We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, pretty good location”
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cubo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
130 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great hotel, pretty good location”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a nice, modern, clean hotel. Service was great, breakfast was nice, everybody was pleasant. Location is a few minutes walk from the center, which is fine since the center itself isn't accessible by car anyway. The hotel staff were helpful and went above and beyond to help me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfiend_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    166
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
117
547
70
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel Cubo LJU
Arrived by taxi from Lju airport. Hotel Cubo is a boutique hotel not far from the center of Lju.
Booked a suite ( 203) the hotel has only 2 suites
The suite is very cozy,neutral colors in the walls,a very good bathroom with 2 sinks,separate shower and bathtub and separate toilet.
Round bed .
Robes and shower towels are fluffy
Air conditioning is a little bit noisy.
Good sound insolation .
From the suite 203 you can see the castle .
Breakfast is normal,what makes the diference is the waiter,Simona!
Besides being eficient,she always asks you how was your day,if you re enjoing the city,how are you feeling...

The bosnian lady that makes the room is also very kind,she unpacked and packed my suitcase and even refused the tip I offered her!

The general manager Mr Sandy is also very kind ,polite and attentive
They didn t charge 2 international calls I made! When I asked about buying a prepaid sim card,he said I didn t need it!
In a next stay,Hotel Cubo is the place

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Ljubljana. It is only 5 minutes walk to the triple bridge, the rooms are very clean and stylish and the staff are friendly. Although I stayed in a double suite facing the road, it was very quiet in the evenings. The hotel also has an excellent restaurant and serves a good breakfast with lots of variety. The room also has a mini bar that is complimentary and is re-stocked daily. The only complaint I have is that the shower head over the bath only had a small glass screen and therefore water easily ended up on the floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

On arrival, the reception area is minuscule and there is no lobby to speak of, but for hotel guests that is not what really matters. On the other hand we were made exceptionally welcome by Liza who also dealt with all our queries in a very professional manner. We had a room at the back of the hotel and enjoyed a fantastic night's sleep. The room was spacious and the bathroom very functional - however we could have done with an instruction booklet for the very design bathroom taps. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the old town centre. The breakfast offers a somewhat limited choice but is of a very high quality. We had no problem with this as it must be difficult for smaller hotels to offer the wide choice of food some customers may demand. The breakfast room on the first floor also serves an excellent luncheon menu.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brusselscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here three nights in May 2014. The location of the hotel is perfect near the river and great restaurants. The room was nicely decorated and points for the free minibar which is refilled every day. The breakfast was really great. The hot dishes are ordered from the a la carte menu. The service was quick and pleasant. Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel in beautiful Ljubljana. We had a rental car and the hotel has parking possibility which costs 10€/day. The staff will drive your car to the parking area behind the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at end of May 2014. Thought we had picked a design hotel but the reality was somewhat different. Shower leaked really badly so reported it to reception on 1st night. Leakage was cleared up and fresh floor towel provided. happened again on the 2nd night but this time it wasn't cleared and as a result the floor towel was still wet in the morning. Had to use hand towels to mop up the leaking water next morning which is something I do not expect to have to do in a top class hotel. Shower gel and shampoo not replenished which again is not something I have ever come across in a decent hotel. Restaurant not open in the evening and bar area has the look of being deserted as there was no sign of life there at all during our stay. Would not bother staying here again as there are other decent hotels that probably have a more customer orientated focus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickJN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matevz, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Cubo, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
It happens. Being a smaller hotel and fully booked all the time, it is sometimes difficult to be flexible. Normally, we would have immediately moved a guest that has a problem with the room to another one, but during this stay, all the rooms were full. The maintenance work required could not be done while the guests were staying in the room and all we could do is to try and make the situation bearable. On the second day obviously not satisfactory for which we are very sorry.
As for the toiletries, CUBO hotel strives to be eco friendly and sustainable. If there is still some shampoo or shower gel left in the bottles, we don't throw them away and replace with new ones. Of course, if the guest empties one after housekeeping visit, we are always happy to bring new ones at any time of the day on guest's request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Convenient location in old town area. This is a modern hotel built by people who know the business, so difficult to find a missing function in the rooms. Breakfast menu has good variety and tasty. Service is quick, but when the room is crowded you might have to wait briefly for the replenishment of finished items. On the negative side hotel doesn't really have a lounge to spend time when you are in the hotel, and from time to time modern technology could play games in the rooms. Also can't say that the general decor is appealing though this is matter of personal taste. Finally one must say that single rooms are on the smaller side and receive little daylight.

Room Tip: single rooms are on the smaller side and receives little daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomruk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,530 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
240 reviews
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Property: Hotel Cubo
Address: Slovenska cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cubo is located in the centre of Slovenian capital Ljubljana, right opposite to the traffic free historical centre, within walking distance from the most important sightseeing sites and the shopping streets with lots of bars, night clubs and restaurants. It offers 26 modern rooms (2 Junior suites, 14 double rooms with one king bed, 7 twin rooms, 3 single rooms. All rooms are luminous and decorated with particularly good taste in a warm contemporary style using only the highest quality materials and amnesties, such as prestigious bed linen by Rivola Carmignani and The White Company bathroom amenities. All rooms have double glazing, carpet, telephone (10 minutes free calls within EU) TV, air conditioning, heating, free safe, WiFi , minibar. Bathrooms have showers or bath tubs, hairdryers, bathrobes and slippers. In addition, it also offer conference facilities - 3 meeting rooms with minimalistic design, strategically placed lighting and latest audio-visual equipment. Impressive residence of a hotel was build around 1830 for the family of attorney and rebuilt in 1930's in the for that period popular middle European cubist Art Deco style. During its history it was home to a ballet school, a publishing company, an education centre for first aid, driving school and most recently a famous milk cafe 'Miška'. After thorough renovation the refurbished building opened its doors again in 2011 as a design hotel, using only best quality materials and with a wink to the cubism of elder times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing