We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location.”
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We made a last minute reservation here after we couldn't stand our other hotel in Ljubljana. We got a great rate of 90 euros a night for a non-smoking room, and were able to check in immediately, which was around 9am! Our room was great - very clean, nice sized, great view. The breakfast at the hotel was great, with eggs, crepes, fresh fruit, breads, cold cuts, etc. The hotel arranged a rental car for us to go explore Lake Bled and the area and it worked out great, plus they allowed us to park it for free overnight right in front of the hotel. The staff at this hotel was great. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a well-priced, modern, and convenient place to stay in Ljubljana!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldengirl217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    740
    209
    41
    28
See reviews for
236
624
144
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
242 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We used the Hotel Slon as our base while in Slovenia. The hotel was very centrally located in the capital and Ljubljana is a very walkable city so this was perfect. The hotel is within a 5 minute walk to the river and because the weather was so warm when we were there, the riverside was filled with restaurants and cafes well into the night.

The room itself was quite large and comfortable. The room had hardwood floors as well, which is always a nice feature! The beds were pretty comfortable as well. The hotel itself is showing its age a little bit. The hallways and such are definitely looking their age (but it does appear that the carpets were recently replaced). I guess since it was tagged as a "premier" Best Western that it would be but seems pretty standard.

The breakfast buffet was well stocked and very tasty with a variety of international as well as local fare. We also ate at the adjoining Slon restaurant for lunch one day (the guide book we had actually rated it pretty high!) and it was definitely worth a stop (seemed that a lot of the renovation dollars went into the restaurant rather than the hotel).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We walked from the train station to the hotel in about 10 minutes. The room was ready for us and our request was provided without fuss. The room was well appointed and extremely clean. The hotel provided all those wonderful extras such as huge new fluffy towels, massive pillows, dressing gowns and slippers.The hotel is on a busy street so we asked to be located in a quiet room. Position of the hotel is terrific. We were able to walk everywhere and see all the main sights within a few minutes.There is a bar, cafe and restaurant that provide well priced drinks and food ( happy hour was a bonus!) Breakfast had a huge selection of foods and beverages.Free internet in rooms and free computer access in the lobby was also a plus. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Slon is an excellent choice if you visit Ljubljana.

Helpful?
Thank terryandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

This hotel is in a wonderful location, in the centre of the city and walking distance to all of the city's main sights and attractions. It is the ideal base to explore the city.

It is a very well appointed hotel with a lovely feel and very helpful staff. The rooms are also very comfortable and quite spacious compared to some of the other hotels we stayed in on this trip.

The breakfast buffet was also great with a huge selection of all sorts of delicious food.

My extended family also stayed at this hotel and we were all impressed!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMST78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

We were quite pleased with our stay here. The location is excellent for exploring Ljubljana on foot, close to sights, restaurants, and nightlife. The staff was friendly and helpful (although they did mess up our reservation via hotels.com, they were quick to remedy the problem). The rooms themselves were clean and comfortable. Our favorite part was the breakfast buffet, which included a large selection and great coffee. If there is one drawback to this hotel, it is its lack of local flair - you feel like you could be in almost any city.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zurika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenchen
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2009

This hotel is a great starting point for visiting Ljubljana’s sights on foot. The welcoming in the lobby is impressive with a gigantic chandelier; the reception staff is friendly and efficient. The hotel rooms have obviously been updated and we loved the attention to small details like quality bathroom amenities, flower in the bathroom, TV with free DVD, thick towels and bathrobes, umbrella, kettle with coffee and tea, free sauna and internet...
A nice surprise was the weather report for the next day. It was brought to the room in the evening and was very helpful.
We also loved the lounge restaurant. Upon arrival we were presented with a voucher – 2 drinks for the price of 1. This was a great way to try tasty Slovenian wines.
The only disadvantage would probably be the fussy parking in the busy street, but luckily we did not need to use it since we arrived by plane. We saw the valets in smart uniforms so I guess this is the way this hotel solves the problem.
The hotel is definitely good value for money and we really enjoyed our shortbreak in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ojodegata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

This hotel is tired and rundown. The rooms are dank, dark and smelly. The lobby area has benefited from a renovation and actually looks alright but the rest of the hotel is sadly stuck a few decades behind.
The bed was low and old, you could feel the springs in the mattress. The furniture was on the way out with fake wood veneer that was beginning to peel off. The curtains are heavy and faded with a pattern that could never have been attractive. And what's more they managed to find a bed spread that was just as horrible. I never understand why hotels don't get that just simple white sheets look the better than a dark and heavy bed spread.
The bathroom is even worse than the bedroom with a crappy old shower head dribbling into a very shallow bath.
The breakfast buffet is large, but everything in it is a low quality - like a home brand you'd buy from the supermarket. Still it is edible and so on that front the breakfast is not a complete disaster.
One thing I will pay this hotel for is it's location. It is well situated between the train station and the central part of town - just a short walk to the main tourist area.
All in all though you could do much better than this. It is the sort of hotel that local business men stay at when their travel budget has been drastically cut and they have to make a booking at the last minute.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank geoman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GregorLjubljana, General manager at Best Western Premier Hotel Slon, responded to this review, 26 January 2009
The management is sorry for not meeting all expectations from the guest who posted the last review. Sometimes reviews can be exaggerating by some guests; this one surely is over the top.
The management agrees that beds are old and heavy bed covers are »out« and is happy to announce that the brand new bed concept is due to arrive by beginning of March 2009. We will offer our guests new mattresses, new bed toppers and pillow menu. Standard rooms will feature 250 TC cotton linens, deluxe rooms and suites will feature luxurious 400 TC cotton linens with duck down and feather duvets, pillows and mattress toppers. Our new bed concept will be called »sweet dreams«. Such high quality linens will therefore not be covered by heavy bed covers anymore, but only by a stripe.
The management agrees that room décor is not up to latest fashion and trends, but the room features all amenities which a 4-star business hotel should nowadays offer: free wi-fi, free sauna visit, slippers, high quality bathrobes, LCD TV, DVD/CD player, modern bathroom amenities of which deluxe rooms and suites feature design toiletries by L’Occitane. Room decoration (curtains, bed covers and walls) were uplifted 10 months ago in a traditional style to match the room décor, therefore it is absolutely not correct to say that curtains are faded.
Nevertheless, our breakfast is a feast of hot and cold freshly prepared food of a high standard. It is therefore very unusual that guest would be complaining about it.
Of course problems sometimes occur to everyone, but by this reply the management would only like to stress that this hotel is constantly improving their services and offers high standard services in a traditional atmosphere which is confirmed by many satisfied guests and past reviews on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#6 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Slon

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Address: Slovenska Cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Premier Hotel Slon - Elephant is situated in the very heart of Ljubljana city centre. It is only a few steps away from the old city core, Ljubljana castle and all the main city sights. This modern 4-star superior hotel has 170 comfortable and well-appointed rooms with all modern facilities and amenities. Superior deluxe rooms, Deluxe rooms and suites offer luxurious accommodation. The hotel's Spa & Fitness features a state of the art Fitness Center open 24/7, equipped with Technogym machines, providing all the latest cardiovascular and weight training facilities as well as relaxing saunas with tropical rain showers. There is a generous choice of 9 different Thai massage treatments at Hotels Thai massage & Spa to unwind, relax and escape the daily stress. There are extensive facilities for business functions; a versatile array of five conference halls provides accessible and flexible conferencing for up to 250 participants. In our versatile function halls and breakfast restaurant, we also host working breakfasts, business lunches and gala dinners, receptions, parties and beautiful a-la-carte weddings. The hotel is also famous for its excellent cuisine. In the attractive atmosphere of the Restaurant Slon 1552 overlooking the busy streets of Ljubljana, our guests will be served modern Slovene, Mediterranean and other international dishes, as well as a vast choice of top quality wines. For hotel guests, we provide valet parking in a nearby garage attended by our friendly staff. A preliminary reservation is required. Best Western Premier Hotel Slon is an institution in hospitality; celebrating 460 years of tradition, offering comfortable accommodation, multipurpose conferencing facilities combined with excellent cuisine at an elite location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ljubljana
Ljubljana Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing