We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Ljubljana
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Location is very good, just a short walk from Prešeren Square and the train/bus station. The bed was extremely comfortable - which made up for the fact that the room was quite small. This was not a problem for us - but people should be aware that based on looking at the plan of the hotel on the "in case of fire" information there are many rooms which are really extremely small. Breakfast was generally excellent, and the free WiFi was relatively fast and reliable. The service was also good - the staff were quite accommodating regarding breakfast in bed on the unfortunate occasion that my girlfriend contracted food poisoning (not from the hotel!!). The hotel was generally quite busy and is really suited as a business option, but the atmosphere was not chaotic and was just fine for a couple on holiday!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Matt,
Thank you for writing your review. We are sorry to hear your girlfriend got food poisoning on the trip and we are happy we could help her feel a little better by providing her with breakfast in bed. We try to make our guests feel as comfortable as we can by providing the best service possible. We are sorry you were disappointed with your room-size. Some of our standard rooms are a little smaller but we believe we make up for it with the comfortable beds where you can really get a good rest after a tiring day.
We hope you enjoyed Ljubljana and you will visit us again sometimes.
Kind regards,
Tina Možina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

As the bars for a three day conference this was an excellent venue. It is a standard three star hotel with a good level of facility. Rooms are comfortable, large enough, bathrooms clean and with good showers. The public spaces are uncluttered and the staff busy and attentive. Perhaps too attentive whipping the plates away as you put down your knife and fork down at breakfast.
Meals are simple and adequate. This is a working place but one where you could easily stay to explore the city and surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nymca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear »nymca«,
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We are very happy to learn that you had a nice rest after a hard working day in the comfort of our rooms. We hope you also took the advantage of our great location to also explore the city centre during your stay.
Kind regards and we hope we can host you again sometime in the future,
Tina Možina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have been here only once and all I can say is that for 4* and price that City hotel offers, I would strongly recommend it to everyone.

I have had only BB (bed and breakfast) service included and their breakfast was amazing, especially pencakes! :)

P.S. The best front office staff, esepcially Almir Sretenovic! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaMNE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Ana,
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are officially a 3* hotel, but thank you for giving us 4! We hope we can host you again sometimes on one of your future journeys and we will make sure Almir is at the reception desk when you arrive! :)
Kind regards,
Tina Možina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed as part of Travelsphere group. The rather austere hotel exterior detracts from a very clean and modern hotel inside just 5 minutes walk from city centre. Large modern clean room with all facilities and good free WiFi. Food was a set menu and disappointing (in fact went to eat out on second night) - cause might well have been Travelsphere driving costs down hence lower quality offering. Food aside a very good stay.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the small main street at the side of the hotel but on the 3rd floor noise was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royt974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Roy,
Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are, however, very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food and we already informed the head chef on this matter. We wanted to offer you traditional Slovenian dishes and perhaps their specific tastes were not to your liking. Our restaurant is usually praised for its food and we have many regular guests coming in for daily lunches. Again we are sorry for the inconvenience and we will do our best that it doesn’t happen again.
Kind regards,
Tina Možina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

easily walkable from station and right near the river. 5 mins to the 3 bridges and the beautiful heart of Ljubljana. decent breakfast, large rooms and friendly helpful front desk staff.
good place to stay when exploring Ljubljana.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Sushisoo,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear you were satisfied with the service of our staff and we will make sure the compliments are passed on to them. I can also see that you enjoyed the location of the hotel which is really advantageous for all our guests coming to Ljubljana by train and want to explore its beautiful attractions on foot.
We wish you all the best on your future journeys!
Kind regards,
Tina Možina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I spent only one night in City Hotel, hence I really have just the first impession. Before I came to Ljubljana, I checked the website of the hotel. I was surprised, when I saw the size of the room there. Later, when I arrived, I already understand why put there.

I came by car, and I could use the underground garage. It cost about 20€ per night, but it is normal. I arrived about 9pm, and I was alone, probably that is, why I get one really small room. It was not more than 15qm, and the bathroom was max.3qm. A huge cell-fan was over my bad, which was quiet unusual in one modern hotel. It was a double-bad in the room, so it seems to be a double-room, but I do not think, that there is enough place for two people. But anyway the night was quiet, because my room was faced for the court, and I could not hear noices from the corridor.

The breakfastroom was full at 7am, but there were lot of empty tables. I had to stand in line for the coffee, after for the eggs and it took long time.

I propose City Hotel for both, couples, and business travellers, but I suppose to check the type and the size of the room, before the reservation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This perfectly located hotel is quite nice, seemingly newly renovated, with spacious room and bathroom (our was, at least, although I heard from others in our group that theirs had a spare bed squeezed in and only one place for a suitcase (in a double room). It was clean and comfortable but not well sound proofed to the hall.
However, the food was another matter. Breakfast was adequate but often ran out of choices; we sometimes had to wait a while for more. Dinner was terrible (we had brkf and dinner included): soups very watery, salad bar lacking and main meal worse. We also would have liked a jug of water on the table (juice machine, which also had a cold water dispenser, was turned off at dinner). Staff was very friendly. We would easily recommend this hotel but warn others to go elsewhere for dinner.

Room Tip: I don't know which rooms have the extra bed - ours did not and was nice and roomy, so the advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Enamos,
Thank you very much for taking time to write your review of our hotel. Thank you for compliments about our accommodation and service of our staff, we will make sure to let them know about your message. We always strive to provide our guests with the best product and service as possible and we are thus very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food at dinner. We notified our head chef about your complaint and we will make sure to avoid such flops in the future. Usually guests praise our restaurant and they keep returning for our daily lunch offer and our a la carte dishes. We hope you nonetheless enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our great location to explore the beautiful Ljubljana.
Kind regards and all the best on your future journeys,
Tina Možina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,855 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ahotel Hotel Ljubljana
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
406 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#12 of 31 in Ljubljana
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ljubljana

Address: Dalmatinova ulica 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range: £65 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ljubljana 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is located in the very heart of Ljubljana and is an excellent choice for both business guests and tourists to discover the charms of Ljubljana and Slovenia. It has a wonderful view of Ljubljana Castle and the city cathedral, and an ideal location just a stone’s throw from the historic old town. This pleasant hotel among the vibrant city inns, shops, and attractive historical buildings offers local Slovenian and international cuisine as well as a state-of-the-art congress center. The Jože Pučnik international airport is only 25 km from the hotel, and the main railway and bus station is only 400 m away. The hotel is easy to access from all of the city’s major roads; once in the city, you simply follow the blue hotel signs. Ljubljana’s City Hotel is the successor to the venerable Štrukelj Hotel, which opened in 1907. The current hotel excels in its friendly staff, the warmth of its rooms, and a broad range of services found at an excellent location in the very city center. City Hotel has 201 rooms, three luxury suites, an underground garage, a conference center with four meeting rooms, a library, a terrace, an Internet corner, a restaurant, and a bar. City Hotel’s complete makeover concluded with its opening in September 2007. The “basic” and “standard” rooms were renovated, and the “superior” rooms were moved to a completely new part of the hotel. All of the rooms use a card-locking system and all of them have free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Hotel Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ljubljana Cityhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing