We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Hotel Ljubljana
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Meksiko(Ljubljana)
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Emonec(Ljubljana)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cubo(Ljubljana)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$244
radissonblu
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Central Hotel(Ljubljana)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,584)
Filter reviews
1,585 results
Traveller rating
498
769
251
52
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
498
769
251
52
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townfree bikesunderground garagetriple roomcentral locationthe rivertriple bridgeair confew minutes walkbuffet breakfasttrain stationthe hotel is cleanpreseren squarecoffee machinethree bridgesreception staff
Filter
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 1,585 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Standard rooms in this hotel are very, very small and are not air conditioned. The hotel is clean, but offers no amenities whatsoever - no bottled water in the rooms, no Kleenex, no notepaper, nothing at all in the rooms except a small bar of soap & package of shampoo. No desk light or bedside reading light is provided, just cheap fluorescent lighting overhead. It is a budget hotel at luxury (for Slovenia) prices.

The hotel caters to bus tours. If you arrive at breakfast at the 'wrong time', the buffet will be empty and the tables will all be dirty, because there are not enough staff present at breakfast to deal with the surges of people all at the same time arising from the bus tours.

Parking is scarce and very expensive (€18 a night) in the neighborhood.

All in all, it should not be difficult to find equal or better accommodation elsewhere for about €50 a night less than what the City Hotel charges.

Room Tip: Be aware that standard rooms are not air conditioned.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear "solotravellerCanada",
thank you for your review. This week Ljubljana is ''luckily'' fully boooked due to some bigger events taking place (Congresses, UCI World Cycling Tour finals, …) so really the highest season for us. The prices are driven up because of high occupancy, but are still very much in line with current hotel offer in Ljubljana. Depending on the season of course, our prices are actually starting from 65 € a night.
We offer standard and superior type of the rooms, superior beeing all airconditioned, more comfortable, with big windows making them especially bright and friendly. Broadband fast free Wifi is available throughout the entire hotel.
Due to prime downtown location the traffic is heavier, but the parking is always available in our parking garage (we recommend booking in advance) or public parking garage just 200m away. If available it is also possible to park on nearby streets at 0,70 € per hour (Mon-Fri 08-19h, Sat 08-13h).
We do hope you spent nice time in Ljubljana and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Tina Mozina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Pros: Hotel is located in the heart of Ljubljana with easy access to restaurants and shops. It has fitness facilities, which was great to use especially after a long drive. Breakfast is excellent with good variety of fruits, juices and pastries. Staff is very professional and eager to make your stay pleasant. This is my second time in City hotel and will repeat. It is good value for money.

Cons: Single rooms are very basic and the interior quite outdated. My friend stayed in room 125, which is right next to the staff room and above the hotel bar and it was impossible for her to sleep after 6;30pm. The manager offered her a discount, which was a good gesture, but still, they should reconsider the location of some of their rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Di Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Great location. Just a short walk to old town, castle, and train station. I have never stayed at a City Hotel but would definitely stay at one again based on our stay in Ljubljana.

Basic rooms have a modern and stylish decor. We had a "family" room which was 2 adjoining rooms with 4 beds and 2 bathrooms. It was clean and quiet. Our room faced an inner courtyard. Lots of space in the room too, not a tiny cramped room like many European hotels. Only complaint would be that the beds were a little hard. The breakfast was awesome, best hotel breakfast we had during 2 weeks of travel in 3 countries. I shopped around for hotel rooms that could accommodate 4 people and had actually booked 2 rooms in another hotel which I cancelled when I found a family room at City Hotel. It was a good value fir a family of 4 compared to the other hotels I considered.

One caution would be parking. They don't guarantee parking, the lot was full and street parking was a nightmare. Fortunately we were returning a rental car and only had to park it for a few hours. If you will have a car, parking could be a frustrating challenge.

Otherwise it was a great stay and I wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel. And Ljubljana is a great place to visit!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank emngsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear ''emngsmom'',
thank you for taking time to write this lovely review. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our family rooms with connecting doors are always nice surprise for our guests, being comfortable and having 2 bathrooms. Our hotel offers a parking in our garage, which we advice to book ahead due to limited capacities. When full, there is always space available at the public parking garage only 200m from the hotel. So hopefully, the parking experience next time you visit us won’t be so problematic.
Thank you for your recommendation and until next time.
Kind regards,
Tina Mozina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Bed was much too small for a large person like me despite us asking in advance for a larger room. When we entered the room the duvet was dirty with a blood stain which really upset the experience. At some points we were thinking of switching hotels at our own expense

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Fogle118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City_Hotel_Ljubljana, Director of Sales at City Hotel Ljubljana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear ''Fogle118'',
thank you for your review, although I am very sorry to hear about your bed experience. We followed your preference mentioned at the time of booking. The room you have been staying in is our biggest superior room (25 m2) with 210 cm long dbl bed and 200 cm long sofa.
Our housekeeping team with Ms Martina in charge is making a great job, placing the cleanliness of our rooms and hotel as our third strongest point, reviewed by our guests, after the location and friendliness of our staff. So I am really sorry to see your disappointment here as well.
Anyhow I do hope you spent nice time in Ljubljana.
Kind regards,
Tina Mozina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We bought a golfpackage vai GolfSlovenia and chose this hotel on our three days trip to Ljubljana. Location is perfect, only 2 minutes walk to Old Town And 5 minutes to the castlelift. Rooms are renovated and large enough And three lifts are working well. Service on the frontdesk was working perfectly and You can get all the help You will need. Breakfast is just ok, but nothing special.

The only negative thing is that during weekend it might be difficult to find a parkingplace. Hotels own garage is easily full and it costs 18€ per night. On The streets Its only 1,40€ per two hours, its cheap and also free until 8 am. But in The evening The streets are full of parked cars.

Ask for a room with balcony, there are only 6 of them, but there is a nice view to The castle and Old Town .

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank golfaten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews