We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing! we didnt want to leave...”
Review of Hostel Celica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Celica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

this hostel is too cool for words!! its one of the best hostels that I have ever stayed at! wish we were here for longer, its great for singles, couples or families, the food was immaculate, the best i have had at a hostel - the rooms are unique and comfortable bunks, i love the idea about the hostle how it used to be old cells

You got to wonder around the property and see the amazingly unique art work created here!

honestly, dont think about this, book it!

its a 10-15min walk to the old part of town but its right near the train station so very convenient!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzzSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Thirteen of us stayed in the cells on the first floor for a friend's stag party and the cells provide a truly unique experience. The staff both pre-arrival (Monika and Petra) and once we had checked in, were all extremely helpful and ensured that we had a great stay. Breakfast is quite basic, but completely fine given the overall cost to stay at the hostel is very reasonable.

The hostel is in a great location, surrounded by lots of street art and installations, and just a short walk into the centre of beautiful Ljubljana. The hostel is also a great place to hang out, with a decent bar and patio area and lots of comfy seating inside, too.

I'd definitely recommend staying at Celica, and have no doubt I'll stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Definitely try to stay in the cells on the first floor. Take an eye-mask for sleeping as some cells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is by far the coolest hostel I have ever been to. It has the unique interior as all rooms are made as prison cells, and all are completely different. I always choose the cell because they are 2 or 3 bedded. Floor bathrooms are perfectly clear.
The staff is great, very welcoming and cool. There is always something going on in the lobby cafes, and breakfast is also ok.
I always choose Celica when visiting Ljubljana, even though I have a lot of friends there to stay at.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavidaesuncarnaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

this is a stylish hostel, very much worth the money, great atmosphere, friendly people and a band was even on when I stayed there, was a little disappointed about my room though.... I expected to stay in a cell but was in a normal room, everything else about the hostel though was top class

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave-Rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It used to be a prision, and the rooms are actually cells. It's a different way to go. It's a great place t hang out, the external area is really nice for a beer (and pizza). Showers are shared, but definetely OK.

Room Tip: Try to avoid having the window to the external area, it can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Every single one in the city that I asked for a hostel knew about this place. The staff was great. Hostel Celica was chosen because of the ex-prison cell concept that they brand themselves as it was not exactly the cheapest hostel around. It doesn't quite live up the hype, but the building is beautiful and artistic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Every single one in the city that I asked for a hostel knew about this place. For a hostel, it's quite huge, I think. The staff was great, really helped me to continue my (hitchhiking) trip with a few good tips and at the restaurant I even managed to get myself a complimentary cup of soup from a lovely waitress. The food is not cheap, but then again, it's good and plenty. Honestly, the stay was a bit too expensive, considering you share a room with 12 people.

Room Tip: I was in the dorm and the beds there are just fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
2.2 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
400 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bit Center Hotel
Bit Center Hotel
#26 of 31 in Ljubljana
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Trojane
Hotel Trojane
#30 of 31 in Ljubljana
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,755 reviews
14.8 mi away
Terme Snovik
Terme Snovik
#28 of 31 in Ljubljana
177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vila Veselova
Vila Veselova
#2 of 59 in Ljubljana
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Celica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Celica

Address: Metelkova ulica 8, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Phone Number:
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 94 Speciality Lodging in Ljubljana
Price Range: £24 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Celica 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HIPPEST HOSTEL #1 by Lonely Planet - situated in the centre of Ljubljana: train station - 3 min, Three bridges: 8 min walking distance - UNIQUE EXPERIENCE: Sleep in 20 artistically renovated former prison cells (a priceless work of art). - Artistically renovated former prison into a modern youth hostel - Food & beverage facilities - Cultural events, art gallery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel Celica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Celica Hotel Ljubljana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing