We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Friendly, Comfortable and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel Ljubljana
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location, Friendly, Comfortable and Clean”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good central location, 5 minute walk to Preseren Square and tram. Close to train station. Good breakfast with a lot of variety, parking lot -costs extra. Rooms were spacious, clean, comfortable bed. The internet free with good download speed. The front desk was helpful and pleasant. We had a corner room with view of castle. Hotel bar closed down early. Definitely would stay at this hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGoehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    616
    216
    46
    14
See reviews for
232
375
99
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Greece
Level Contributor
144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I visited the hotel recently and was greatly disappointed. Small room, spartan in its furnishings, no air conditioning, no mini bar, no water or even a glass in the room. The only redeeming area of the hotel was its underground garage and the lobby. In terms of value for money, I would say a maximum of 40 Euros per room would be fair for the quality of the premise. Instead we paid around 100 Euros per room. One evening a friend wanted to have whisky. She had a single malt, and asked for some peanuts to munch. The bar did not have any! After a lot of effort, the bar tender managed to get some crisps. Next time I will try the nearby Union Hotel. But definitely not City Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panathinaeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Panathinaeos,
Thank you for writing your review. We are very sorry to hear you were so disappointed with your stay here. It is true that our standard rooms are very simple, but one has to understand that we are a 3*** hotel. We are right now in high season so the prices are driven up because our capacities are almost full. Our prices are still very much in line with the prices of the competition. Once again, we are sorry you were disappointed. We do strive to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible and many are very satisfied with our service and they keep returning. I would very much like to see you again in our hotel, so please feel free to contact me next time and we will do our best to improve our image in your eyes.
Kind regards,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for three nights. Location is very good, just a short walk from Prešeren Square and the train/bus station. The bed was extremely comfortable - which made up for the fact that the room was quite small. This was not a problem for us - but people should be aware that based on looking at the plan of the hotel on the "in case of fire" information there are many rooms which are really extremely small. Breakfast was generally excellent, and the free WiFi was relatively fast and reliable. The service was also good - the staff were quite accommodating regarding breakfast in bed on the unfortunate occasion that my girlfriend contracted food poisoning (not from the hotel!!). The hotel was generally quite busy and is really suited as a business option, but the atmosphere was not chaotic and was just fine for a couple on holiday!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Matt,
Thank you for writing your review. We are sorry to hear your girlfriend got food poisoning on the trip and we are happy we could help her feel a little better by providing her with breakfast in bed. We try to make our guests feel as comfortable as we can by providing the best service possible. We are sorry you were disappointed with your room-size. Some of our standard rooms are a little smaller but we believe we make up for it with the comfortable beds where you can really get a good rest after a tiring day.
We hope you enjoyed Ljubljana and you will visit us again sometimes.
Kind regards,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

As the bars for a three day conference this was an excellent venue. It is a standard three star hotel with a good level of facility. Rooms are comfortable, large enough, bathrooms clean and with good showers. The public spaces are uncluttered and the staff busy and attentive. Perhaps too attentive whipping the plates away as you put down your knife and fork down at breakfast.
Meals are simple and adequate. This is a working place but one where you could easily stay to explore the city and surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nymca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear »nymca«,
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We are very happy to learn that you had a nice rest after a hard working day in the comfort of our rooms. We hope you also took the advantage of our great location to also explore the city centre during your stay.
Kind regards and we hope we can host you again sometime in the future,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have been here only once and all I can say is that for 4* and price that City hotel offers, I would strongly recommend it to everyone.

I have had only BB (bed and breakfast) service included and their breakfast was amazing, especially pencakes! :)

P.S. The best front office staff, esepcially Almir Sretenovic! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaMNE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Ana,
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are officially a 3* hotel, but thank you for giving us 4! We hope we can host you again sometimes on one of your future journeys and we will make sure Almir is at the reception desk when you arrive! :)
Kind regards,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed as part of Travelsphere group. The rather austere hotel exterior detracts from a very clean and modern hotel inside just 5 minutes walk from city centre. Large modern clean room with all facilities and good free WiFi. Food was a set menu and disappointing (in fact went to eat out on second night) - cause might well have been Travelsphere driving costs down hence lower quality offering. Food aside a very good stay.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the small main street at the side of the hotel but on the 3rd floor noise was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Roy,
Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are, however, very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food and we already informed the head chef on this matter. We wanted to offer you traditional Slovenian dishes and perhaps their specific tastes were not to your liking. Our restaurant is usually praised for its food and we have many regular guests coming in for daily lunches. Again we are sorry for the inconvenience and we will do our best that it doesn’t happen again.
Kind regards,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

easily walkable from station and right near the river. 5 mins to the 3 bridges and the beautiful heart of Ljubljana. decent breakfast, large rooms and friendly helpful front desk staff.
good place to stay when exploring Ljubljana.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Sushisoo,
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to hear you were satisfied with the service of our staff and we will make sure the compliments are passed on to them. I can also see that you enjoyed the location of the hotel which is really advantageous for all our guests coming to Ljubljana by train and want to explore its beautiful attractions on foot.
We wish you all the best on your future journeys!
Kind regards,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 30 in Ljubljana
1,473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 30 in Ljubljana
979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Emonec
Hotel Emonec
#15 of 30 in Ljubljana
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Slon
0.6 mi away
Adora Hotel
Adora Hotel
#3 of 30 in Ljubljana
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#14 of 30 in Ljubljana
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ljubljana

Property: City Hotel Ljubljana
Address: Dalmatinova ulica 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ljubljana 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is located in the very heart of Ljubljana and is an excellent choice for both business guests and tourists to discover the charms of Ljubljana and Slovenia. It has a wonderful view of Ljubljana Castle and the city cathedral, and an ideal location just a stone’s throw from the historic old town. This pleasant hotel among the vibrant city inns, shops, and attractive historical buildings offers local Slovenian and international cuisine as well as a state-of-the-art congress center. The Jože Pučnik international airport is only 25 km from the hotel, and the main railway and bus station is only 400 m away. The hotel is easy to access from all of the city’s major roads; once in the city, you simply follow the blue hotel signs. Ljubljana’s City Hotel is the successor to the venerable Štrukelj Hotel, which opened in 1907. The current hotel excels in its friendly staff, the warmth of its rooms, and a broad range of services found at an excellent location in the very city center. City Hotel has 201 rooms, three luxury suites, an underground garage, a conference center with four meeting rooms, a library, a terrace, an Internet corner, a restaurant, and a bar. City Hotel’s complete makeover concluded with its opening in September 2007. The “basic” and “standard” rooms were renovated, and the “superior” rooms were moved to a completely new part of the hotel. All of the rooms use a card-locking system and all of them have free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ljubljana Cityhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing