We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Hotel Ljubljana
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, great location!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Lovely hotel with very good location and delicious breakfast. Would be better if the juices were fresh. Boxed juices are a No No in my book! Overall, nice. Lovely town of Ljubljana, would love to go back someday!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gattalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    627
    222
    47
    14
See reviews for
238
386
102
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As I was arriving and departing by train, this hotel was perfectly situated. It's just a straight 5 minute walk to the train and 5 minutes in the other direction to the centre of this beautiful city.

Staff were friendly and very helpful. I had an issue with the keycard I was given and the member of staff came up to my room with the new key to ensure it was working.

Breakfast was good. A surprisingly wide selection accompanied by less than enthusiastic staff - but I'm no morning person either!

Room was small and very standard. Tiny shower. Extremely clean. Good TV selection and adequate WiFi.

The building itself is a standard 70-80s construction with a relatively recent cosmetic update. Do not expect charm or character.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel based on good value for money and great location. However if I was went back with my wife I would probably try something with a little more character across the river in the heart of the old town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear “OliverN5”,
Thank you for taking time and writing a review about our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself in our beautiful capital. I can assume from your review that you stayed in one of our standard rooms, which are smaller and more basic. Our superior rooms are more spacious and bright. If you really want to bring Ljubljana into your hotel room, our superior rooms with a balcony are your best choice. A direct view of the Ljubljana Castle and the old city centre will give a special charm to your stay. And also the spacious bathroom with a bath and shower would be more to your liking.
Kind regards,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
282 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel City (formerly Turist) is situated just 100 meters away from central Miklosiceva street and maybe 200 meters away from more expensive hotels Union and Central (ex Austrotel). It will take you less than 5 minutes to reach the very heart of Ljubljana, Tromostovje (Triple bridge) and its lovely old streets around the bridge and along Ljubljanica river. Check-in was very efficient, I took a double room (No 307) for a single use and it was really big, with partial view on the hill and castle above Ljubljana. Lobby is spacy and bright and 3 elevators seem to be quite sufficient for the hotel. Room was comfortable, however I did not like much a fact there is no closet for clothes, as it is in essence and open box with hangers - but this box is open from a side and it really did not matter much. Bed was comfortable and wide, view on a street in front of the hotel and city bus stop (buses were not noisy). Bathroom was large, shower cabin very large and leveled with the floor. Plastic curtain is protection the rest of the bathroom from water from shower, the feel would be better with kind of a doors as curtain kept flying in the cabin due to difference in temperature. But this is minor objection. Flat TV is too small for the size of the room and any serious watching. The wall to the next room seem to be too thin as I could hear TV and talk, even it was not loud. Breakfast was very good, sausages, scrambled eggs, some fruit, juices, cheese, hams, choice of excellent bread, hot juices, served as a Swedish buffet. Check out was also very efficient, and small taxi rank is right outside the hotel (during the night taxis are not waiting there, but next taxi rank by hotel Union is very close). Hotel was frequented both by younger people and middle age and older tourists (well, price then does not seem to be that cheap but still affordable) as well as businessmen. Staff very polite and helpful. Definitely will stay again in City hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Filotije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Mr. Filotije,
Thank you for taking your time to write such a thorough review about our hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We continually strive to improve our product and services in order to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible. We already have some good news for you. New, bigger flat screen TVs are already in the house and will be installed shortly.
Thank you again for choosing City Hotel Ljubljana and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here for eleven nights on a business trip and loved it. Very comfortable room, great WiFi, super nice staff always ready to help.You don't have to check out at a given time - they over extensions by the hour and very reasonable. The only slight critique would be the breakfast - a little more variety would be good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 796Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear “796Pauline”,
Thank you so much for your kind review. We pride ourselves with our WiFi service which is according to a research we’ve just received among top 20 in the world. We hope to host you again soon on one of your future business trips.
Kind regards,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
600 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel is an excellent choice for a business stay or a tour of the city. The location is great - a short walk to the river and all the restaurants and sights there.
The bed was comfortable. The windows open, but the traffic noise was high in my room.
Breakfast was simple but adequate. All in all, a good value for the money, and a lovely city right there at the doorstep.

Room Tip: Lower floors can have high traffic noise - choose a higher floor, and not facing the neighboring bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celje, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

In short, this was a perfect place for our conference.
Venue has a lot of daylight, fast Wifi, all the necessary equipment and professional staff.
Location is amazing, 5 min walk to city centre.
All participants who stayed at the hotel were happy with rooms and service.
I would recommend this hotel for everybody who need professional service and good accommodation in centre. Value for money!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teak245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear “teak245”,
Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are very glad to hear that you were more than satisfied with our services. We always try to make our guests’ event planning as easy as possible by providing the perfect venue, all technical support needed, customized catering, and even a fully equipped business room where lecturers and moderators can prepare for the seminar or workshop. Therefore, we are very happy to learn that your event was a success. Thanks again and we hope to host you again soon!
Kind regards,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed in City hotel for 2 nights on our tour of Europe.

The hotel was very nice, the staff quite pleasent and helpfull.

The room was neat, well furbished, the bathroom to our liking.
Not much in terms of noise during the night, so sleep came easy for us, plus the beds are quite comfortable. The city center was only a few minutes walk away.
The breakfast was plentiful and varied.

A good hotel if you want to spend a few days exploring the city of Ljubljanam

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#14 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#15 of 31 in Ljubljana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ljubljana

Property: City Hotel Ljubljana
Address: Dalmatinova ulica 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ljubljana 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is located in the very heart of Ljubljana and is an excellent choice for both business guests and tourists to discover the charms of Ljubljana and Slovenia. It has a wonderful view of Ljubljana Castle and the city cathedral, and an ideal location just a stone’s throw from the historic old town. This pleasant hotel among the vibrant city inns, shops, and attractive historical buildings offers local Slovenian and international cuisine as well as a state-of-the-art congress center. The Jože Pučnik international airport is only 25 km from the hotel, and the main railway and bus station is only 400 m away. The hotel is easy to access from all of the city’s major roads; once in the city, you simply follow the blue hotel signs. Ljubljana’s City Hotel is the successor to the venerable Štrukelj Hotel, which opened in 1907. The current hotel excels in its friendly staff, the warmth of its rooms, and a broad range of services found at an excellent location in the very city center. City Hotel has 201 rooms, three luxury suites, an underground garage, a conference center with four meeting rooms, a library, a terrace, an Internet corner, a restaurant, and a bar. City Hotel’s complete makeover concluded with its opening in September 2007. The “basic” and “standard” rooms were renovated, and the “superior” rooms were moved to a completely new part of the hotel. All of the rooms use a card-locking system and all of them have free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ljubljana Cityhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing