We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel Ljubljana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Hotel Ljubljana
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

Hotel is central to markets, old town. Internet in lobby, spacious restaurant, gd breakfast. Had a renovated double room which was well planned. Price reasonable, compared to other Western European countries. Would definitely stay there again.
PJO, Perth Australia

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PJO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    607
    215
    46
    14
See reviews for
227
369
99
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cividale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2007

I really liked this hotel. Its very central, comfortable and has everything you need. The rooms are failry spartan in terms of decor but the beds is comfortable and the downstairs reception area is great- bar, restaurant, internet plus a small library. Great place to stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank piccolotours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2007

My husband & I stayed in the CityHotel 3 nights in September. They held a "Grand Opening" celebration while we were there. It's very modern (Art Deco style), colorful, unique, very, very nice. It's within walking distance of downtown shopping, the old part of town (with outdoor eating), the train station and bus stop. The staff was friendly, room nice & clean, the bathroom looked new. Our room key/card also activated the elevator (hold it in front of an electronic eye in the elevator & the elevator stops on the correct floor where your room is located.) Breakfast buffet was included in the price and the the food was plentiful & good. We saw bicycles there for use by those staying at the hotel. We had an early flight - so early we had to leave the hotel by taxi at 4:45 AM. The staff not only set up the taxi the night before, but they also had the kitchen prepare a "breakfast in a bag" thing for both of us since we had to leave the hotel prior to the time the breakfast buffet began. It was not too far by train (or bus) to the caves in Postojna. We love Ljubljana (it was our second time there) and would definitely stay in this hotel again. No complaints from Ohio.

  • Liked — location, decor
  • Disliked — liked everything about it
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CK_CLARK_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2007

This is in fact a 2 stars hotel which charges 5 stars hotel prices.
The room price was outrageously high. The room was quite large, but it seems the "cool" "modern" decoration was more important than the guests comfort (There is no proper closet, no proper place to sit, no shelves in the shower room etc...) . Shower room was in a youth summer camp style. The view was of other romms' windows.The staff was impolite and inefficient. This hotel doesn't posses a proper luggage room, and is not located in the city centre. I would advise anyone I know not to stay there. I would definitely not stay there again!!!

  • Liked — Nothing at all
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RetoUeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2007

Very friendly staff, clean rooms and excellent service. The location was perfect, close to all major attractions. The hotel and the city is higly recomended.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LilTroNo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2007

We stayed here in August 2007. The double room cost 150 euros which we thought was expensive for what you got. the hotel is very nice and clean so we can't complain too much. the reception/breakfast area is very modern and looks brilliant but the rooms were fairly basic. We had a twin room despite booking a double. If the cost had been lower we would have been very happy as the room was very clean, recently renovated, had air con etc. It just seemed very expensive for what you got. maybe we were ripped off! In hindsight I would stay at the hotel union which is about 50 metres away and is very luxurious.
one good thing about the hotel was that they hire bikes out for free which is a great way to see the city.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — not good value for money
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank No_1_Derbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

Right in the middle of Ljubljana. Triple room cost just over £80 bed and breakfast for all three of us. Hotel is being modernised and some reviews make this appear offputting but don't be! May be worth asking for a renovated room for a few months until all rooms are finished. Very modern, big room, everything really well thought out - like room under the wardrobes for the suitcases, lovely toiletries, roomsafe. First class air conditioning. Beware automatic lights - we spend ages one night trying to find the off switch - it's movement activated!!
Decor is Easyjet orange but it's very pleasing on the eye with good quality duvets and pillows and covers. Breakfast on first morning a bit busy and noisy - it's in the very big entrance foyer and there appeared to be a big, big tour staying in the hotel but there was still loads to eat and drink and lots of variety and you can eat from 7 til 10am. Coffee was terrible but that was our experience in most Slovenian hotels.. We had room 301. Would definitely return.

  • Liked — all new, first class furnishings, well thought out by people who've travelled a lot
  • Disliked — breakfast room and coffee!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Aramanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#13 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
0.5 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#14 of 30 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ljubljana

Property: City Hotel Ljubljana
Address: Dalmatinova ulica 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ljubljana 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is located in the very heart of Ljubljana and is an excellent choice for both business guests and tourists to discover the charms of Ljubljana and Slovenia. It has a wonderful view of Ljubljana Castle and the city cathedral, and an ideal location just a stone’s throw from the historic old town. This pleasant hotel among the vibrant city inns, shops, and attractive historical buildings offers local Slovenian and international cuisine as well as a state-of-the-art congress center. The Jože Pučnik international airport is only 25 km from the hotel, and the main railway and bus station is only 400 m away. The hotel is easy to access from all of the city’s major roads; once in the city, you simply follow the blue hotel signs. Ljubljana’s City Hotel is the successor to the venerable Štrukelj Hotel, which opened in 1907. The current hotel excels in its friendly staff, the warmth of its rooms, and a broad range of services found at an excellent location in the very city center. City Hotel has 201 rooms, three luxury suites, an underground garage, a conference center with four meeting rooms, a library, a terrace, an Internet corner, a restaurant, and a bar. City Hotel’s complete makeover concluded with its opening in September 2007. The “basic” and “standard” rooms were renovated, and the “superior” rooms were moved to a completely new part of the hotel. All of the rooms use a card-locking system and all of them have free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your City Hotel Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ljubljana Cityhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing