We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Place to Stay for Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay for Comfort”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I have now been to this property on two occasions in 2013. It is located in an excellent part of town with the Old Town two blocks away. The rooms are clean and very functional, the breakfast buffet is one of the best I have encountered. The front desk staff are extremely helpful and while a bit pricey, this is the place I would want to stay again and again. Also, the train station is about a half mile away; a safe walk if you like. There is a wonderful pastry/coffee place right off the lobby on one side, and a bar and restaurant on the other side - all very good!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    728
    207
    41
    27
See reviews for
230
615
142
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Oh
Level Contributor
1,352 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Centrally located, a short walking distance from all restaurants and attractions. Excellent and knowledgeable staff. The facilities are overall in good shape. My room was noisy from the kitchen activity and had a few things not working. But it was probably an exception. The breakfast was overall good in terms of variety, quality and service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the busy streets can be noisy. Avoid those above the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcopolo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Quirky small but friendly hotel in an excellent location. Booked a package that included the 2 bedroom duplex suite, Range Rover airport transfers for our party of 4, and two 3 course dinners at the hotel restaurant. When I emailed to confirm the pick-up time at the airport, they informed me that they no longer had the Range Rover and they would sent a Jaguar instead, but the Jaguar would not be big enough for the four of us plus our luggage; after some discussion they agreed to send two cars. Check in was quite quick; the first time I haven't been asked for a credit card upon arrival or to sign anything verifying the rate (it was not pre-paid). The suite was very nice but not very functional; the downstairs living room was dominated by a large dining room table, but more importantly was not air conditioned, and was sweltering (it was June) and therefore unusable. The two bedrooms upstairs were small and noisy but air conditioned, and not furnished to the same standard as the rooms shown in the website's photographs (unless they have been renovated since June 2013). There was another mix-up at dinner; before booking the package, I had verified that the included dinner was open-menu and not a fixed menu, but the waitress and restaurant manager insisted we had only a very limited selection, none of which were suitable for our dietary restrictions. The hotel manager on-duty intervened, and we reached a compromise of 2 salads, 4 lower-priced entrees and 1 dessert. The breakfast, on the other hand, was wonderful, with a wide selection of local and international foods, eggs or omelets prepared to order as well as champagne. For the return trip to airport, neither the jaguar nor the land rover was available (despite having been booked months prior) but the hotel paid for two taxis. Still the location is excellent, and Ljubljana is a fabulous town to visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vnyrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and it was the second time that I have used the hotel. As with other reviewers comments one of the hotels best features is its location being a short walking distance from the main railway station and the centre of the old town. The room I had on the third floor was at the front and it was quite noisy with the traffic. It was quite small with limited furnishings but adequate. The bathroom was small and a ridiculously positioned shower that sprayed water everywhere. The other bad points in the room was the position of the safety box at foot level which made it awkward to use. The room lighting was poor also. The breakfast was average with a reasonable range of food but nothing special. The fitness suite was reasonable and there was a good sauna and steam room above the gym. The bar restaurant was good with a range of beers and meals available with good friendly staff. Overall it was a good stay and despite the few faults I would use the hotel next time I stay in the city.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hudson0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. It was very nice and classy. It is located in very center of the town, very very close to the city center and the old town. No need at all to take any public transportation. It is suited in the heart of Ljubjana. Everything was clean and well arranged in every possible detail. The room and toilette were super clean and with all the accessories a traveler might need.. The closet was with enough space to put your clothes in it, even shoes or other accessories. They cleaned and arranged my room every day. When came back everything was in order and nothing missing.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I had some problems with the tv the first night. Immediately after i claimed it, they came and fixed my tv.
The breakfast included in the reservation was super ok and very nice.
For the price u pay , in fact it was well deserved. It was expensive , but if you want to enjoy it all, u sure have to pay what it deserves :). If you r ok to pay and enjoy ljubjana even sleeping :) , I would strongly recommend it

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Besa_1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I had a truly enjoyable stay in this hotel for 2 nights. Location is excellent, just minutes walk from the central park and the centre of the old town. Would definitely recomend for all - both for business and pleasure. All the sights of Ljubljana can be reached within minutes. Hotel is definitelly worth the money - nice, clean rooms, lots of english TV channels, great food at the restaurant, great advice by the staff, would come here again, not only for business.

Room Tip: There are both smoking and none-smoking rooms so take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antanas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very enjoyable three night stay at the Hotel Slon and as previous reviewers have mentioned it is perfectly located for exploring Ljubljana. The room was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was superb with lots of choice all self service and all the staff were friendly and helpful when approached. The Wi Fi in the room was erratic but that didn't worry us. We were disappointed with the bar and cafe areas the staff were not as friendly as in the main hotel and we just went elsewhere for a drink or a snack!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveDSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
979 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#9 of 30 in Ljubljana
870 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#6 of 30 in Ljubljana
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon

Property: BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Address: Slovenska cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the very heart of Ljubljana city centre. It takes only a few minutes’ walk to the old city core, the Ljubljana castle and all the main city sights. All rooms have been newly renovated and among other feature modern decoration, LCD screens with DVD players. The new luxurious bed concept is composed of new mattresses, duvets and an extensive pillow menu. The bed linens are made of the finest Egyptian cotton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ljubljana
Ljubljana Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing