was very modern elegant - similar to a W hotel but better - and the location was right in the heart of the old town. They also had parking! Our room was large, with a very comfortable bed - floor to ceiling windows with electric shutters - and a free (!) minibar. The included breakfast was excellent and the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Too bad they can't close this hotel and its service throughout the world. It really is a treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wrldtvlr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

What a nice change! Very cool design everything very modern and elegant chic and beautiful details everywhere you look! The room is so comfortable and well equipped, huge beautiful all glass shower sits near the window and toilet is separate. The beds are amazing, best sleep so far in Slovenia! We love this place and the best breakfast fresh beet, carrot and more juices, made to order pancakes and omelette oh my! Love this place, worth the money damnit! We have to keep telling ourselves, we only live once!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmmmkkkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a short stay during our first visit to Slovenia, and chose the Cubo based on TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel is centrally located a short walk from the old town. Hotel staff were on hand to help us with parking, which was available just outside the hotel. The hotel itself is a boutique property in a recently-updated Deco building, with sleek, comfortable rooms. Bathrooms are quite large, with ultra-modern fixtures. Don't go to the Cubo if you want traditional "Mitteleuropa" kitsch - the decor is streamlined and monochrome, but still comfortable and inviting. The in-house breakfast was copious and well-prepared, with plenty of options in the bright and spacious dining room. We were most impressed with the staff, however, as everyone was friendly and attentive without being obsequious. The staff also offered excellent suggestions for restaurants in the old town. Overall, we had a faultless stay, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShiMoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,530 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
240 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Property: Hotel Cubo
Address: Slovenska cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cubo is located in the centre of Slovenian capital Ljubljana, right opposite to the traffic free historical centre, within walking distance from the most important sightseeing sites and the shopping streets with lots of bars, night clubs and restaurants. It offers 26 modern rooms (2 Junior suites, 14 double rooms with one king bed, 7 twin rooms, 3 single rooms. All rooms are luminous and decorated with particularly good taste in a warm contemporary style using only the highest quality materials and amnesties, such as prestigious bed linen by Rivola Carmignani and The White Company bathroom amenities. All rooms have double glazing, carpet, telephone (10 minutes free calls within EU) TV, air conditioning, heating, free safe, WiFi , minibar. Bathrooms have showers or bath tubs, hairdryers, bathrobes and slippers. In addition, it also offer conference facilities - 3 meeting rooms with minimalistic design, strategically placed lighting and latest audio-visual equipment. Impressive residence of a hotel was build around 1830 for the family of attorney and rebuilt in 1930's in the for that period popular middle European cubist Art Deco style. During its history it was home to a ballet school, a publishing company, an education centre for first aid, driving school and most recently a famous milk cafe 'Miška'. After thorough renovation the refurbished building opened its doors again in 2011 as a design hotel, using only best quality materials and with a wink to the cubism of elder times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing