We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good location, great service”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

I was, at first, concerned about the location -- on the map, the Lev Hotel seemed a bit far from the central attractions in Ljubljana. But, the city is so compact, I need not have worried -- the Lev is a 5-10 minute walk from the central part of old town. The hotel is new and modern with free wi fi access, and a huge breakfast. The room are recently redone, modern, and sleek, if a bit sterile. The breakfast is (to say the least) bountiful with food to fit every taste. We stayed at this hotel for 4 days, spent 2 days in Bled, and returned for a night -- at which time we were upgraded!

The only reservation I had was the rather small size of the bathroom in the standard room. But, it's clean and has all necessary or desireable amenities. The price is about half of what you would pay in a comparable hotel in a big city. A great place to stay.

Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank deranieri2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    438
    149
    19
    10
See reviews for
88
357
74
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Biel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The Lev is the default choice for visiting business people in Ljubljana, being its main modern upscale hotel. It is a 1960's concrete and glass tower, located within walking distance of the city's atmospheric center and its colorful buildings, and across a wide road from a large park. The immediate vicinity of the hotel is nondescript, however.
The hotel has a slightly ponderous atmosphere, claimed to be five stars, but actually more like an older 4 star. The lobby and rooms are consistent with this, comfortable and of a satisfactory level, but not particularly inspiring.
I had dinner at the hotel's restaurant once, and found it to offer a better than usual price-quality ratio; its wine list has a selection of especially good Slovenian wines, which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mos505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Room is cleaned every day but very late. We came out of the city at 15.30 room was not yet ready.Food in the restaurant for grade 3, wine is good grade 9 . The location is a perfect 10.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Love everything about this hotel, breakfast was great, stuff were so helpful but bed was sooo old.. those with bad backs beware !! ask for a new bed.. the bed is sinking and it doesnt do good for pregnant woman ! I even asked to rotate the bed.. but no used :(

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IO_OI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We are fussy and we look for good value and location. This hotel ticked all the boxes for us with private parking right by the entrance and just minutes on foot to the heart of the city. We found the staff courteous, helpful and professional. Normally we don't do 5-star hotels because we are put off by the price but here we paid less than in 4-star (£85 b&b+£8 parking) for a superlative stay. Apart from the buffet breakfast, which was good, we didn't eat in the hotel's restaurant nor did we use the gym facilities or the casino. On our way into the centre, close-by the hotel, we came across a fantastic traditional restaurant called Gostilna Sestica and we recommend that, too. Even after leaving we got fantastic service when we phoned from our next stop in Salzburg to say that we'd left behind a jacket: within 4 days we received it by express post at home...that's service!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The Hotel Lev is quite a modern hotel and at first I was surprised by that. But after we settled in, we grew to love the place. We had a jr. suite with a beautiful view - you have nice big windows, and I found the hotel very efficient, especially everything in the room was well designed. it is very clean as is everything else in Slovenia, comfortable and cozy. The food was excellent and the breakfast in the morning was one of the best I experienced on our entire trip. They have everything! The staff was most accomodating to any need and always polite and pleasant. The location is superb - just two blocks from their incomparable old town which is mindbogglingly beautiful!!! It rivals Prague or Krakow in beauty - graceful bridges, gorgeous architecture, jaw-dropping Baroque churches. You couldn't find a better hotel in Sofia or a nicer staff and it is well worth the money. We loved it and would certainly go back. No negatives whatsoever.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoyliife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Hotel Lev is a good hotel; very clean and in a good location for Ljubljana city centre. It's typical of a 4 star hotel. If I were staying in Ljubljana again, I would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewanderer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,532 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,022 reviews
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lev Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lev Ljubljana

Property: Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Address: Voshnjakova ulica 1, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Lev Ljubljana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lev is the best choice for everyone looking for classical elegance and modern comfort. Based on tradition and modern trends is offering a perfect accommodation in the centre of Ljubljana. 13-floor high glass exterior of the hotel offers a magnificent view of the city. Hotel is offering 173 rooms and suites with a sophisticated lighting concept, warm coloured lampshades and modern artwork. Recently renovated superior rooms offering different types of mattress hardness and pillows and high speed internet access are a perfect environment for business travellers with large working area, comfortable chair, possibility of a total blackout by means of electronically handled curtains. Classic and elegant standard rooms are tailored for leisure travellers who would like to escape for a simply get away from the daily grind. These ornately furnished rooms cater for a wide range of activities and offer magnificent views of the city centre and the castle. In a la carte restaurant Pri Levu, guests can enjoy endlessly in an exquisite modern cuisine with Mediterranean touch. Hotel Lev is the place to Meet with 6 meeting and conference rooms on the 13th floor with beautiful views around the city. In the ground floor, there is a newly refurbished conference and event hall which can host up to 400 participants and it is as such an important gathering place for business visitors. In this hall, working breakfasts, business lunches, gala dinners, receptions and parties can be organized. For the hotel guests parking in the hotel's garage can be provided as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lev Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing