We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alo Apartments `Vila Klara`
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had not planned to visit Ljubljana Slovenia but our local newspaper had a commentary and the same week we saw on the TV Rick Steeve's European commentary on Ljubljana. We figured why not try somewhere different. Our only concern was the Car rental companies had a cautionary on the type of vehicles we could drive into Eastern Europe. My husband found Vila Klara on one of the sites. We could not have been happier with the accommodations. It was a converted older three storey-ish residential dwelling with small apartments. The inside were very modern, new and immaculate. Andre had emailed us earlier to find out what time we would be arriving in order that he could meet us at the residence. It is located in a residential area with a high gated iron fence where you can safe and securely park your vehicles. We only stayed for two days and regret we did not stay longer, but unfortunately we had no idea how lovely Ljubjlana was. We only had time to venture into the older city. But we were aware there was a larger park where local artists showed off their paintings. The old city was within 15 minutes of nice safe walking along the water that meandered passed the old city. The first day when we walked along the river, there were people selling their antique wares. We ventured off into the old city that had numerous restaurants, pizzeria, bakeries etc etc etc. It is a university town and we happened to arrive the week the university faculties had their several of their display booths and a band. We walked and walked and ate at the Julyja restaurant for lunch, the Djor for dinner and The Romeo for dinner the next evening. We went up the funicular to the Grad or castle. Another quaint morning eatery was the Pupa Tortana, the bakery immediately kitty corner to the Vila Klara. They specialize in cakes but she will make you any thing you wish to eat. Her pastries and croissants are delicious. The quaint stores in the old village are amazing. I must have gone back to the chocolate store twice to purchase each time a bag of their hot sugared nuts. You must visit the university square area. There was a band playing in the afternoon in the pagoda. There was so much to see that we promised Andre we will definitely return with our friends. Thank you Andre and what a beautiful city you have.

Room Tip: Good price for a super clean apartment that comes complete with a full kitchen, ironing board etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvanoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at Vila Klara for two nights, when we first arrived in Slovenia, and couldn't have been happier. The owner, Andrej, was incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful - and finding the apartment from the centre was so easy that we did it on foot, whilst still carrying our not inconsiderable backpacks! Vila Klara is wonderfully quiet, well-equipped, and fantastically spacious - including a private balcony. And to get into central Ljubljana, it's a peaceful 10-minute walk, much of which is along either canals or the river. All in all, a great base from which to explore Slovenia's capital, and the perfect place from which to ease into Slovenian life. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

I highly recommend anyone to stay at Vila Klara for several reasons:

* Andrej, the owner, is the most hospitable host we met on our 2 week trip around Slovenia. He greeted us with lots of information on the area, maps and leaflets etc. He also gave us a bottle of wine, offered to take our laundry to the laundrette for us and spent some time helping us with our onward travel arrangements.

* the apartment is spotlessly clean and very well stocked. We had a large bedroom, a terrace, large kitchen with
dining table and chairs, as well as a well stocked bathroom.

* we loved the location. It's just a short walk into town. Enroute there are some great bars which, had we not stayed at Vila Klara we would not have found. These bars were not touristy which we preferred.

We hope to come back soon!

Thank- you Andrej!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSarahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Andeij proved a 11 point facility on a 10 point scale.

And he manages it with equal quality.

This is a tremendous facilty--clean, modern, spotless, wonderful value for the money.

And Andrej helps in ways beyond expectations--recommendations for dining, local points of interest, travel help to bus/train stations, use of local buses, etc.

This is a exemplary facility. I give it my highest rating.

John

Room Tip: Ask Andrej to tell you about his apartment labeled wine. John
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jomarians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Franco_ocnarF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Darx1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.8 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,714 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#27 of 31 in Ljubljana
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
501 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#12 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,022 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vila Veselova
Vila Veselova
#2 of 58 in Ljubljana
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alo Apartments `Vila Klara`? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alo Apartments `Vila Klara`

Address: Staretova ulica 25, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 93 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range: £51 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alo Apartments `Vila Klara` reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing