We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Nearby Hotels
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cubo(Ljubljana)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nox(Ljubljana)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Emonec(Ljubljana)
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Meksiko(Ljubljana)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$354
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,000)
Filter reviews
2,000 results
Traveller rating
845
848
232
44
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
845
848
232
44
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspillow menuold towncentral locationexcellent locationbreakfast buffettriple bridgedeluxe roomthe riverairport shuttlehotel restaurantthe heart of the citythe hotel offersbusiness tripmini bartivoli parkvery nice hotelthree bridges
Filter
Updating list...
758 - 763 of 2,000 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at the Slon over 20 years ago and stayed again in April 2014 during a return visit to Slovenia. The hotel is elegant and the room was comfy and nicely appointed. Unlike most hotels the breakfast is well worth getting up for and served reasonably late so you don't have to drag yourself out of bed too early. The Hotal has a perfect location for exploring the city and is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSlon, Director of Sales at Best Western Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest!

Thank you so much for this lovely review and what can be greater for the hotel than to welcome back guests who stayed over 20 years ago. Pure pleasure and we are really honoured.

We are also very glad to read that you enjoyed our complimentary buffet breakfast, which is served daily till 11.00 am and besides the buffet selection the guests can choose an à la carte complimentary breakfast menu and enjoy it in the privacy of their room, if preferred.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon and wishing you nice journeys in the future.

Best regards,

Zeljko Vrhovac
Assistant general manager & sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Located on a Ljubljana's main street, hotel is easy to find and in a mid of both the new center and the old town. Compered to the sometimes slow and clumsy service you may get in Ljubljana, hotel staff was well trained and ready to serve you in a helpful but perhaps a bit stiff and withdrawn way; some more personal touch wouldn't do any harm. Room was furnished traditionally but looked slightly gloomy; for example pieces of local art would cheer the look. Daily cleaning was all right leaving some spots and splashes; nothing catastrophic but if you aim to the top, there is an opportunity for improvement. And someone should show the guys working in the lounge bar how an Irish Coffee-drink is made, the one they sold me didn't bear much resemblance to the original idea. But still, a good hotel in a good place.

Room Tip: There may be traffic noise in lower floors especially if the window is facing the Slovenska cesta, the main street
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mercan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSlon, Director of Sales at Best Western Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Guest!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and for all the kind words and suggestions.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and as it seems you are a regular traveller to Ljubljana, we hope to stay your preferred hotel with your next visits.

Sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy the Irish Coffee in our lounge bar, we will speak with our staff and organize some additional training, so it will not happen again in the future.

Best regards,

Zeljko Vrhovac
Assistant general manager & sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had to "park" my family with 3 kids at the Slon Hotel, while I went for a business day trip. The Hotel's employees took very good care of them.
The breakfast buffet is excellent.
The whole city center of Ljubljana is a wonderful place with a lot of people, good restaurants and music.
A city definitively worth a visit.

Room Tip: Our suite was perfect. Attention: The Hotel has some very small business rooms. When you book make sure they give you a normal size room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelllllerSalzburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSlon, Director of Sales at Best Western Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest!
Thank you for staying with us and posting this nice review. We are very glad that you have trusted us your family during your business stay and even more that we have fulfilled your expectations.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon, maybe already during summer time when you can again enjoy our complimentary breakfast and explore the city in its best.

Best regards,
Zeljko Vrhovac
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Having had to stay here due to Lufthansa going on strike, I was really pleased I did. The hotel is very nice and feels expensive. I didn't have to pay on this occasion but I would stay again. My rearranged flight was an early one and I had to leave before they started serving breakfast, however they provided a light breakfast for us prior to leaving.

Rooms are well equipped and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSlon, Director of Sales at Best Western Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your nice comments and that you noticed one of our additional services regarding early breakfast. In addition to breakfast boxes for early departing guests, we also offer ''Early starter breakfast'' where the guest can have a quick breakfast at our lobby. It is available each day from 5am to 6am and besides the coffee to go, tea, water and fruit juices, the guests can choose different croissants, Danish pastry and a lot of fresh fruit.
Thank you for being our guest and we hope that you visit our beautiful city again.
Kind regards.
Zeljko Vrhovac
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Pros: Clean and nice bathroom, enough hangers, TV with a lot of programs on several languages, enough hot water, excellent breakfast with many different types of food, soft bad, plenty of pillows, good internet, good internet coverage, safe, disposable slippers, ear plugs, welcome chocolate, huge mirror, everything looks clean and well maintained, good heater, the hotel is located at the city center.

Cons: diluted orange juice, no proper room ventilation. Depends on the room position open window will bring street noise, and kitchen smell. Noisy heater. Without open window the room air tend to smell very bad, and feel like no oxygen. The night lamp has naked wires that can be touched by accident in the dark. And it could be dangerous to children.

Room Tip: Ask for room far away from the kitchen. Rooms on the street side are more noisy but the view is better. The room on the backyard side is much quieter. It seems that all rooms are covered with good internet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nidza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelSlon, Director of Sales at Best Western Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Guest!
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review about our hotel. We are glad that you recognized our location as one of our advantages and thank you for positive comments about our breakfast and all the small, but very important details that we offer for the guests, like; pillow menu with luxurious bed concept, evening turndown service, complimentary high speed wireless internet throughout the hotel, 24h in-room dining, 24h valet garage parking, complimentary use of Spa & Fitness and many more.

Thank you also for your comments about our cons. We are aware of our weaknesses and we daily strive to minimize them as much as we can. For example the courtyard on your photos, we hope to renovate within 2 years from now with a new underground garage and attractive outside venue for our guests.

Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to host you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Zeljko Vrhovac
Sales manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews