We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK hotel, small rooms”
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Spent one night there in Dec 2010, on a business trip.
The location is fine, everything within a walking distance. The hotel organises reasonable priced airport transfers.
Staff was ok, breakfast good.
The rooms are quite small, but clean.
It is good for a short-term stay, for a longer one I would definitely choose something with larger rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUXPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    749
    210
    41
    28
See reviews for
238
629
146
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The location of the Hotel Slon is perfect, 30 seconds from the main town square and in the heart of the shopping district. Ljubljana is so small that it would be difficult to get a hotel in a bad location, but the Slon is really perfectly situated.

The hotel is something of an institution in the city, but has by all accounts had something of a makeover in recent years. Bathrooms are modern, tvs are small flat screens, in fact the whole place has a pleasant modern feel.

There is a branch of one of the cities top tea shops based in the foyer of the hotel, and there is even a "nightclub" in the basement which i found out after my trip may have been worth a visit after all.

Breakfast is certainly worth taking - it is a copious buffet option, which without offering real honeycomb or smoked salmon allows you to get a very decent morning feed and plenty of both healthy and unhealthy choices. The floor where the breakfast was served smelt very Eastern European however - that funny smell of disinfectant and boiled cabbage which is so hard to shift. in itself it is not unpleasant, but it stood out a little .

The hotel gym is as small as it looks on the website : if you look closely you can see that the photographer is trying to be clever with his angles. You can however manage a half decent workout if you get the space to yourself (if they have fixed the multigym which was not functioning when i visited)

Worth mentioning is their shuttle service to the airport - it is a couple of Euro more expensive than the same service which stops at a bus stop 100 metres away, but for the convenience of the service i would recommend it.

All in all a very safe choice - not the cheapest in town, but nothing to disappoint and Free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kissthesunsetpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This was a great hotel. Clean and tidy, great rooms, comfortable beds, good location, great breakfast buffet and also a good restaurant (quite expensive) at the bottom.

We really liked it and would truly recommend it to others going to Ljubljana.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaeholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

This reviews of this hotel are right on- it’s a great base to explore the very wonderful city of Ljubljana.

Location: This hotel is all about the location. Everything is within reach and it’s a quick walk to all the “attractions” that we wanted to see. We booked primarily based on this and because my friend used United points to get us a free stay.

Rooms: the first night we had a double room which was small and overlooked the street. The street was busy/noisy but the windows were double pained so this wasn’t an issue. The room was basic and comfy, no complaints. Now the second night we moved to a larger triple room and it was MUCH nicer. Even the toiletries were of a higher brand. There was a small sitting area and it was also a much more updated room. Definitely a lot more chic and probably makes sense after reading some of the discrepancies on the reviews. Also, free wifi in the room- HUGE smile for that.

Breakfast: included and good. Lots of fruit, breads and cheeses which is all we really had. Note that you must arrive early because once they ran out of something it is not replenished.

Negatives: My only complaint was that the walls were sooo thin we could hear everything our neighbors were doing. Thankfully they were boring. There were also lots of kids running around playing in the halls like it was romper room. The elevators were also tiny and so slow. Wasn’t an issue for us, we used the stairs but could see how this would be a problem for some people.

Overall: December was a great time to visit the city as it was so festive and we were there for the Christmas markets. We did a day trip to Bled (took the bus, so easy) and it was way too foggy to see much but we were there so we did it. This hotel is pretty basic but it’s clean and cozy and in an excellent location. The staff is also extremely nice and courteous and that goes a long way with me. I would highly recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxxyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

The location is excellent, right in the middle of town. (Having said that, Ljubljana is pretty small so you are never really that far away from any of the major attractions.)
The hotel is ok, nothing special, clearly targeted at business travellers, so functional rather than cozy. It's clean and modern, the breakfast is pretty good (but get there early before the nice stuff runs out!) and the staff are very helpful. I would definitely recommend it, as long as you are not looking for anything boutique or romantic!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

My family and I spent four days in the Best Western Premier Hotel Sion over the Christmas weekend. Overall, we were very satisfied with the experience and would stay in the hotel again. Things that we liked were:
A. The friendliness and attentiveness of the staff.
B. The great central location in downtown Ljubljana. All the main sights were within walking distance of the hotel.
C. We had a Deluxe Double room which was quite spacious for European standards and filled our needs quite nicely. The room also came with high end toiletries from L'Occitane which was quite a surprise.
D. All rooms come with breakfast included. The spread provided a large selection of fruits, cheeses, breads, etc... which were quite tasty.

The only things we didn't like were the 18 Euro a nght parking fee and the fact that we had to keep one of our room's windows open because it got so hot. However, these were minor impediments which would not stop us from staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bijeljina, bosnia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

I have enjoyed the hotel amenities as well as room itself fitted for business traveler. The staff is kind and they took care of my car and other request I had. Perfect position in very downtown Ljubljana makes your partners reachable within walking distance.

Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rakovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Slon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Slon

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Address: Slovenska Cesta 34, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#6 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#8 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Slon 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Premier Hotel Slon - Elephant is situated in the very heart of Ljubljana city centre. It is only a few steps away from the old city core, Ljubljana castle and all the main city sights. This modern 4-star superior hotel has 170 comfortable and well-appointed rooms with all modern facilities and amenities. Superior deluxe rooms, Deluxe rooms and suites offer luxurious accommodation. The hotel's Spa & Fitness features a state of the art Fitness Center open 24/7, equipped with Technogym machines, providing all the latest cardiovascular and weight training facilities as well as relaxing saunas with tropical rain showers. There is a generous choice of 9 different Thai massage treatments at Hotels Thai massage & Spa to unwind, relax and escape the daily stress. There are extensive facilities for business functions; a versatile array of five conference halls provides accessible and flexible conferencing for up to 250 participants. In our versatile function halls and breakfast restaurant, we also host working breakfasts, business lunches and gala dinners, receptions, parties and beautiful a-la-carte weddings. The hotel is also famous for its excellent cuisine. In the attractive atmosphere of the Restaurant Slon 1552 overlooking the busy streets of Ljubljana, our guests will be served modern Slovene, Mediterranean and other international dishes, as well as a vast choice of top quality wines. For hotel guests, we provide valet parking in a nearby garage attended by our friendly staff. A preliminary reservation is required. Best Western Premier Hotel Slon is an institution in hospitality; celebrating 460 years of tradition, offering comfortable accommodation, multipurpose conferencing facilities combined with excellent cuisine at an elite location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Slon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ljubljana
Ljubljana Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing