We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand hotel in a grand city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union Business
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Grand hotel in a grand city”
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this luxury hotel. The business hotel was connected to the family hotel, we stayed in the business hotel. Big rooms, lots of amenities, great view of the city. Close to the main square. We ate in a wonderful little restaurant behind the hotel in a strip type mall. Stay up high if you are on the mall side as the coffee bars open early and although they are not noisy you can hear them. They were very accomodating getting us a car and driver to take us and stay with us at the caves and then to drive us back to Trieste plus it was reasonably priced. The first clerk wasn't helpful but we waited until he left and asked a young woman clerk how to get to the caves and she was very helpful. Had an incredidle free breakfast that came with the room.

Room Tip: Stay up high on the city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    271
    71
    16
    6
See reviews for
92
192
38
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Perfect size, warm comfortable room (710 on the seventh floor) with large desk space and working area. The design was contemporary – not the most stylish or eye-catching - but adequate.
I had a large window which let in plenty of light and a balcony – it didn’t have the greatest downtown view … but it was fine. (with the overcast weather for the duration of the stay, it didn’t really matter what I looked out on to).
The location is excellent, right downtown and a short walk to all the city centre places of action and interest!
The internet was free for as many devices as you needed. Although performance was a bit erratic at times, overall it was OK, and I was able to do all the work and up/downloading that I needed with no problems.
It’s always nice to have a full size bath and this one was great, complete with cool toiletries, soft towels, bathrobe, slippers, etc.
Bed was comfortable, and there was a nice thick proper quality extra blanket if needed, plus a well-stocked mini-bar and tea / coffee making facilities. There was also a flat widescreen TV which I didn’t even turn on in the three days I was there, and there was a massage chai which I didn’t use!! (personally I would feel a bit of an idiot sitting in my room on a massage chair, but I guess some love it as the receptionist made a big deal out of the fact that it was considered an upgrade to the standard room)
Breakfast was included in the rate, but I didn’t get the chance to check it out, and neither any of the other public facilities.
Basically all the business / office aids you need and good levels of comfort for 115 Euros a night, which I think is great value
Will definitely stay there again.
The only negative comment I have to make is that they could do with some continuity in front-desk staff friendliness and approachability levels! Some were smiley and efficient and others were grumpy and cold!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I stayed here on business for two nights in November 2012.

The hotel is fabulously located, about 2 minutes' walk to the main square and the Three Bridges. No issues with road noise as there isn't much traffic in the old town centre.

Check-in was fine, efficient and very pleasant. The rooms are great - very spacious, all the expected facilities, very wide and comfortable beds and plenty of lighting options. The power showers are super.

I loved the pool on the top floor, and the Vienna-style cafe on the ground floor is nice, if a bit quiet. Breakfast was first-class.

Overall, an excellent stay. Congratulations to the management - highly recommended.

Room Tip: The views aren't great so perhaps avoid too high a floor as there is some noise from the swimmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McChazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I stayed during a business trip a few nights at Union business.

Hotel is located on excellent location near the old town in the very center of Ljubljana. Hotel has somekind of old school classy spirit.

Rooms are spacious and clean and stylish. Very comfortable. Breakfast was very generous and excellent. There is also good shuttle connection to airport. There is a garage available at the hotel,

Definitely can recommend this for business and couples trips.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 76-76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Union Business hotel with the family. Central location, with good parking facilities in the basement. Rooms are relatively spacy and modern. There is a very nice pool at the top floor with saunas. However, the fitness area needs an update, but it's OK for a shorter stay. Good and big breakfast. Dinner at the outdoor summer restaurant was excellent and much better than expected!

Room Tip: If you want quiet rooms, ask to be located opposite to the bell tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NielsEBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

As the title would say, this is a quite fancy looking hotel, located not near, but in the very city center of Ljubljana, just few steps away from the Three bridges and the old part of the city. The hotel has private garage that they charge €17 a night, which isn't that cheap, but isnt's that bad for few nights of stay. Room and bathroom were very clean, nicely decorated, with a recliner and a balcony facing the back street. There was a nice touch which I haven't seen before in other hotels, a personal welcome message on the big LCD TV. Hotel also offered a very rich breakfast buffet where you can fuel yourself up for the day wandering the streets of Ljubljana.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frishki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We just returned from my second visit to Ljubljana, and the second stay at the Grand Hotel Union Business. Others have said how good it was, and I concur fully.

The Wifi is free and good. The hotel is in an excellent location: 2 mins from the triple bridge. 10 minutes walk from bus and train station - EUR 4.10 one-way to/from the airport. Or for EUR 36, a flat rate taxi is available to the airport. Ask at the front desk. Reasonable courtesy coffee tray. Comfortable beds with duvets. The room safe is a tad small. The Ipad fits, but larger laptops won't. The breakfast was excellent. A wide range of everything, plus an omelette station.

Now I have to rebuff the bad reviews: The staff were very pleasant. Don't expect concierge recommendations though. Assistance with luggage? It is not needed, as there are no steps from outside to inside and the elevators are 5 yards from the check in desk, and there are no steps from outside to inside. Although there are people willing to help if need be, The TV reception was fine. There are decent news channels, and a reasonable choice of other channels. The swimming pool was far from cold - if anything, to warm for my liking. Noise from the outside bars was a little loud at night, but the windows close tight, locking ALL the sound out. Excellent. Our toiletries were adequately stocked. (The upper floors have a nicer brand we noticed.)

If you turn left out of the hotel and then right in about 50 yards, there is a supermarket.

While I am sure the negative reviewers had genuine grumbles, none of them applied to me. The only negative was there was a VERY small amount of mould in some of the grout in the shower area (room 517). It needs a quick spray of 20% diluted bleach to rectify that. The rest of the bathroom was spotless.

OK, this is a 4.5 star property, but I'm going to be positive. There is no reason I'll be looking at any other property next time I'm back.

I hope you enjoy one of the better cities in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelBeaucoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union Business

Property: Grand Hotel Union Business
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union Business 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and comfortable Grand Hotel Union Business enjoys a privileged location in the financial and shopping district of Ljubljana's city centre. Renovated rooms feature elegant design, high-quality furnishings, free WIFI access and relaxation options adjusted to the requirements of every traveller ... Perfect combination of spacious rooms and modern facilities. Elegant a la carte restaurant with delicious cuisine is led by the head of Slovenian national culinary team. For a delicious warm or cold cake, visit the The Grand Union Cafe and enjoy the unique confectionery based on ancient recipes. Unwind at the indoor swimming pool, during a sauna or a massage and enjoy the souvenir shop, a fashion boutique and a jewelry shop. The Grand Hotel Union provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with a capacity for up to 800 participants and many other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Union Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing