We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Mescanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mescanka
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Echo what others say, few if any complaints. The top floor studio was modern and unexpectedly impeccable, the beds great, the location fantastic. Exceedingly comfortable, which is tough to find on long trips through Europe - perhaps our best apartment on our latest 3 week tour. Completely lived up to what they post on their website.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakeberm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    43
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
105
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Excellent all round - great location, a friendly and helpful welcome from Petra and Ana (in person and by email beforehand), a really nice room for the price, and top-grade glazing to ensure peace and quiet despite the central location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
224 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A perfect location,below the castle in the heart of the old city, only minutes from a huge selection of good restaurants and bars, right on the river. 10 minutes walk from the train station/bus terminal and 5 from the taxi drop-off point. Surprisingly quiet at night and very peaceful during the day, due to the prohibition on cars in this part of the old city. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, that was extremely well equipped, sparklingly clean, bright and happy feeling and very good value. Mescanka has probably the most happy and helpful staff we have encountered in years of travelling around the world. An all round wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Apartment facing the narrow entrance lane may be quieter, but no views; studios at the front have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diggadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife, 20 month old daughter and I stayed at Mescanka for two nights in March. The staff was extremely friendly. They offered to lug our heavy suitcases up the stairs to our room, provided a lay of the land, and provided great recommendations for things to do in Ljubljana. One member of the staff, Tjasha, even watched my daughter for a few hours while my wife and I had dinner. She was extremely friendly and emailed us updates throughout the night. Thanks again Tjasha!

The room was clearly located in a very old building but had modern and comfortable amenities and decor. It was so nice to be able to cook small meals while traveling with a toddler. Also, the staff provided a highchair and crib in our room prior to our arrival.

The location of Mescanka could not be better. It is located in a quiet alley off of a busy pedestrian way. The three bridges are just a couple minutes walk.

I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Try the wine bar Movia across the street and take the free guided tour offered most mornings. The st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CML_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
488 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Communications are excellent, they provide a lot of information via email and arranged a transfer via taxi from the airport which was very good. (20E paid directly to driver)
Excellent location for the old town, the taxi drops you off at a major square, and then it is a 5 min walk to the apartment, over the river. There are bars/cafes underneath but they weren't too noisy, and stopped by 11pm.
When we arrived our room wasn't ready, because we were earlier than expected. We left our luggage and went for a wander around. There is a Spar shop and Maccy Ds, within 5 minutes walk, and you are just around the corner from the market and plenty of restaurants/bars.
Check in was easy. We were shown to our room which was the Minka apartment. This is up two flights of stairs but it wasn't a problem for us. The stairs are very pretty, with tiles and wooden treads. The apartment building was over heated and quite stifling in our room.
The room had a double bed, tea/coffee facilities, fridge, desk and 1 chair. The bathroom was roomy with a toilet and shower, with toiletries. All looked very clean, and the linen and towels were of good quality. (although one of our pillows had a small spot of dried blood on it which obviously doesn't come out in the laundry).
The reasons we didn't give this accommodation 4 out of 5 are:
1: Our room only had a dormer window, so it was quite dark and very warm. We did open the window, which increased the noise from outside but at times it felt quite overwhelming. There is air conditioning but we didn't have the handset, although I am sure, they would have provided this if we had asked.
2: Because of the nature of the building, old apartment block, we found there to be quite a bit of internal noise from other residents. (We did have an adjoining room to ours with an adjoining door which explains that a little).
3: Would have been nice to have another chair in the room.
4: Should provide a tea towel for wiping cutlery/cups etc.
Pros are location, value for money, communications.
Would recommend but if you are noise sensitive, there may be other options, which are better. Less than £50 per night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The staff welcomed us as if we were old friends coming for a visit. Everyone was helpful, professional and delightful. We immediately felt at home because they are such warm and hospitable.

The apartment itself is adorable, well decorated, spotless and comfortable. The location is perfect and wouldn't imagine staying anywhere else while in LJ.

Thank you ladies for making our trip so memorable! Highly recommended and hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: I would definitely go for the river view rooms if there's an option. We loved looking outside o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelineginRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Mescanka with my wife and was an incredible experience!!
The location is more than perfect, the personnel is more than nice and the rooms are more than beautiful...
I definitely recommend it.
And Natasha is the best receptionist that I met...!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mati L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,022 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vander Urbani Resort
Vander Urbani Resort
#12 of 31 in Ljubljana
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 31 in Ljubljana
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mescanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mescanka

Property: Mescanka
Address: Kljuchavnicharska ulica 4, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the river, beneath the castle and between the two central bridges of the city, Meščanka apartments (pronounced 'Meshchanka', meaning City Lady) offer you the perfect place to stay to discover Ljubljana. You can choose between rooms, studios or fully equipped flats, all with private bathroom. The clean and cosy premises were completely renovated in 2011 to blend a great mix of old refurbished furniture and modern interior design. Come and stay in Meščanka and you will feel why people fall in love with Ljubljana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mescanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing