We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel Ljubljana
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Ljubljana
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Can't beat it”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Location is fabulous. Right in the center of town. Staff is friendly and helpful. Room was good size with great bath. And breakfast was wonderful. Can't imagine anything better for the price. A real value.
Wifi was free and worked really well for us. Lots if conveniently located outlets in the room.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NyFunnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    670
    232
    49
    14
See reviews for
252
434
108
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem District, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed in this hotel between the 22-29 of July. It is really an excellent hotel. The reception clerks are very helpful and give very good service. The hotel is located in a very convinent location and is close to the center of the city. The room I stayed in was very comfortable and had a lot of space and all needed, apart from a fridge which was the only appliance that I needed and was not available. I recommend this hotel very much.

Yoni Hyman,

Israel

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces Lublijana castle. I stayed on this side and all I can say it had a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoni210661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Yoni Hyman,
Thank you so much for taking time to write this lovely review! We are more than pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. By providing a good product and attentive service, we always try to make our guests feel comfortable and welcomed.
Thank you for your recommendation!
Until next time,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

As many reviews have already stated, the location is great - right in the center of Ljubljana. I found the staff to be friendly and efficient. My room was comfortable. The wi-fi signal worked well on the 5th floor. The breakfast was very good and much better than you'll find in most places. I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mathyew,
Thank you for your lovely review. It is so nice to see our guests are enjoying their stay. Our location is really great, truly right in the heart of the city. All mayor sights, shops and restaurants are short walking distance from the hotel, the city center small and compact so it is really easy to wander around.
Looking forward hosting you again.
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Österreich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I spent 4 days at City Hotel in Mai 2014 with my mum. we had a great time, reception was super friendly and very helpful. breakfast and rooms were very nice! Location fantastic. close to city centre, railway and busstation! I really recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Lisa Theresa,
Thank you for your recommendation and nice review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are trying to make our guests feel comfortable and welcomed, so thank you for noticing this.
Wish you all the best and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orebro, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. I was overall happy with my stay. The hotel was clean and fresh. The room I had was simple, but worked good. The bed was also ok. The bathroom was small but no problem. Breakfast was nice with many options to choose from.

The location is great too, very close to the very center of the city.

The hotel has free wifi- but it was at times very slow. Maybe because too many people were using it at the same time? It was difficult to use skype or such, but it worked to surf simple web pages.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a simple and clean hotel. (I did have the most basic room available, other rooms are proabably bigger and not so simple)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glint72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gubbio, Italia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is very close to the center, by foot it takes few minutes. Parking available underground but quite expensive (18€ per day). My room was quite big but without A/c, but with a fan which is not the maximum. Breakfast with a large choice of food. The wi-fi works perfectly, you get in without any username or pw.

Room Tip: Che k if your room has a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mtrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mtrave,
Thank you for your review. Glad to see you spend nice time with us. Some of our standard rooms indeed do not have air condition, but ceiling fan, so next time please mention your preference at the time of booking or simply just book one of our superior rooms that are all air conditioned.
Besides parking in our garage (the parking fee is still very reasonable for the city center), there is always possible to park on nearby streets at 0,70 € per hour (Mon-Fri 08-19h, Sat 08-13h).
Kind regards from Ljubljana and looking forward hosting you again.
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Perfect location in the center of Ljubljana, this hotels seems to offer a wide range of posibilities, from private tourisim (my case) to seminars and groups. Anyhow, my experience was good. The rooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast consists of a large self-service and they offer a parkin slightly cheaper than the ones around (Book it in advance, if you need it). The only negative remark would be that is furnitured with carpet and I don't particulary like that surface.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gusarapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear ‘’Gusarapo’',
Thank you for your nice review. Always nice to see our guests enjoy their stay with us.
Regarding carpet, please note we have superior rooms with wooden floor available as well, so next time just mention your preference at the time of booking. We will be glad to help you any way possible.
All the best and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Tina Možina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ljubljana hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union
Grand Hotel Union
#4 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Slon
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cubo
Hotel Cubo
#1 of 31 in Ljubljana
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
Hotel Lev Ljubljana
#11 of 31 in Ljubljana
961 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Union Business
Grand Hotel Union Business
#7 of 31 in Ljubljana
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#13 of 31 in Ljubljana
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Ljubljana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Ljubljana

Property: City Hotel Ljubljana
Address: Dalmatinova ulica 15, Ljubljana 1000, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Ljubljana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ljubljana
#13 Business Hotel in Ljubljana
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ljubljana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Ljubljana 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Hotel is located in the very heart of Ljubljana and is an excellent choice for both business guests and tourists to discover the charms of Ljubljana and Slovenia. It has a wonderful view of Ljubljana Castle and the city cathedral, and an ideal location just a stone’s throw from the historic old town. This pleasant hotel among the vibrant city inns, shops, and attractive historical buildings offers local Slovenian and international cuisine as well as a state-of-the-art congress center. The Jože Pučnik international airport is only 25 km from the hotel, and the main railway and bus station is only 400 m away. The hotel is easy to access from all of the city’s major roads; once in the city, you simply follow the blue hotel signs. Ljubljana’s City Hotel is the successor to the venerable Štrukelj Hotel, which opened in 1907. The current hotel excels in its friendly staff, the warmth of its rooms, and a broad range of services found at an excellent location in the very city center. City Hotel has 201 rooms, three luxury suites, an underground garage, a conference center with four meeting rooms, a library, a terrace, an Internet corner, a restaurant, and a bar. City Hotel’s complete makeover concluded with its opening in September 2007. The “basic” and “standard” rooms were renovated, and the “superior” rooms were moved to a completely new part of the hotel. All of the rooms use a card-locking system and all of them have free Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your City Hotel Ljubljana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityhotel Hotel Ljubljana
Ljubljana Cityhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing