We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and staff”
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Central Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Stayed at the central hotel for 3 nights. It is a great hotel with very friendly staff. The rooms were thoroughly cleaned every day and the breakfast was great. It is a little walk to the river but really not a long one and felt very safe walking at night too. There is a computer with free internet and printer in the lobby too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahtraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed here on the way back from Lake Bohinj. We tried to get back into the Slon Hotel but they were fully booked so chose this one. It says it is 4 star just like the Slon but in comparison it is only 3 star. The rooms are nowhere near as nice and the breakfast buffet was extremely average in comparison to the Slon. There was rather a unfriendly older man on reception who did not make you feel at all welcome in fact he was quite surly. I would not stay here again.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank sofieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We stayed at the Central Hotel for 3 nights in May.

The reviews we have seen on Tripadvisor were somewhat mixed but we were very happy with the hotel. It was in a superb location, just a few minutes walk from the main square and river in Ljubljana.

The room itself was not huge but very comfortable, clean, and quiet.

The breakfast (included in our price) did not have an enormous choice but an adequate selection of hot and cold foods and drinks, and was in a pleasant dining area.

Just two minor gripes:

1) The weekend we were there, the weather (and our room) got quite hot. When I mentioned to the reception staff that the aircon didn't seem to be working, we were told it wasn't being switched on in the hotel until 15th May, so there was nothing they could do.

2) One of the reception staff was efficient but not particularly welcoming or smiling - and also somewhat blunt when informing us about the air conditioning (see above)! That said, the other reception staff were very good and very willing to offer us good advice, eg on travelling to Lake Bled for a day.

Overall, whilst not offering a huge range of facilities, this is a very comfortable hotel in a great location, and we would recommend it.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WanderingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We had reserved in one hotel but when we got there, lots of things convinced us to find another lodging, and quick. We walked past the Grand Union Hotel and decided to ask about accommodations. And are we glad we did! We had a lovely room at a reasonable rate and between the service, ease of underground parking (at nominal fee), central location and all around elegant style, we had a great rest and enjoyable stay in Ljubljana and plan to return to stay at Grand Hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We were booked into this hotel by the conference organizers, and as other travelers have written already, it is easy to confuse it with the other two, well-placed Union hotels (Grand and Business or something like that) where I stayed before and which are much nicer. This is a normal, modern business hotel - absolutely adequate and in my opinion between *** and **** but not more than that. I found the staff always very friendly and courteous, but the one request I had they did not honor before the third time, and day, I asked. No wireless internet but free with cable in the room; slightly jarring windows (so noisy even on the top floor); adequate breakfast with some good pastries (and when I left very early in the morning, a free boxed breakfast was provided - not anymore the norm). For what it is, a bit overpriced. One can stay there without any greater problems, but the two other houses of the group are just better in about any respect and - if one can get through the jungle of special and last-minute offers - not necessarily much more expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Below-average quality hotel with impolite staff who offer no hospitality, cramped buffet area and small noisy rooms. Definitely overpriced and not worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexander_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

The location is perfect, close to the train station, five minutes walk from old town, you'll be close to everything that you need. The staff is helpful, the rooms are clean and the breakfast is just wonderful. It makes you ready for the rest of the day. Congratulations to all!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,759 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Ljubljana
City Hotel Ljubljana
#10 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,451 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#12 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,107 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Ljubljana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: Mikloshicheva cesta 9, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: £71 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel is a comfortable and cosy Ljubljana hotel. Its unique location in the city centre gives it a special sense of practicality and comfort. Central Hotel offers comfortable accommodation with 71 hotel rooms and 3 suites at good value rates The equipment in the rooms and suites: cable and pay-per-view TV, direct telephone, an internet connection by the writing desk, a mini bar, a safe, a bathroom with a shower or bath-tub and a hair dryer and anti-allergenic floor covering. All rooms in the hotel are air-conditioned. The hotel has smoking and non-smoking rooms arranged by floors. The hotel also has a laundry room, where guests may have their laundry washed and ironed for an additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing