We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointed....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“dissapointed....”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

haven't stayin this hotel for a while but get very dissapointed.
the room are ok (was in deluxe room) but such noise and vibration in the room
I was in a room on the back side.
very noisy because of the A/C system on the roof of the next building and strange but a lot of vibration all over in the room
the staff is helpful but the garage is far from the hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregorLJU, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Dear valuable guest,

that you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Your review means a lot to us and is being very helpful in order to correct any deficiencies. Only by doing so, we can assure our guests a memorable stay in the future. My team and I strive every day to ensure comfort and satisfaction to our discerning guests, but i guess sometimes technical malfunctions can hardly be predicted. We assure you we will do our best to solve the problem with unusual AC noise in a deluxe room facing the courtyard. Such problems rarely occur and could be possibly solved even during guests stay, but of course had to be reported to the front desk before.
Nevertheless, we will check all AC units and repair where needed.
Thank you again for your help and hope we will not disappoint you on your next visit, if you decide to return. We are constantly improving our services and next time we can already surprise you with brand new leisure center (just recently opened) with state of the art Technogym fitness center and relaxing saunas with tropical showers as well as renovated guest corridors with beautiful new carpets, wallpaper, lightning... Also a brand new panorama/presidential suite is being build and should be finished by the end of the year and will offer most beautiful hotel room in Ljubljana!

Best regards!

Gregor Jamnik
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    762
    212
    42
    28
See reviews for
243
646
146
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The location is fantastic , but quite problematic to reach by rental car.
Breakfast also very good. Carpets on floor 3 needs definately an overhaul.
It was at some places really dirty and smelly.
Room was very comfortable and quiet.
Wiew from the room was to the backside and not nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristoferH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregorLJU, Manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Dear valuable guest,

thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Guests comments are very much appreciated because this way hotel management can get a clear picture of hotels weak and strong points in order to constantly improve its services for the benefit of higher satisfaction of all our guests.
The comment regarding old and stained carpet in hallways on the 3rd floor is correct and we are aware of this problem. With great pleasure i can inform you that hallways carpets are already being replaced with brand new, very thick and stylish, 100% New Zealand wool. What is more, all hallways in all floor are being completely renovated featuring new wallpaper, new lightning and mentioned contemporary carpets.
Our hotel can be reached easily by car as we have 10 parking lots in front of the entrance to ensure dropp-off area for guests coming and leaving with cars. To park the car, we offer attentive valet parking service where our doormen take your car to a public garage where we are renting the whole floor exclusively to our guests only. Car parking is secure and insured.
The view from the 3rd floor into inner courtyard is not the best one since city center location cannot provide all hotel rooms with beautiful views. Guests who expect such views can choose either economy rooms from 4th to 6th floor offering mountain views, comfort rooms on 5th and 6th floor facing inner courtyard offer beautiful views of the Ljubljana castle and suites offer balconies with spectacular views of the park Tivoli with Tivoli castle.
I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to host you when we shall provide you with best city views (please specify your wish upon booking in special requests field).

Kindest regards!

Gregor Jamnik
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This was a great easy-to-accept option for my time in Ljubljana. Not overpriced, made the best of its status as a chain to offer a friendly, great service without ever trying to force pointless additions on that were of no value to the visitor. Location is superb.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOREANDRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This hotel is very nice. Location is perfect, on the corner of walking zone, rooms are very nice, breakfast was good with lots of choices. When we first arrived we TV didn't work and we called reception (it was late at the evening) and they sent someone right away. You have everything in the room, even a scale to measure your weight.
My only objection: On television there are channels for free and also one you pay for. We asked twice reception about one channel and they told us it is free, and than on checkout we had to pay for the use. Also they told us that if it was payable it would cost us 12 euros, and in reality it was 1,5 EUR for 24 hours. I don't know if they were uninformed or just lying.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatjana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I stayed one night in this hotel in September 2011 and I find all the positive reviews absolutely justified. The staff of the hotel is extremely helpful and the hotel very well located, a few minutes away from the pedestrian area and the nice bridges of Ljubljana. My room was on the back of the hotel (very quiet and a nice view on the city and the Castle). On top of that, the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanou1hs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

A has-been hotel which is overpriced; excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryba08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Agree with all the favourable reviews. This hotel did not disappoint. Beds and bedding very good indeed. Excellent location for both the old town and the train station (and shopping). Restaurant not bad either, though it may lack the atmosphere of some of the riverside restaurants. Just one comment the hotel management may wish to address: while the Illy coffee made for you and delivered to your table with a friendly smile is delicious, getting a refill of this or the ordinary Cona stuff when your table is way down the other end of the room is not easy. We would have preferred to have a waiter/ress to wander round giving refills of Cona as necessary, which is common elsewhere in this class of hotel. It seems churlish to find fault here when everything else was so good, but for that very reason I am compelled to mention it. It was a pity such a small thing impacted on an otherwise faultless experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on Slovenske Cesta are liable to have the most traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mugeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,564 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
634 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Slon

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Address: Slovenska Cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Premier Hotel Slon - Elephant is situated in the very heart of Ljubljana city centre. It is only a few steps away from the old city core, Ljubljana castle and all the main city sights. This modern 4-star superior hotel has 170 comfortable and well-appointed rooms with all modern facilities and amenities. Superior deluxe rooms, Deluxe rooms and suites offer luxurious accommodation. The hotel's Spa & Fitness features a state of the art Fitness Center open 24/7, equipped with Technogym machines, providing all the latest cardiovascular and weight training facilities as well as relaxing saunas with tropical rain showers. There is a generous choice of 9 different Thai massage treatments at Hotels Thai massage & Spa to unwind, relax and escape the daily stress. There are extensive facilities for business functions; a versatile array of five conference halls provides accessible and flexible conferencing for up to 250 participants. In our versatile function halls and breakfast restaurant, we also host working breakfasts, business lunches and gala dinners, receptions, parties and beautiful a-la-carte weddings. The hotel is also famous for its excellent cuisine. In the attractive atmosphere of the Restaurant Slon 1552 overlooking the busy streets of Ljubljana, our guests will be served modern Slovene, Mediterranean and other international dishes, as well as a vast choice of top quality wines. For hotel guests, we provide valet parking in a nearby garage attended by our friendly staff. A preliminary reservation is required. Best Western Premier Hotel Slon is an institution in hospitality; celebrating 460 years of tradition, offering comfortable accommodation, multipurpose conferencing facilities combined with excellent cuisine at an elite location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ljubljana
Ljubljana Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing