We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique Hotel near old town”
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cubo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel near old town”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Excellent welcome, friendly staff, very comfortable clean and modern rooms. Bathrooms pristine with l'Occitane toiletries. Stylish decor. Excellent breakfast.
There is a tiny bar on the ground floor but not inviting as there was no one imbibing on either of the two nights we stayed but not really a problem as there are lots of bars nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_dogDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    163
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
111
532
70
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
309 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Modern, contemporary hotel along a street with cars (not in pedestrian old town). This type of style is not my general preference aesthetically, but the welcome was friendly, and the location is also convenient for walking over to the old town, just about a block away across the river. It’s a smallish hotel. Stayed two nights. My room was large with a high ceiling – as attractive and appealing as contemporary can be. It’s always a treat when L’Occitaine toiletries are provided! Large, posh bathroom as well. My view was out onto the street toward the old town & castle on the hill. The traffic outside starts to pick up in the morning & may become a bit of a noise just driving past, so you may want earplugs if you’d like to sleep in. (Was no problem during the night.) The large bed was THE MOST comfortable of my 23-day trip, with smooth, nice sheets - downy bliss. Breakfast was good – nothing over the top, but a plentiful variety of options.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WItravelingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Cubo is the design/trendy hotel of Ljubljana, centrally located, although the immediate surroundings are not the most picturesque (but almost everything is within walking distance).
The pleasant surprise is that you find all the positives of a modern hotel (spacious well-design rooms, modern bathrooms, free wi-fi ...) without the downsides. One simple example being that staff don't feel obliged to act aloof just because their looks are above average. They are actually very friendly, efficient and helpful, with good linguistic skills. Superior rooms are really comfy with high ceilings, which is always a plus. All this at an excellent value - will definitely be back if in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 697 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Were staying in this Ljubljana property during our 4-day short visit the beautiful Slovenia's capital. The hotel is so fine, you can feel like at home. Spacious room, very nice comfortable bed. Love their location within walking distance from everywhere. Love Ljubljana and definitely want to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiavari
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We have stayed here during the holidays, the hotel is modern style but very nice and comfortable, the rooms are clean, big and cosy, shower area is transparent (and obviously completely separated from toilet) which in a couple that get along well is always a plus. The restaurant offers very good quality food and very good and welcoming staff, breakfast is served until 11 am and offers a good quality and quantity of choices. The positioning of the hotel is perfect to visit the city. Staff is always very kind and welcoming and always ready to help you. Overall the hotel is very good and I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: I suggest to ask for rooms with a view to the castle and not to the inner back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anacreonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for four nights - booked based on trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. Excellent location - about five minutes from the train station by taxi. Service excellent, smaller hotel which gives it a lovely boutique feel. Large rooms with shower and bath and all the five star qualities you get for less than what you would pay in big cities. Wifi is good, free mini bar which is a lovely touch and excellent breakfast with selection plus a hot option of eggs cooked anyway and bacon. The service is warm, helpful and efficient. Perfect place to base yourself if you come to explore incredible Slovenia. Those coming for hiking adventures will appreciate the lovely bathtub in the rooms at the end of the day! The room was spacious with good luggage and wardrobe space. It is a short walk from the centre of town. I would recommend this hotel for both business and leisure travellers.

During our stay we needed to scan and email some documents back to Australia and the staff at front desk were extremely helpful.

The gym was not up and running yet so can't comment but Tivoli park is behind the hotel and makes a lovely destination for a morning run or walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lids101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed for 3 nights with my family of 4. We were impressed by how modern and stylish the hotel was and loved the gratis mini-bar. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The cable TV had many English channels including HBO and sports which is exceptional amongst the hotels I encountered during 3 weeks in Europe. The staff were friendly and helpful. Location is very good -it only takes 5-10 minutes to walk to all the sights in Ljubljana. It's true that there is a empty lot opposite but I understand that a luxury condo is being built there so it shouldn't be a problem for long.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimSzeKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Property: Hotel Cubo
Address: Slovenska cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cubo is located in the centre of Slovenian capital Ljubljana, right opposite to the traffic free historical centre, within walking distance from the most important sightseeing sites and the shopping streets with lots of bars, night clubs and restaurants. It offers 26 modern rooms (2 Junior suites, 14 double rooms with one king bed, 7 twin rooms, 3 single rooms. All rooms are luminous and decorated with particularly good taste in a warm contemporary style using only the highest quality materials and amnesties, such as prestigious bed linen by Rivola Carmignani and The White Company bathroom amenities. All rooms have double glazing, carpet, telephone (10 minutes free calls within EU) TV, air conditioning, heating, free safe, WiFi , minibar. Bathrooms have showers or bath tubs, hairdryers, bathrobes and slippers. In addition, it also offer conference facilities - 3 meeting rooms with minimalistic design, strategically placed lighting and latest audio-visual equipment. Impressive residence of a hotel was build around 1830 for the family of attorney and rebuilt in 1930's in the for that period popular middle European cubist Art Deco style. During its history it was home to a ballet school, a publishing company, an education centre for first aid, driving school and most recently a famous milk cafe 'Miška'. After thorough renovation the refurbished building opened its doors again in 2011 as a design hotel, using only best quality materials and with a wink to the cubism of elder times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing