We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay in Ljubljana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Hotel Ljubljana
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good stay in Ljubljana”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed for three days in this hotel due to a business trip. The hotel was located just in the center of the town and you can access the river promenade in just 1 min walk. Very good service and the rooms were clean and with a good view. The best rooms are in the 4th and 5th floor because of the view. But anyway what is to be mentioned is the breakfast area that was big enough with a good quality especially for the low price that this hotel has. Happy to have this experience.

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper part of the building. Higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlinda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    641
    227
    48
    14
See reviews for
242
401
105
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Positioned just outside (a couple of blocks) of old town, this hotel was perfect for our stay. Great breakfast too. Rooms are very clean, quiet and eco-friendly. Near the train station and there is garage parking if not too crowded and parking across the street if the garage is full. If you are coming down from Austria, stop first at Lake Bled, see the sight and then spend your time in Ljubljana. For a family of four, you can get adjoining rooms that open into one another. I loved this town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a castle view. Or if your a light sleeper - there are rooms that face into an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the old town. The breakfast is very good. The decor is modern and the staff are friendly and helpful. Definitely somewhere we will return to. The only downside is the extremely tight parking spaces in the basement.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug13Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We have organised a seminar in the hotel in May 2014, but as soon as we had a closing session the event management staff came in and starting getting our stuff out of the seminar room. I understand need for more business but overbooking does not keep your clients happy.

At the same time the people working at the reception were extremely rude and unprofessional in treating us as their customers. In a situation when they make a mistake they try to accuse you instead of taking responsibility.

If I could choose to do an event in Ljubljana again, I would certainly go to another hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Darko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 6 that visited the hotel in July. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful, the breakfast was great, and the location could not be better. We rented bikes from the hotel, which was a great way to explore the city. I can highly recommend this hotel! We will definately return on our next visit to Slovenia!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MarykeS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Maryke Spies,
Thank you very much for your nice review. It is always so nice to hear that our guests are enjoying their stay with us. We are glad you took the opportunity to explore Ljubljana by bikes, it is a perfect way, since the city centre is really small and very compact.
We wish you all the best and we will be very glad to host you again.
Kind regards,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My family of 4 have stayed at this hotel twice. We love how friendly the staff is and how clean and modern the rooms are. The hotel has a wonderful breakfast! There's parking below the hotel which is pretty small but we were able to park our SUV in it. It's really close to the center! We'll probably stay at this hotel every time we go.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyandEmily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Antony and Emily,
So nice to hear from you. We are very proud of our returning guests.
We always try to make our guests feel comfortable by providing a good product and attentive service. So thank you for noticing this.
Looking forward seeing you again next time you come to Ljubljana.
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely delighted that we chose to stay here after a friends recommendation. Hotel and rooms are lovely and clean, staff are extremely helpful at reception, small fitness centre available to use with thread mill and weights and breakfast was fantastic and had a great selection. It's right in the centre and less than 10 minute walk to bus and train. Loved our stay here!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Katie,
Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review. It is always nice to hear we have been recommended for. It means, we are on the right track and I am proud of all our staff, helping us to stay there. Our customer satisfaction is very important for us.
We are really pleased you enjoy your stay with us and we are hoping to see you again!
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#5 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
898 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Nox
Hotel Nox
#2 of 31 in Ljubljana
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ljubljana

Property: City Hotel Ljubljana
Address: Dalmatinova ulica 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ljubljana 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is located in the very heart of Ljubljana and is an excellent choice for both business guests and tourists to discover the charms of Ljubljana and Slovenia. It has a wonderful view of Ljubljana Castle and the city cathedral, and an ideal location just a stone’s throw from the historic old town. This pleasant hotel among the vibrant city inns, shops, and attractive historical buildings offers local Slovenian and international cuisine as well as a state-of-the-art congress center. The Jože Pučnik international airport is only 25 km from the hotel, and the main railway and bus station is only 400 m away. The hotel is easy to access from all of the city’s major roads; once in the city, you simply follow the blue hotel signs. Ljubljana’s City Hotel is the successor to the venerable Štrukelj Hotel, which opened in 1907. The current hotel excels in its friendly staff, the warmth of its rooms, and a broad range of services found at an excellent location in the very city center. City Hotel has 201 rooms, three luxury suites, an underground garage, a conference center with four meeting rooms, a library, a terrace, an Internet corner, a restaurant, and a bar. City Hotel’s complete makeover concluded with its opening in September 2007. The “basic” and “standard” rooms were renovated, and the “superior” rooms were moved to a completely new part of the hotel. All of the rooms use a card-locking system and all of them have free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ljubljana Cityhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing