We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Ljubljana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Having stayed several times in Ljubljana, I can now say that this is the best hotel in Ljubljana. The rooms are new, in good condition, the staff is friendly, kind and helpful to guests and breakfast is also well laid out and staff are willing to do the extra bit to make guests comfortable. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Try to choose the rooms facing the city (odd numbered rooms) if you dont want the sunrise to disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

434 - 440 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Perhaps we just had a bad experience, but I've never had so many issues at a hotel after hundreds of hotel stays. It started off on a bad note with the room not being ready when promised (after we already left our luggage and came back two hours later), forcing us to wait another hour in the lobby. When we got to the room, we found the bathroom floor soaking wet (after asking, the maid quickly wiped it down). We then found the window had a huge crack in it about two feet long. After phoning reception they only offered us a room on the 2nd floor (we were on the 12th floor and had specifically requested a high floor). The air conditioning never seemed to cool the room enough--we were always hot despite setting it at 20 degrees Celsius and keeping the shades closed.
Breakfast was stressfull as it was a mad rush--it seemed they had a set amount of food and once it was gone, it was gone, meaning latecomers were out of luck. As noted in another review, there was a continued cracking/popping noise outside the window due to the metal expanding/contracting.

Food quality wasn't very good, though they did have several tasty pastries. On the second day, the maid didn't leave any toilet paper, meaning we had to call and ask for some. On the third day, the maid left no new shampoo/soap. After 2 phone calls, a visit to the reception, and over a 2 and a half hour wait, some was finally provided, thought it looked as if it was used--there was no seal. To top it off, on the morning of the last day, reception called not once, but twice (when we were trying to sleep) to verify we were staying another night (even though this was verified at check-in).
All of these are admittedly minor, but they added up to an unsatisfactory experience. The hotel's location is certainly away from the city. They overcome this by partnering with a taxi service for 5 euro rides to the city center...but if you don't have a cell phone to call for that particular taxi company, that doesn't do you any good for the return (particularly if you don't have European chip/pin style credit cards as that is all the pay phones take). An ordinary taxi ride from the center runs 20+ euro, or it is about a 90 minute walk. On the positive side, the free admission to the nearby indoor/outdoor water park was appreciated, and the bed was very comfortable.
All in all, if we had to do it again, we would definitely book elsewhere.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank cybertraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

It is always a pleasure to come back to Hotel PLAZA. Great envionment, nice interior, but most important a warm and friendly service in the whole hotel.
Staying here might be one of the best deals in this area.

Room Tip: Disadvantage: you cannot open any window in the complete hotel ..... (therefore only 4 points for Sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelKoeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel has the most wonderful beds, great room and a wonderful breakfast in the morning. Not to mention the taxi to the downtown for only 5 euros. This made this hotel a great find for getting to the downtown and back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilberttraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

really modern and nice hotel, but quite far from city center (15 mins by bus). we have enjoyed our stay as aquapark is included in the price for the room. Very close to biggest shopping center ini Slovenia

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank Tomas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The hotel is fairly new, very trendy and nicely decorated, rooms are large and bright. The staff at the front desk was very nice, friendly and very helpful. Our rooms were on a high floor so the views were amazing. We booked two rooms, a superior room for 2 adults and 2 children and one for 2 adults and 1 child and everything was ready upon our arrival, sofa bed made and we did not need to remind them about the extra bed for the child, which normally happens in many hotels. Even if the hotel is located in a modern part of the city and outside the downtown area, it was only a short drive and they do have agreements with taxi companies that can take guests downtown for an incredibly cheap price. Their buffet breakfast was very good. The only downside is that the staff who serve the breakfast were not very friendly. Also, the cleanliness in the room was good, I could tell sheets were clean, carpets vacuumed but the cleanliness in the bathroom was absolutely bad, in this case, I was very happy to carry some disinfecting wipes with me.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santiwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really good, a lot to choose. The beds were comfortable, we slept very good. The only thing that could have been better is that from our suite we heard noise (music) until late at night, probably from outside. But everything else were great. I would recommend it. And if we visit Ljubljana again we would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
2.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,852 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
297 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,512 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
3.8 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana

Address: Bratislavska cesta 8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia (Formerly Plaza Hotel Ljubljana)
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range: £79 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest, highest and most modern hotel in Ljubljana. Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana invites you to enjoy the luxury of 236 rooms and exclusive apartments with breathtaking views of Ljubljana and its surroundings. Hotel is located in shopping, entertainment and business district BTC City of Ljubljana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing