We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, best price, nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value, best price, nice hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Good value and price. This was clean, nice and little bit old hotel. This is 4-star hotel. Not much to catch 5-star rate. Rooms was spaceful with bath and good connections to drive everywhere. This is little far from city center. Breakfast room is small and not much choices in there compared to other good hotels. Nice beds and everything worked in the room. Suggest to this everyone if not needed to be very close to city center.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dominatorev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lipovsek_Bogdan, General Manager at Hotel Lev Ljubljana, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear “dominatorev”,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and your recommendations.
I am glad you have been pleased with your accommodation despite finding some aspects that did not meet your expectations. Please be informed that Hotel Lev is a 4 star hotel since January 2014. Due to adaptation to market needs and hotel’s relative size to our small Ljubljana’s market, we decided to move the hotel to a 4 star category. Now, our goal is to become an excellent 4**** city center hotel with satisfied customers, who will love to return. We will continue upgrading our product, which at the same time needs to offer a good value for each guest. Having this in mind we will closely look into all of your comments. Please also be informed that our hotel is only a 5-minute walk away from the old center of Ljubljana, which positions the hotel at an excellent location.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

Mr. Bogdan Lipovsek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    420
    147
    18
    10
See reviews for
87
345
73
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel despite being run down. They rate this hotel 5 stars and that is totally misleading. Everything about it is a 3 plus from the buffet in the morning to the stained carpet in the hallway. The service was amazing and they are all very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wenbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northen Ireland
Level Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The hotel is situated approx 5 mins form the old centre of Ljubljana. It's location is easy to access from the airport, ring road etc. The hotel has an under ground carpark and some very limited carparking at the front of the hotel. They charge 9€ per day to park at the front of the hotel and 14€ per day for the under ground car park.

The hotel reception staff were all very friendly and efficient. The room was very nice and had all the usual facilities. There was a great selection available for breakfast and the staff were always asking if you required and additional tea, coffee etc. The quality of the food etc was very good.

Highly recommended for a stay in Ljubljana.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tully22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lipovsek_Bogdan, General Manager at Hotel Lev Ljubljana, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear “Tully22”
Thank you for sharing your opinion about Hotel Lev here on Tripadvisor.
It’s a great pleasure that we achieved your expectations while staying in our hotel. I am delighted to hear how highly you appreciate our services and the hotel staff. I will be delighted to share your opinion with everyone in the hotel.
We will be more than happy to welcome you again at the Hotel Lev and hope to see you in Ljubljana again soon.

Mr. Bogdan Lipovsek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is an old Soviet building about 5-10 minutes from the real centre of the shopping/restaurant district.

My room was really big with really comfortable beds and had two really good nights sleep while away on business.

The gym needs upgrading but at least they had one.

Breakfast was excellent and the service good. The hotel bar is on the small size but that wasn't a big problem since there are loads nearby.

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel but it's probably more a 3 1/2 star but that's good enough for me.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheMilkMan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is a former socialist era tower block hotel that is a reasonable 3 star standard. It's not stylish or modern, but it's clean and the staff are friendly enough.

The location is okay (10 min walk to down town but not an immediately attractive area).

The air conditioning doesn't work particularly well, the breakfast is somewhat cheap and nasty (tinned fruit in syrup etc).

All in all though it does its job and it's good value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lipovsek_Bogdan, General Manager at Hotel Lev Ljubljana, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear “PeterEde7”

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are happy to hear that overall you found the hotel suitable for your needs. On the other hand, you pointed out some aspects that deserve our closest attention. We would like to inform you that as of January 2014 Hotel Lev is a 4 star property. Due to adaptation to market needs and hotel’s relative size to our small Ljubljana’s market, we decided to move the hotel into this category, which has proven to be a smart choice. Now, our goal is to make Hotel Lev a perfect 4 star hotel and in relation to that we appreciate your comments, since they indicate the areas where we will definitely focus on more closely.
We hope you will see the improvements and enjoy your time with us during your next visits.

Mr. Bogdan Lipovsek
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and was very happy with my stay. Arrived at lunchtime but was still able to check-in to the room. Air conditioning worked well, and we had a nice view from the 8th floor over the town and towards the castle (make sure you have a room at the front of the hotel). The room was decently appointed and the beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was clean and a reasonable size. The breakfast buffet is excellent - a very wide selection of hot and cold dishes. All the staff speak good English and are very polite. I think the hotel was previously 5 star, but the sign outside the front door says 4 star and that definitely feels right and from what I saw of other hotels this looked like the nicest. There is a fitness room in the hotel, or you can use the pool and gym at a hotel 5 minutes away. I booked direct through the hotel's own website which all worked fine. The hotel is centrally located and is a 5-10 minute walk from the Three Bridges and Old Town. Ljubljana isn't a big city so it's perfectly easy to walk everywhere (or walk 5 minutes to the bus station and take the bus to Lake Bled). If I was going back to Ljubljana I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel look out over the city - the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samlesbury1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#6 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lev Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lev Ljubljana

Property: Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Address: Voshnjakova ulica 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Lev Ljubljana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lev is the best choice for everyone looking for classical elegance and modern comfort. Based on tradition and modern trends is offering a perfect accommodation in the centre of Ljubljana. 13-floor high glass exterior of the hotel offers a magnificent view of the city. Hotel is offering 173 rooms and suites with a sophisticated lighting concept, warm coloured lampshades and modern artwork. Recently renovated superior rooms offering different types of mattress hardness and pillows and high speed internet access are a perfect environment for business travellers with large working area, comfortable chair, possibility of a total blackout by means of electronically handled curtains. Classic and elegant standard rooms are tailored for leisure travellers who would like to escape for a simply get away from the daily grind. These ornately furnished rooms cater for a wide range of activities and offer magnificent views of the city centre and the castle. In a la carte restaurant Pri Levu, guests can enjoy endlessly in an exquisite modern cuisine with Mediterranean touch. Hotel Lev is the place to Meet with 6 meeting and conference rooms on the 13th floor with beautiful views around the city. In the ground floor, there is a newly refurbished conference and event hall which can host up to 400 participants and it is as such an important gathering place for business visitors. In this hall, working breakfasts, business lunches, gala dinners, receptions and parties can be organized. For the hotel guests parking in the hotel's garage can be provided as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Lev Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing