We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious place in a glorious city”
Review of Mescanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mescanka
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Glorious place in a glorious city”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Mescanka is supremely located by the river near the centre of the old town. It is a very short walk to the best restaurants, the markets, a number of quality bars and pubs and most public transport services. The staff were always very helpful and responsive and seemed to genuinely care that we enjoyed our stay in their beautiful city. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Lili Room is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTim9435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    43
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
105
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our recent trip to ljubljana, had a great room overlooking the river
Service is great, friendly staff with good sense of humour. Location is perfect, right in the middle of the old town below the castle. Wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else if we return to ljubljana.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nz_phill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Mescanka is perfectly located in Ljubljana old town. The structure is very cozy and comfortable. My room, with double bed and bathroom, was nicely furnished, warm and very silent. Maybe only a little bit dark, but that was not really an issue. Staff are extremely cordial and helpful. Ideal place to roam around and enjoy Ljubljana.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a very good guest house suitable for a short stay. The room was large and comfortable, desk, a separate chair and a mini safe (not big enough for an iPad). Flat screen TV with lots of channels. It is set up with a fridge, some basic crockery and cutlery so you can self cater a bit. We stayed in the Minka room, standard, it was up 40 stairs. The bed was comfortable and firm but not much give in it (not a major issue, just my personal preference). The bathroom was good with a large modern shower with good shower head, towels weren't too soft. The location of the hotel is excellent being in the old town (in the car free area) alongside the river, very close to all the tourist sites, lots of cafés, wine bars etc. Staff at the hotel were extremely helpful, great directions were provided to enable us to find the hotel. The hotel is in the same building as the Corso cafe which provides a 10% discount to hotel guests. There is free wifi in the hotel with good reception, as well as a computer in the foyer that guests can use. LJBULJANA really is a magical place, well worth a visit and Meskanca a good choice. The town itself also has free wifi, but it seems to have a much weaker signal, ok for email and Facebook but much more difficult to access websites.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williams17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in an apartment with a double bed for one night and absolutely loved it. The room was large and nicely decorated. Both the kitchen and the bathroom were modern and appeared to have recently been remodeled. It was such a lovely and inviting room, we tried to extend our stay but it was not possible. Our room overlooked the river and the vibrant pedestrian street below. The location was great! The area is beautiful and there are many sights nearby. I am a light sleeper and was worried about the noise from the bars and cafes below but the double windows blocked the noise and I enjoyed a very restful night's sleep. The front desk was pleasant and helpful.

Keep in mind that the area around the hotel is a pedestrian area and there is no elevator, so you will need to carry your own bags.

I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends and family, especially for an extended stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieIllini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at Meščanka, the rooms are newly decorated and very clean. Our room overlooked the river and is in a great location only meters from the triple bridge at the base of the castle. The markets are open in the morning just by the bridge for you to get a coffee, strudel and some fresh fruit and veg. On the noise issue, well.. There is no issue, admittedly we stayed on the edge of low season but found it not loud. Being in the middle of a city you have to expect some level of noise.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Benfrommelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

A terrific location, 50m from the three bridges, these are super apartments. They are clean, comfortable, pleasant and well-appointed. First class in every respect. The staff are friendly on arrival, the beds are comfortable, there are plenty of towels.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank aim-to-travel-light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 31 in Ljubljana
824 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#12 of 31 in Ljubljana
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mescanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mescanka

Property: Mescanka
Address: Kljuchavnicharska ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the river, beneath the castle and between the two central bridges of the city, Meščanka apartments (pronounced 'Meshchanka', meaning City Lady) offer you the perfect place to stay to discover Ljubljana. You can choose between rooms, studios or fully equipped flats, all with private bathroom. The clean and cosy premises were completely renovated in 2011 to blend a great mix of old refurbished furniture and modern interior design. Come and stay in Meščanka and you will feel why people fall in love with Ljubljana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mescanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing