We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Hotel Cubo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Cubo
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this small boutique hotel for one night
The room was beautiful and comfortable , front desk service was outstanding with giving information of where to go , what to see and where to eat , even arrange breakfast box " to go "
Since we left very early to the airport
If I am back in Ljubljana - this where I am staying !!!
Thank you keep up the good style and good service

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,069)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cubo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had a business trip to Ljubljana and Hotel Cubo was the booked hotel. Was not sue what to expect. I was incredibly happy with the hotel and staff. The hotel is very modern, new and in a great location. In addition to the hotel, the staff was outstanding. From check in to the breakfast and to check out, smiling and pleasant professional staff. Highly recommend this place to anyone going to Slovenia.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank dbuff3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cubo in June 2013. The hotel is excellent - very large, comfortable room. We appreciated the view of Ljubljana Castle from our window and the complimentary mini-bar. The breakfast is fantastic, a large variety of items available.

Being of Slovenian heritage, I really appreciated the detailed welcome letter that explained a lot about the city and country. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and accommodating. The bellman (I forget his name) went out of his way to make sure we had the proper directions to visit the village where my extended family lives when we were leaving. The location is great - it is only a few minutes walk from the old town. This will definitely be our hotel of choice when we return to Ljubljana.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CES_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent just one night here in mid-June. The hotel is small but very comfortably appointed and exceptionally clean. The service is a notch above. In particular, we appreciated the complimentary mini-bar and wi-fi. It's so refreshing to stay in a hotel and not be nickel-and-dimed for all of the extras. The location is convenient to the old town (5 minutes walk), but it is on a rather busy street. This wasn't a problem for us (no noise issues) but if you're looking to have the old town atmosphere right out the front door, then you might be disappointed. Our only real regret is that we were not able to stay longer to explore this enchanting city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rocky6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cubo as a family of 5 people, 2 grandparents in a double room and my husband and I in a large room with a separate bed for our child. We loved our stay in Ljubljana and would highly recommend the hotel.

The hotel is boutique sized, with just 3 floors of rooms. Our room faced the rear courtyard and was extremely quiet, which we loved. My parents' room faced the street side, with an amazing view of the castle, although they could hear a bit of traffic noise (not overly bothersome). Both rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. I haven't seen hotel bathrooms this clean in a very long time! Beds were comfortable, air conditioning worked well, WiFi was free and quick, the safe was large enough to hold 2 laptops, and the decor was very interesting (particularly the lights!). The bathroom was modern and had good toiletries, ample towels, and plenty of hot water. In the larger room, the toilet and shower were in separate rooms, which was nice. The hotel is environmentally conscious and doesn't change towels/sheets daily unless requested. We did request on one day, but otherwise were content to reuse as towels dried rapidly on the rack provided.

The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The front desk recognized guests and knew our details with amazing recall. And the staff in the breakfast room were also friendly and constantly available for coffee, omelets, etc. The hotel arranged taxis to pick us up from the train station (only a 5 min ride, but too far to walk with many suitcases) and also to drop us off at the airport, which took about 30 minutes to drive. We were impressed that the front desk had our keys ready for us when our taxi arrived, avoiding a long check in process.

Breakfast was of very high quality, with a buffet of cold items (cereal, bread, fruit, meat, juices, homemade jam), and hot items such as pancakes and omelets on order. We regretted leaving such a fabulous breakfast when we checked out!

The location of the hotel was very good, with a short and scenic stroll to the heart of downtown, and good restaurants within a 5 minute walk. We particularly enjoyed a restaurant called Julija which was recommended by the hotel front desk.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are very quiet, while rooms facing the front have a great castle view!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tangek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It is near to sight seeing spots which can be reached on foot. The breakfast is very good with various kind of fruits, eggs, grilled bacon etc. and the service is excellent. It is very appreciated that I got a room well before the check-in time after a long flight from Asia..

It is a bit expensive when you consider the standard of living in Slovenia. I choose this one because of ease of parking (finally free although it was marked at cost when I made the booking) and its proximity to tourist spot.

Room Tip: Any room as there was not much road traffic in the city.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canonLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Cubo is not the kind of hotel that will make you feel like you landed in a different world. it is modern, the staff is nice and breakfast is good. I loved the design, especially the lighting.
Do not miss out on the chance to have dinner there as the cooking is excellent.
Rooms are rather small.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andreea555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,681 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubo

Address: Slovenska cesta 15 | Slovenska Cesta 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range: £115 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Cubo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cubo is located in the centre of Slovenian capital Ljubljana, right opposite to the traffic free historical centre, within walking distance from the most important sightseeing sites and the shopping streets with lots of restaurants. It offers 26 modern rooms (2 Junior suites, 14 double rooms with one king bed, 7 twin rooms, 3 single rooms). All rooms are luminous and decorated with particularly good taste in a warm contemporary style using only the highest quality materials and amnesties, such as prestigious bed linen by Rivola Carmignani and The White Company bathroom amenities. All rooms have double glazing, carpet, telephone (10 minutes free calls within EU) TV, air conditioning, heating, free safe, WiFi , minibar. Bathrooms have showers or bath tubs, hairdryers, bathrobes and slippers. In addition, it also offer conference facilities - 3 meeting rooms. After thorough renovation the refurbished building opened its doors again in 2011 as a design hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Cubo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing