We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couple of days in Ljubljana”
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Central Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I thought this hotel fully deserving of a 4* rating. Smart, helpful, attentive staff, good size room and a large enough breakfast (if you want it) to fill you up for the day. Excellent location, a few hundred metres from the bus station and five minutes walk from the centre of Ljubljana, a very modern and clean capital city with a different feel to any I have ever been to before. Would happily use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lionel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here for the second time (after a few months' break), on this occasion for two nights.

As before the reception was very friendly.

The room itself was small but clean and comfortable, with very good WiFi. There is only an old fashioned "key" safe in the room, which is a bit annoying.

This time the bathroom I had was really falling apart. The soap tray in the shower looked like it was about to fall off, and there was mildew in various places. The whole bathroom felt old with chips on the floor and a very old toilet. When I mentioned this to reception, they didn't seem to understand what the problem was. The bathrooms really need to be completely redone and not patched up.

That aside, the breakfast was really good, and even better if you considered the price. And as I said everything else is great. they just need to fix the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rabbitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Good accommodation, clean rooms and functional air conditioning. Friendly and helpful staff and a good spread for breakfast. The staff helped us plan our day trips to Bled and the Triglav National park with taxi which ended up being very personalized, and not much more expensive compared to those 20 or 50 person tours. I would highly recommend to stay at this hotel which is a few minutes walking distance from all the attractions which Ljubljana has to offer.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pawan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel. The location is fantastic- only about a 2 minute walk to the bus station and about 3 minutes to the main square. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room was big and clean. Breakfast was included and there was a decent selection (fruit, cereal, tea/coffee, croissants, yoghurt, bread, hot food). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Helpful, friendly and professional check in. Very comfortable room, with a large comfortable bed, very good shower, very good wifi. A 5 minute walk from main square so location could not be better especially given the price. We found the breakfast selection to be excellent. There was a large selection of cereals, fruit, breads, cheese, cooked items and you could also choose from four cook to order options (all egg based). Didn't use the hotel car park as we located a surface car park 5 minute walk from the hotel behind a petrol station that charged €11 for 2 nights, rather than the reduced rate of €19 / night offered by the hotel (which is actually a reduced rate). On street parking is possible and is free from 1pm Saturday to 7am Monday morning. We would without doubt stay here again and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandDublinDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Good location, close to train and bus stations but in a nice quiet street and a short walk to city centre. Excellent value. Clean and spacious room, good fresh and extensive buffet breakfast. Helpful and welcoming staff. Nice small bar with outside seating too. Free wi fi throughout and free use of computers in lobby.
Without giving them notice, I celebrated my birthday there and after the housekeeping staff saw cards in the room, I returned that day to find a card and little cake from the hotel which I thought was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EveMc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

[good points]
- Room is clean.
- Staff is friendly.
- Breakfast is nice.

[bad points]
- Shower box is a little bit old and small, but not very bad in general.
- At the very end of my stay -- just when I was about to check out -- I had to pay 4 euros just to ask the staff to call a taxi...which was shocking for me. I was expecting it as part of their free service, because this hotel is not a very low-price hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous_japanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,782 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,469 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#12 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,067 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 9, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: £69 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel is a comfortable and cosy Ljubljana hotel. Its unique location in the city centre gives it a special sense of practicality and comfort. Central Hotel offers comfortable accommodation with 71 hotel rooms and 3 suites at good value rates The equipment in the rooms and suites: cable and pay-per-view TV, direct telephone, an internet connection by the writing desk, a mini bar, a safe, a bathroom with a shower or bath-tub and a hair dryer and anti-allergenic floor covering. All rooms in the hotel are air-conditioned. The hotel has smoking and non-smoking rooms arranged by floors. The hotel also has a laundry room, where guests may have their laundry washed and ironed for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing