We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed working in Ljubljana because the quality of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Usually then I work abroad the selection of hotel is crucial. This time i considered many other options but luckily decided to take this one. There was nothing really wrong with this place- maybe only some noise from the street. It is situated 5minutes walk from everything in central Ljubljana. Staff was extremely helpful with everything. As there was four of us everybody in different rooms, i can say that rooms are not very similar I had double bed and a shower, one collegue had twin bed and a bath, other had room half a size of mine but still a bath.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aixxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,842)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2009

Booked the hotel through a hotel broker web site and for a centrally located hotel in the perfect location of the city, including breakfast and tax, I thought it was good value. Unfortunately we had to pay 18 Euros to park our car per day but parking is non existent in Ljubljana and its a European city so I expect to pay.

We booked a 'deluxe' room so when checking the web site you will get an idea from our photo how large the room is. The bed and pillows were very, very comfortable. There is a pillow menu but we didn't need to use it. The bathroom was large along with the room. It was quiet and all of the staff were friendly.

The location is perfect. You walk out the door and turn left to the pedestrian lane and the historic area of Ljubljana and the river. It is extremely convenient.

The breakfast is noted in one of the guidebooks that it is the best in the city and I believe it. The staff are courteous, professional and take care of the buffet re-filling items as needed. The selection was wonderful, the room was clean and everything was presented very well.

Really enjoyed the complimentary wireless internet. I wish more hotels offered this service free. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Ljubljana, Ljubljana! Every time I go there for business the weather is awful and Hotel Slon is the perfect cozy place to warm up my rainy nights.
I did try a few alternatives in the city but this is definitely the right and best place to stay in the city. Location can’t be beaten. Positioned in the heart of the city, along the main shopping avenue, it’s just a 2 minutes stroll to the picturesque promenade along the river and old town. A couple of very nice Gostilna (traditional Slovenian restaurant) are only 30 seconds from the hotel along the same street. Opposite the hotel, the city’s biggest department store will for sure satisfy your shopping spree on a rainy day.
The hotel is nice and clean. Staff is very helpful and efficient. If you need it there’s a valet parking service available and the car will be returned to you at the appointed time.
Rooms are spacious and clean even though standard rooms are not so modern looking as per furnishings as you might expect after seeing the common areas’ style. However, they are spotless and full of amenities. Bathroom is also clean and functional with everything that you may need during your stay. Flat TV, DVD set and free wireless internet in every room.
For those of you who like being pampered the hotel offers a fitness room and sauna to relax, open all day. Breakfast is fantastic for a 4 star hotel and very rich and fresh. Too bad you can only get coffees and cappuccinos from the automatic machines but as for the rest it’s perfect.
This is definitely my base in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We went to Ljubljana to meet a friend with a 5 month old. We also traveled with a baby.
Hotel Slon staff was wonderful, rooms were clean and breakfast was tasty and plentiful.
Would love to go back and will definitely stay there next time I visit Ljubljana.

Hotel was in the best part of the center of town. As far as we could tell it had the best location to the local attractions.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I stayed at Best Western Hotel Slon 3 nights while in Ljubljana for a wedding. The rooms were spiffy with a very comfortable bed and spotless bathroom. My request for non-smoking room really was non-smoking. Do not miss the breakfast, provided on 1st floor of the hotel and included in price - there was an amazing variety of food and all was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dqframey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

The location is excellent. The foyer impressive. The staff invariably helpful and courteous. The rooms comfortable, clean and well-appointed. The breakfast room well-run with plenty of choice (just one grouse : why no lids for the teapots?)

I have stayed previously in a couple of other similarly priced hotels in this city : this one is genuinely far netter from almost every standpoint.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
1  Thank andrewjameswarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Hotel Slon is a large hotel in the centre of Ljubljana. Everywhere is only a very short walk away. Rooms were nice and clean. Staff were very helpful. Good breakfast buffet in the mornings.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emzieandnigee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,678 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
990 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Slon

Address: Slovenska Cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: £87 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Premier Hotel Slon - Elephant is situated in the very heart of Ljubljana city centre. It is only a few steps away from the old city core, Ljubljana castle and all the main city sights. This modern 4-star superior hotel has 170 comfortable and well-appointed rooms with all modern facilities and amenities. Superior deluxe rooms, Deluxe rooms and suites offer luxurious accommodation. The hotel's Spa & Fitness features a state of the art Fitness Center open 24/7, equipped with Technogym machines, providing all the latest cardiovascular and weight training facilities as well as relaxing saunas with tropical rain showers. There is a generous choice of 9 different Thai massage treatments at Hotels Thai massage & Spa to unwind, relax and escape the daily stress. There are extensive facilities for business functions; a versatile array of five conference halls provides accessible and flexible conferencing for up to 250 participants. In our versatile function halls and breakfast restaurant, we also host working breakfasts, business lunches and gala dinners, receptions, parties and beautiful a-la-carte weddings. The hotel is also famous for its excellent cuisine. In the attractive atmosphere of the Restaurant Slon 1552 overlooking the busy streets of Ljubljana, our guests will be served modern Slovene, Mediterranean and other international dishes, as well as a vast choice of top quality wines. For hotel guests, we provide valet parking in a nearby garage attended by our friendly staff. A preliminary reservation is required. Best Western Premier Hotel Slon is an institution in hospitality; celebrating 460 years of tradition, offering comfortable accommodation, multipurpose conferencing facilities combined with excellent cuisine at an elite location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ljubljana
Ljubljana Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing