We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay to visit the city”
Review of Mescanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mescanka
Certificate of Excellence
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay to visit the city”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It is an apartment, with kitchen facilities, free, easy and fast wi-fi, TV. There is no cleaning service, so be careful if you stay for a long journey (they change the towels after 2 days). The location is wonderful, but no access to car (careful if you have many luggage), there is no 24h door service, but they explain exactly how to get there, and they wait for you if you check in out of regular time. From there it is possible to walk to the main places and restaurants. There is a stair to carry the luggage (careful again) , one or two floors. The bed linen is OK, the towels OK, but the bed is quite noisy when you sleep. There is heating and air conditioning. It is not a luxurious place but you feel like at home, you can prepare your breakfast or lunch, buying food close to the apartment.

Room Tip: I stayed in the biggest room, second floor, with a separate bed room, very ample and with view by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raferria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    44
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
108
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

An excellent if fairly small room, the only way they could improve it would be to paint it in lighter colours. It was very dark. It did have everything we needed and couldn't have had a better location. It was a 20 minute walk from the station, but once there we were in the heart of the old, pedestrianized, city. The internet was down on the public access pc for our whole stay, but these things happen.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joncullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Location is great, right at the center. 20 min walk to the station with luggage. We booked an apartment. It's on the top of the floor aka. the attic. My husband and i are not super tall. But we still have to bend a little sometimes, like going to the toilet. I think some of the photos here show our attic-like room. There is a well-equipped kitchen and a fridge which i appreciate a lot. Bed is okay. Onr strange thing is it comes with two very thick quilts. Those quilts are for unbearable winter nights, not an air-conditioned room. Overall it's a nice place.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ghostofjealousy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

These apartments could not be faulted. In a perfect position right in the old town, they represent excellent value for money. Information about location and parking was accurate and informative. It’s important to find the car park with the easiest access as dragging bags across cobblestones can be problematic. The apartments themselves are furnished and decorated in a smart and contemporary way, linen is excellent and they are extremely clean. The kitchen was well equipped and we could cook a complete meal. Wifi and airconditioning worked perfectly. There are seven apartments in the building from studio to 2 bedroom and from our observations they are all equally well furnished and decorated. There is one important fact to be aware of. We had booked a studio with a view onto the river. When we arrived we were given a one bedroom apartment at the rear of the building with no outlook and little natural light. Luckily we had a copy of our original booking and were able to show this to the extremely helpful young man. He contacted the manager who agreed to upgrade us at no extra cost to a larger apartment overlooking the river. The manager claimed that it was sometimes necessary to alter bookings and this was absolutely acceptable as long as the price was the same. She claimed it was explained in the ‘house rules’. This is not okay. A room or apartment with a view is infinitely better than one without, regardless of size. If you both a room with a view that’s what you book.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I recently stayed in Mescanka apartment Ludmila with two friends. We were very pleased with the location (in the middle of everything) as well as with the apartment itself - it was stylish, clean, very well equipped (from shower gel and hair dryer to full sets of different kitchenware). Would definitely stay here again! Wi-Fi worked flawlessly in our studio.

Please consider however that there is no lift and Ludmila is located on the top floor (quite a climb).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinlandElina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
683 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The room was great - great air conditioning, comfy bed, large room. Amazing location. The only negative was the internet was TERRIBLE. Great service as well and easy to get to............................................................

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mescanka, Manager at Mescanka, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
I'm really glad that you have enjoyed your stay and I apologise for the terrible wifi signal! We realised that someone unplugged one wifi receiver so one area of the house was not covered properly. We have already fixed that and put a sign asking the guests not to unplug it. The wifi is now working like it should. Sorry for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We loved staying in this apartment! The location is more than perfect! It is within walking distance to all Ljubljana attractions! A lot of nice restaurants nearby. The apartment was super clean and beautiful. The staff were super friendly and helpful too! I will stay here again for my next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daydreamjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 31 in Ljubljana
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mescanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mescanka

Property: Mescanka
Address: Kljuchavnicharska ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the river, beneath the castle and between the two central bridges of the city, Meščanka apartments (pronounced 'Meshchanka', meaning City Lady) offer you the perfect place to stay to discover Ljubljana. You can choose between rooms, studios or fully equipped flats, all with private bathroom. The clean and cosy premises were completely renovated in 2011 to blend a great mix of old refurbished furniture and modern interior design. Come and stay in Meščanka and you will feel why people fall in love with Ljubljana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mescanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing