We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'll come again but....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Union Business

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Union Business
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I'll come again but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I rate this quite highly as it scores well on things that matter for me: sleep quality, wi fi reliability and then there are some additional pluses such as the rooms having a proper desk space to work at, a blancolny space and the staff being helpful. On the minus side I thought the breakfast was definitely second rate and the decor is London circa 1979.

A couple of design gripes: why oh why put the aircon under the window *behind the full length curtain* and the shower over the bath arrangement makes it quite difficult to have a shower without spraying water everywhere.

Room Tip: Reemember that slovenian hotels allow smoking in designated rooms. So it is wise to specify which yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msrbcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    257
    67
    16
    6
See reviews for
89
185
37
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I and another couple stayed one night unexpectedly at this hotel. We were very pleased with the accommodations, service and breakfast. All the staff were courteous and friendly and their English largely speaking was good. Also, the hotel is in an excellent location adjacent to the Old City, and parking is convenient. Not opulent but much more than adequate.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

A very modern hotel. Room of a very high standard and a good size. Room had a comfy bed, nice bath room, desk area, safe, flat screen TV, free WIFI, a very fancy leather chair (?).
Breakfast was very good and included in price, but was a little chaotic at 8:00.
The staff in the hotel reception spoke good English and were very helpful.
The location is 100m from the 3 bridges and about 20mins from airport. You can book an airport taxi for 38euro and charge this to the room.

For info the hotel is next to the Grand Hotel Union Executive, this was not clear when I looked on Google for it's location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMmrsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and me were two nights at the hotel. The keywords are STYLE & SERVICE. Modern big room with all facilities, friendly staff and good restaurant. Great central location. The hotel deserve to be visited!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bratonsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great location, just 100 meters from the Triple Bridge, where you can find restaurants and bars. Clean, spacious rooms and friendly staff. Excellent free WiFi and fitness center, with a swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spanougakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
227 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and I have to agree with the other reviews on TA. The location is great and we used the parking underground as you don't need a car. The room was modern and very big. All normal facilities. There is a pool which we didn't use. The town centre is 2 mins away and everywhere is an easy walk.the only minor point is that I thought the breakfast was only okay especially for a 4 Star hotel. I wood expect "real" breakfast cereal in this type of hotel and while the rest of the hotel staff are very friendly the breakfast staff could smile a bit more.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LuxTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed at the Grand Union Business hotel for three nights in May. On arrival I thought I may have made a mistake as the building is ugly! However I soon changed my mind. The reception staff were very friendly and check in was quick and efficient. The room and bathroom were huge, very modern and clean. The breakfast provided was plentiful and enough choice to suit everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chanksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#11 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#7 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Union Business? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Union Business

Property: Grand Hotel Union Business
Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 3, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ljubljana
#5 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
#7 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Union Business 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious and comfortable Grand Hotel Union Business enjoys a privileged location in the financial and shopping district of Ljubljana's city centre. Renovated rooms feature elegant design, high-quality furnishings, free WIFI access and relaxation options adjusted to the requirements of every traveller ... Perfect combination of spacious rooms and modern facilities. Elegant a la carte restaurant with delicious cuisine is led by the head of Slovenian national culinary team. For a delicious warm or cold cake, visit the The Grand Union Cafe and enjoy the unique confectionery based on ancient recipes. Unwind at the indoor swimming pool, during a sauna or a massage and enjoy the souvenir shop, a fashion boutique and a jewelry shop. The Grand Hotel Union provides 20 multi-functional conference rooms with a capacity for up to 800 participants and many other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Grand Hotel Union Business reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing