We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round choice!”
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is well located and close to all the attractions in Ljubljana. The pink church (and Preseren square) are just a few minutes walk away, free guided tours operate from the church at 11.00 am and 3.00 pm every day (during tourist season). Make sure you take advantage of this as it is truly wonderful!!
The hotel is adequate in every department. It is not a grand hotel, the rooms are pretty basic and may be in need of a little re-modernisation but they are big enough and very clean. Maid service operates every day. There are no tea/coffee facilities within the room which was a little disappointing but not disastrous.
Reception staff are generally friendly enough and the hotel offers a competitive foreign exchange rate which is useful although we were not always able to get it depending on which member of staff was on reception at the time. On a couple of occasions we were sent down to their sister Hotel, Union Business Hotel (a few minutes away) because the reception staff did not appear to have been trained sufficiently enough to carry out the task but hey ho the Union Hotel staff were happy to oblige.
The breakfast is served on the 6th floor daily from 6-10 am and is buffet style, eat as much as you want. There is a varied choice of food offerings which should meet the needs of everyone and we enjoyed it.
This Hotel as I mentioned earlier is not an exceptionally grand hotel but I would consider returning as it does represent good value for money and it contributed to an unbelievable stay in beautiful Ljubljana and you cant say fairer than that!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is the third in the Grand Hotel group and the restaurant is located at the hotel down the road. It caters mainly for groups and the rooms reflect this. They are compact to put it politely but adequate for a short stay. The building layout means some rooms are a bit smaller and we had one of those. There is one large suite on each floor. Standard needs are met, there is free wifi and rooms are clean. Not a recommendation but not an avoid either. Like all hotels, laundry costs are high, but we did find a launderette who would wash and dry a bag load for €5. It is a stroll to the station but note the international trains need an extra five minutes allowance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chase_Mollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel was excellent- double room was very generous in size. The hotel itself was a 5 min walk to the Triple Bridge. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Facilities were great with access to pool, gym and sauna. Secure undercover parking for cars is also available.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

excellent hotel. clean rooms. comfortable bed. convenient location. easy walk to the tourist area, market and restaurants. extremely helpful and friendly staff. typical breakfast but was very good. we were able to find inexpensive street side parking for our car.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jpweant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I thought this hotel fully deserving of a 4* rating. Smart, helpful, attentive staff, good size room and a large enough breakfast (if you want it) to fill you up for the day. Excellent location, a few hundred metres from the bus station and five minutes walk from the centre of Ljubljana, a very modern and clean capital city with a different feel to any I have ever been to before. Would happily use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lionel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here for the second time (after a few months' break), on this occasion for two nights.

As before the reception was very friendly.

The room itself was small but clean and comfortable, with very good WiFi. There is only an old fashioned "key" safe in the room, which is a bit annoying.

This time the bathroom I had was really falling apart. The soap tray in the shower looked like it was about to fall off, and there was mildew in various places. The whole bathroom felt old with chips on the floor and a very old toilet. When I mentioned this to reception, they didn't seem to understand what the problem was. The bathrooms really need to be completely redone and not patched up.

That aside, the breakfast was really good, and even better if you considered the price. And as I said everything else is great. they just need to fix the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rabbitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Good accommodation, clean rooms and functional air conditioning. Friendly and helpful staff and a good spread for breakfast. The staff helped us plan our day trips to Bled and the Triglav National park with taxi which ended up being very personalized, and not much more expensive compared to those 20 or 50 person tours. I would highly recommend to stay at this hotel which is a few minutes walking distance from all the attractions which Ljubljana has to offer.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank pawan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#9 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,852 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#16 of 31 in Ljubljana
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 9, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: £64 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel is a comfortable and cosy Ljubljana hotel. Its unique location in the city centre gives it a unique sense of practicality and comfort. Central Hotel offers comfortable accommodation with 71 hotel rooms and 3 suites at great value rates The equipment in the rooms and suites: cable TV, direct telephone, free WIFI, an internet connection by the writing desk, a minibar, a safe, a bathroom with a shower or bath-tub and a hairdryer and anti-allergenic floor covering. All rooms in the hotel are air-conditioned. The hotel has smoking and non-smoking rooms arranged by floors. The hotel also has a laundry room, where guests may have their laundry washed and ironed for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing